ACCA

Robo

But e downside is tat if u stay too long inside audit/Big 4, ur skillset is limited and going back to commercial is not as easy as most ppl think.

That i agree.. too long as an auditor u lose touch on how to really do accounts. u end up behaving like one. "why this like that why that like that" irritate your colleagues. [laugh]

den as an auditor too long u become weird also.

Thanks. I have been in various operational roles and was transferred to credit role recently. Not looking back and would like to move on from here. Besides hands-on experience, would also like to have some academic credentials added. What would be more suitable?

That i agree.. too long as an auditor u lose touch on how to really do accounts. u end up behaving like one. "why this like that why that like that" irritate your colleagues. [laugh]

When an auditor switches over to commercial accting, he/she is not likely to be in e preparation of accts, more in a review position, hence the "y this y that"

Weird, no... Mad yes! I am a living example [lipsrsealed]

Thanks. I have been in various operational roles and was transferred to credit role recently. Not looking back and would like to move on from here. Besides hands-on experience, would also like to have some academic credentials added. What would be more suitable?

Graduate dip if u wan e credentials, doesnt look good if u tell ppl u got stage 1 for ACCA.

depends on wad u already have.. ACCA is a good start i feel, then CFA thereafter

When an auditor switches over to commercial accting, he/she is not likely to be in e preparation of accts, more in a review position, hence the "y this y that"

Weird, no... Mad yes! I am a living example [lipsrsealed]

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh] yea... thats wad i see.. im in the same bldg as kpmg.. i see them walking in day in day out... some do look crazy!

depends on wad u already have.. ACCA is a good start i feel, then CFA thereafter

Oh, I finished e 1st paper for tat too :p

Not much use for accting/finance. More for asset mgt/IB.

YEA diversify abit.. got that one tan jia also easy

Haha, no la. cos u have been there done that. so either way u will definitely know more about this profession ma.

thanks allen and mustank. i guess i have my thoughts sorted out. i will still continue with acca. i noe i dun wanna be an accountant, but the modules really do interest me. [laugh]

u got ACCA and passed CFA Level I and u r a car salesman now? [confused]

CFA and ACCA 2 different things....albeit some overlapping topics but the focus is different...

CFA more to financial analysis, portfolio management, and fundamental analysis etc etc..

most of the credit analysts i know, dont have CFA....and i dont think they need one to be a good credit person =)

in fact, most of the industry players i know dont have CFA and they are doing very well.haha...those who are not in the market (read: revenue generating role/front office etc) will try to take CFA to gain the passport in....(generally)

btw, who's taking CFA Level 2 next month??? wonder how's the parking situation will be like @ EXPO..

Edited by Longg8

i beg to differ...

i didnt join the big 4s.. but am climbing steadily now..

i prefer to fark auditors.. not kenna fark at.. [laugh]

You are good! Every now and then I kenna f88ked by auditors indirectly...

CFA and ACCA 2 different things....albeit some overlapping topics but the focus is different...

CFA more to financial analysis, portfolio management, and fundamental analysis etc etc..

most of the credit analysts i know, dont have CFA....and i dont think they need one to be a good credit person =)

in fact, most of the industry players i know dont have CFA and they are doing very well.haha...those who are not in the market (read: revenue generating role/front office etc) will try to take CFA to gain the passport in....(generally)

btw, who's taking CFA Level 2 next month??? wonder how's the parking situation will be like @ EXPO..

yea.. that i agree too.. one dont really need CFA to proceed on as a good credit person. and yea alot of (read: revenue generating role/front office etc) will try to take CFA to gain the passport in....lol

You are good! Every now and then I kenna f88ked by auditors indirectly...

i fark auditors indirectly too.. telling them everything there liao lor, why u keep asking me stupid or wad!? [laugh]

i guess guys doing accounts generally dont like auditors.

OMG... haha... I've been an auditor for 13 years liao.... I must be some mega weirdo!! [lipsrsealed]

ok.. maybe u're exceptional. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]