Garlic 1st Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../430729/1/.html Posted: 21 May 2009 0738 hrs SINGAPORE: A Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) regular serviceman was killed during a parachute freefall training session in Bloemfontein, South Africa, on Wednesday. The Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) said First Warrant Officer (1WO) Tan Poh Eng was part of a six-man team that jumped off a Republic of Singapore Air Force C-130 aircraft at a height of 12500 feet to conduct a formation jump. When the formation broke off at 3500 feet to deploy their parachutes, 1WO Tan, 53, spiralled downwards to the ground. He was found unconscious at about 4.45pm (Singapore time), and given immediate medical attention by an SAF doctor and a medic on-site. 1WO Tan was heli-evacuated at 5.15pm and arrived at about 5.35pm at the Pelonomi Hospital in Bloemfontein. The parachute jump instructor from the Commando Training Institute was pronounced dead at 5.57pm in the hospital. Mindef and the SAF extend their deepest condolences to the family of the late 1WO Tan and is investigating the incident. All SAF freefall training has been temporarily suspended. - CNA/yt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 Not the first time, and won't be the last. Has happened before only thing last time papers never report unlike now. Condolences to the family, he had a few more years to ORD. Will be at the wake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 i dont blame SAF lah. the profession of a army regular comes with some risks coz some of the activities involve can be risky. working in an office is less risky to be killed on a job then a driver who drives on the road all the times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 bro, u know this guy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 die liao then give a rank of WO1 for what.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 Not the first time, and won't be the last. Has happened before only thing last time papers never report unlike now. Condolences to the family, he had a few more years to ORD. Will be at the wake. u know this WO? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 (edited) u know this WO? does not matter he knows him or not.. (he is a ex regular if you need to know.) The guy is dead. RIP Edited May 21, 2009 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 u know this WO? Stupid question right? If I donno him, would I go for his funeral? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 does not matter he knows him or not.. (he is a ex regular if you need to know.) The guy is dead. RIP i know that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 does not matter he knows him or not.. (he is a ex regular if you need to know.) The guy is dead. RIP Kumsia brother. He was my snr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 was he good to you last time? got tekan or not? hee........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 well, i got few friends n relatives in commando unit.. so they all know the statistics for parachute jumping.. less serious ones will get broken legs or arms... the more serious ones doesn't live to tell... that the risks of being an elite unit in Army.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 was he good to you last time? got tekan or not? hee........ I wasn't under him and he only snr by a few years. We all know each other, different company. I left the unit after 2 years for another unit. within the same confines, and still saw old friends. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 i know that You know and you still ask? Nbz~ Next round, kopi on you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 You know and you still ask? Nbz~ Next round, kopi on you! kopi only nia ah!.. kopitiam one arh! not starbuck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 kopi only nia ah!.. kopitiam one arh! not starbuck... You cheapskate farker. Tomorrow I will be around your office area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 You cheapskate farker. Tomorrow I will be around your office area. really!? call me lahz. we go mum mum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear May 21, 2009 Share May 21, 2009 another round of curry chicken and kong ba bao... saf doctor/medic attend to them?? which time round did any of the saf doctor manage to save someone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...