Atlantis80 1st Gear June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 Caltex for me.. Not because of better power or better fuel consumption. But simply because I got better discounts using the corporate starcard ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legod1 Neutral Newbie June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 agreed. dun see how ESSO is harder to burn than other petrols??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwmook Neutral Newbie June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 On 6/7/2009 at 10:55 PM, Legod1 said: caltex main claim to fame is techron which cleans the fuel combustion parts of the engine and its well documented. and i dun see how he can say he rather pump cheaper when caltex prices as cheap as all other brands and go NSE clear carbon??? the chap is just saying he use caltex and not some exotic premium petrol and even so platinum is same price as any normal 98 and marginally more ex than other normal 95!!! seriously i see no point in your argument, think you guys got carried away and missed the poor chap's point. Yes, the Techron thingy is well documented. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Techron Its not BS marketing, its really does work and is very well tested. I only pump caltex now due to having 12% discount with my SAFRA card + additional CC discount. I use standard chartered xtrasaver debit card which give me 10% petrol discount (the catch is $20k deposit) so all in all i got 20.8% discount + caltex 92 is cheaper than others. I only use the cheapest fuel i can get nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwmook Neutral Newbie June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 On 6/8/2009 at 1:57 AM, Donut said: for my car, i realised Caltex can't work for me...... i always pump 95 grade. my usual petrol is Esso or Shell. then because of extra 2% i get if i pump Caltex. so i try lor..... and i pump for few tanks of Caltex 95. i can feel the difference for my car.... the diff is no pick up power and higher FC.... the no pick up power is so different that i thought my tyres are under inflated or my air filter is choked! i start to check this and that.... i suspected its the Caltex petrol.... i switched back to Esso or Shell 95.... wow... the difference can be felt again.... i think it varied from car to car and how sensitve the driver is.... some drivers are really numb to the differences Search for this thing known as placebo effect. Today i just pump 1/2 tank of Caltex 92 and my car has the best pick up power that i have ever experienced. I think its a special batch of fuel they are giving me, must go back and pump somemore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 8, 2009 Share June 8, 2009 Techron active cleaning chemical is PEA. It works but you don't know how much they put it. Most likely very little. I used Redline Fuel system cleaner, also PEA based. Amsoil PI cleaner also contains PEA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 9, 2009 Share June 9, 2009 no leh.... its not the psychological effect. in fact i didnt think of the Caltex petrol at all, when i started to feel the difference in the car performance. Knowing myself, i'm not that kind of driver who everyday every "on", must check tyre pressure, check air filter, check engine oil and all that. i just drive the car... dun really care abt checking here and there... so when i was experiencing the slugginess, i was only thinking of tyre pressure, engine oil level, air filter chocked. my air filter is K&N. so obviously i was worried that it became black and kena chocked. i check here and there.... everything seems normal. nothing abnomal at all. i didnt change anything. Caltex petrol is the last thing i thought of. and bingo, i hit the jackpot. i tried switching back to esso 95. wow.... i can feel the difference liao. the FC for Caltex shows some noticable differences leh.... i take the same route everyday, same jam, same time. it's worse FC for Caltex petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legod1 Neutral Newbie June 9, 2009 Share June 9, 2009 On 6/8/2009 at 11:52 PM, Kb27 said: Techron active cleaning chemical is PEA. It works but you don't know how much they put it. Most likely very little. I used Redline Fuel system cleaner, also PEA based. Amsoil PI cleaner also contains PEA. "most likely very little" is speculative but as documented by their R&D and advertisements of one or two tanks realising effects have led me to see some credibility in it as otherwise we get some proof we can jolly well bring them to court. i have tried all the amsoil and redline that you have mentioned as well as others including octane boosters etc but have come to realise well if i consistently pump techron i can do without the cleaners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legod1 Neutral Newbie June 9, 2009 Share June 9, 2009 On 6/8/2009 at 8:01 PM, Hwmook said: Search for this thing known as placebo effect. Today i just pump 1/2 tank of Caltex 92 and my car has the best pick up power that i have ever experienced. I think its a special batch of fuel they are giving me, must go back and pump somemore. i do belief that some fuels give better "feel" or even fc over others etc and i support and encourage all car owners to experiment and see which fuel and grade suits them and their wallets best. there will always be all kinds of reasons as to why the effects is placebo and not accurate or my car vs your car etc etc etcut the fact remains driving style / engine model spark plugs and general maintenace level / engine oil / etc etc that can affect any and all the above. frankly its a flankless task and where all you guys ever wondered why there is no real acclaimed BEST fuels around? >>> reason is simple, there ain't any. caltex may keep your engine cleaner than the rest, esso may give more fc than the rest, shell may give better performance and spc may be the cheapest. they all have their points and nobody is wrong!!! another point being most of us are best advised to keep to the most convenient petrol kiosk to pump and/or nearest to where you stay -> whats the point going all out of the way to pump a "better fc or cheaper" fuel at the expense of time and more petrol burned getting there!!! i also dare say any diff is hardly noticable in the real world in the "feel" part and keeping to max discounts and correct octane grade fuel at your most convenient or nearest to your home will save more than the fc gains mentioned. also, some will all things being equal keep to ensuring their engine cleaner as claimed by caltex over better feel or small diff in fc whereas others if fortunate enough to have choices of convenient kiosks do their sums try and experiment to get the best fc / feel combo. all said, i still think platinum is excellent value as its a premium bracket fuel at 98 price going by pure value thinking which i belief v-power if at 98 price will see more ppl pumping it as its so massively marketed and F1 ferrari association. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged June 10, 2009 Share June 10, 2009 but i do notice something about mixing shell 95 and esso 95.... it gives more omph to my car..... pickup is even better. it just a feeling that i got, and i can only say about my own car. not sure about other cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elevinc Neutral Newbie July 24, 2009 Share July 24, 2009 On 6/10/2009 at 1:23 AM, Donut said: but i do notice something about mixing shell 95 and esso 95.... it gives more omph to my car..... pickup is even better. it just a feeling that i got, and i can only say about my own car. not sure about other cars. I am doing the same too. I had isolated and monitored 3 tank of each petrol without mixing, then interval from SPC. However, to my surprise mixing shell 95 with esso 95 with a rough ratio of 1:2 tank refilled on the last 1/4 really give me better performance or "FEEL" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rantwb 2nd Gear July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 The ever ongoing discussion on higher octane. If you are not driving any performance car, don't waste your money on higher octane fuels.... Take a look at this and save your $$: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 I just go to the nearest station when I need to pump, don't think so much. If you really want to save, sell your ride and SAVE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 I have try pump V-power & feel the respond is faster but lesser mileage compare to Shell98. Shell95 -lesser mileage and respond is bad. So most of the time i will pump 98. Now trying 3/4tank 95 + 1/4tank V-power(just for experiment). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 am quite satisfied with Caltex 92 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jennyzhang Neutral Newbie July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 Hi this is my fair view and till now I still practise it. I am a strong believer of mixing petrol. Many asked why? Every petrol have different additives thus producing different variances... DO u all agree? Like milk, some milk may have more poteins and others may have more calcium, etc. Therefore, by having a balanced diet, you need to have balanced diet in your body and therefore, drinking different milk you would have different diet... Likewise for petrol too, I too agree that Caltex cleans the fuel injector, Shell better performance and Mobil better pick up and I truely agree that by mixing Mobil with Shell, the petrol brings longer milage.. I tried many times as I am strong believer of mixing petrol. Once a month I do pump caltex platimum which i find it better than shell v power. Feels more tourque and it tends to last longer than shell v power. SPC, I personally dun like it as it drinks petrol like hell... No power and drinks petrol.. This is my personal view and it should not be judged by others. Guys, have u all tried to put moth balls in fuel tank just before filling. Its damn good and make the petrol last longer as well as better pick up. This is personal comment ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 can JDM PI cars (say ctr, rx8) run 95? any long-term adverse effect? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jennyzhang Neutral Newbie July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 honestly i dun think effect. but for the rx 8 u need once a while higher oct petrol, and i can give u an advise on rx8. every engine oil change, kindly add in the additives for the rotary engine. Its much better for the engine as it is a rotary engine. I used to own a rx 8 for 1/2 yr before i sold it away..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fkadir Neutral Newbie July 25, 2009 Share July 25, 2009 Esso 98 is the one that I usually use and have no complains with it plus the station is right next door! w00t! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...