KapitanE 1st Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 On 5/22/2009 at 2:31 PM, Comfy said: not only stan chart la.. i got some agents calling ask if i got a unit to sell.. i told then ya.. your house.. they went 1 week got 9 calls.. nbz.. lots of spam fax coming thru my office too What u got 3 free credit cards and you never say... ok, next round of Moet, u sign..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 On 5/22/2009 at 1:37 PM, Starry said: Very strange.....just 3-4 months ago, I tried to apply the SCB Manhattan credit card not once but twice! Both times got rejected even though I never had any rolling credit card debt before. Other banks keep pushing their cards to me, but SCB rejected me. I vow never to apply SCB cards again, And now they are calling up people????? I think they need to be more organise and coordinated. you never a rolling credit debt.. haiya.. of course they dun like people like you... cannot earn too much interest.. smart ppl are bad for the banks.. ha ha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 (edited) me too vow never to have dealing with SCB, i call up the bank asking for my status on account amount......the bloody call centre gal tell me sorry i cant tell you ..you must go bank itself to know.....so i told her i want to speak to manager.....she just hang up...second day i went to bank to close my account and submit a letter of complain the next one is american express....i dont have outstanding at all ....there was once i used the card for an amount of $55, the bloody postman did not send the statement to me so i forget to pay the $55 dollars, i call the bank 2 days after the due date to ask why they did not send me statement....they claim they send....i got the letter from my neighbour 1 week later as postman send to his unit... AMERICAN EXPRESS SUBMIT MY NAME TO CREDIT BUREAU TO SAY I DID NOT PAY A $55 DOLLARS CHARGE....cancel the card already now only pay cash Edited May 23, 2009 by Pufferfish1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuhao Neutral Newbie May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 On 5/23/2009 at 8:48 AM, Hotamp said: do they give you a better rate than u walking into the bank itself ?? never walked into their bank. yes the rate is very good. 1.5% first year. 2% second year. third year can re-finance again. much much better than my current DBS. so...it's not always that bad. heehee... only problem is at least 4 different SE called me about the same thing in one week. later got confused about who is first and who is who so just picked up one with easy to remember name. so that proves being a SE, having an easy to remember name is very very important. LOL. OT already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ask98 Neutral Newbie May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 u r right!!! better dun take scb, suck ur "blood" till u scare to open mailbox , 1st yr floating less than 1.5%, knn up rate to 5.5%-5.8% less than 2.5yr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ask98 Neutral Newbie May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 (edited) Recently one telemarketeer called when i was on leave. I told him politely that i was not interested but he kept asking "Why Sir?" and "May i know the reason, Sir?" and "Are the any doubts I can help clear, Sir?" ....blah blah blah. wow he so gd to clear ur doubts . two mth ago, scb "outsource company" called me in the morning 9am, told him sorry i not interested, knn before hang up say i sure own a lot of money to many ppl n bank early morning get this fxxk call, so i call the no.s n get him coy n direct desk no.s, call the coy hr n scb hr, after two day scb say coy fired the a-----e (maybe NATO) n get my hp off their list. Edited May 23, 2009 by Ask98 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 On 5/23/2009 at 2:37 PM, Pufferfish1 said: AMERICAN EXPRESS SUBMIT MY NAME TO CREDIT BUREAU TO SAY I DID NOT PAY A $55 DOLLARS CHARGE....cancel the card already This is standard procedure. I think all banks will do the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cybertron Neutral Newbie May 23, 2009 Share May 23, 2009 I noticed today on my bill that the late payment interest is now 28% instead of the standard 24%....hmm...wonder if other banks are following the same as well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishbowl 2nd Gear May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 This rules from the Contact Centre Asssociation of Singapore (CCAS) Proper Identification The telemarketer's name and contact details During the introductory part of all outbound telemarketing calls, the telemarketer must clearly state the name of the individual calling, the name of the business or organization they represent, and the purpose of the call. On answering inbound calls, telemarketers must clearly state their name and the name of the business or organization they represent. The name, telephone number and address of the business or organization engaged in telemarketing must be listed in the telephone book. Information to be Provided on Request If the called party requests the following information, it must be provided by the telemarketer: The telemarketer's name and contact details The name of the telemarketer's supervisor The name of the organization on who's behalf the telemarketer is calling. Interruption If apparent that the called party has been interrupted at an inconvenient time, the telemarketer must promptly offer to call back at a mutually agreeable time. Do Not Call Where consumers request to not be called about any particular goods or services, this must be recorded in the telemarketer's database and the wishes of the consumer complied with. Frequency Telemarketers must not contact a consumer more than once during a month for the same or similar campaign without the consumer's consent. Next time they call, I'll see whether the Do Not Call rules work or not... If same bank call again I'll write in to CCAS :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pufferfish1 Clutched May 24, 2009 Share May 24, 2009 lao lee owns some part of scb. So what to do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 On 5/22/2009 at 12:14 PM, Vroomtattat said: Are they MAD or what?? Day in day out I keep getting calls on my mobile from their telemarketers promoting this and that!! This week alone, I received 5 calls and everytime the same sing song manner "Hello Mr Vroomtattat, this is so and so from blah blah blah . .. . on behalf of blah blah blah . . . . would you like to have blah blah blah?" I had enough of these nonsense calls!! I do not need "blah blah blah" so don't call me again! That's what I told the guy who just called me. His sheepish reply? "Okay, sir. We'll put you on our no-call list" Put me on no-call list? Why don't you just delete my records Any brudders facing the same problem? What can I do? Sang nao jing orhh! Thsi is what I normally do... Pick up the phone. Telemarketer:" Hello Mr Vroomtattat, this is so and so from blah blah blah . .. . on behalf of blah blah blah" Vroomtattat:" Your colleague called already, not keen, thanks.." put down phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josho 1st Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 Ytd I'm quite free, so when SCB called me, my answer are all 1 -2 word. Yes? Ok... hmm... orh... not interested. yup.. yes... but... no.. not interested.. ok... buai.. the girl who called me leave her number to me so i can call her for fund transfer. lol. before she put down fone, she kept laughing. (rofl) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 just tell them you are a declared bankrupcy.....shut them off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 I have quite good experience with SCB so far leh. Years back, got a prize (sony PS2 hehe) from a mini lucky draw from them. Then esaver gave quite good rates but just jumped ship lately when they adjusted their rates. When i get those calls, i will just (nicely) tell them either: 1) busy now call back xx hours later - n most likely they can't be bothered to call back... haha, if they do just say still busy 2) no need loans, never take overdraft bla bla - the point is not to led them to think they have a chance at all. So far situation is still manageable. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 On 5/26/2009 at 1:44 AM, Application9999 said: just tell them you are a declared bankrupcy.....shut them off. Scaly the siao on one offer to help you apply and push for you nonetheless. LL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 I also kenna and I wrote a complain email to SCB, next day a guy call and put me on their no-call-list. So far so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparks Neutral Newbie May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 I don't answer phone calls with the digit '6' in front, sure telemarketers. There will always be similar numbers calling me and I will ignore and google for the number haha. If my friends or relatives are looking for me, they would sms me if urgent if I don't answer anyway. I am so sick and tired of those telemarketers. Seriously I am not the least interested in the promotion they are having. If I really need something, I would still apply for it even if there is no promotion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Milo Clutched May 26, 2009 Share May 26, 2009 i received from citibank and AIA occasionally. all are phillipino , i told them i can't understand their english then just hang up. some called me about winning a prize or something like that, then i will ask first how did they got my number, he said from my friends. then i will keep asking who are my friends and ask and ask then they put down themselves. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...