Sgnick 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Hi, I am overwhelmed by the different type/brands/price of car seats. Alot of questions and hope the you can share your experiences here and make this thread for sharing and discussion. My questions: 1) Your new born baby after delivery, from hospital to home, did you use car seats? Or did you hand carrry? Which is better? Which is safer? Are car seats suitable for newborns? 2) Did you use car seats from new born already? Or u start using car seats only after 1,2,3 months old? 3) Do you get dedicated infant seat (those type with handle for carrying for 0-9months), then upgrade to child seat when they older, or did you buy those convertible ones that can from 0-4years old? What are the pros and cons? 4) Which brand/model/price you got and is it good or bad? Your reviews please. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Infant & Child seats are a must have in cars if you are ferrying them around even for short distances... Its all about discipline & having a sense of responsibility for your loved ones... I personally like Maxi-Cosi & Combi...They both can remove the covers to wash easily... Child seats are not expensive now a days, not like in the past, so I really dislike people who do away with them & let their children climb all over the place. That is just plain lazy & irresponsible. As for the selection types, you have to see how big your vehicle is in the first place. Some like a Carrier which attaches to a Pram so they save space, but some prefer seperate ones, so they don't have to remove the seat from the vehicle. Its also a personal preference... Just select one that suites your family best & drive carefully because not Child Seat at the end of the day can save your child from a bad accident... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terence_oh Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Suggest you look at the following sites for more info. There's info on proper placement, choice, etc http://www.aap.org/family/Carseatguide.htm http://www.car-safety.org/ 1) Your new born baby after delivery, from hospital to home, did you use car seats? Or did you hand carrry? Which is better? Which is safer? Are car seats suitable for newborns? Yes, I did for both kids. Rear facing car seats are suitable for newborns. I got the Peg Perego version, which had a fixed base in the car, and a snap on baby carrier. It can also be latched onto the Peg Perego stroller, so the baby can be moved while still sleeping. Downside is the size and that the entire setup could be heavy. Maxi Cosi has a similar version that can be latched onto the stroller frame, greatly reducing the weight. use the Isofix version if you have Isofix mounts in your car. It simplifies installation and helps ensure proper fit. Non-isofix seats are not less safe, just slightly harder to get right. Seat: http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=519a...000208&cl=N Isofix version mount: http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=519a...000141&cl=N Non-isofix mount: http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=519a...000140&cl=N Stroller: http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=519a...000215&cl=N 2) Did you use car seats from new born already? Or u start using car seats only after 1,2,3 months old? From newborn. My eldest is 6 and still on them. I dont' drive without putting them in the seats. 3) Do you get dedicated infant seat (those type with handle for carrying for 0-9months), then upgrade to child seat when they older, or did you buy those convertible ones that can from 0-4years old? What are the pros and cons? Had them in 1) rear facing baby seat till 1.5 years old (some believe you have to keep them rear facing till 3) 2) Convertible seats used forward facing then subsequently as boosters when they were big enough (outgrew the infant seat belts on the seat) 4) Which brand/model/price you got and is it good or bad? Your reviews please. Baby seat brands as above. Have used these: http://www.maxi-cosi.com/maxicosi/productd...;language=ot-en http://www.coscojuvenile.com/usa/eng/Produ...rtible-Car-Seat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 I have the infant seat installed before my wife went into labour and have my child in the infant seat from hospital to home. I have the seat upgraded inaccoradnce to the changing needs eg. infant, from 9mths to 4yrs, 4yrs and above, etc.... Best is to check the specifition of the seats for a more accurate guideuse lines on when to move the kids to another seat, If you plan to use IsoFix seat...check both the car and seats specification. On either type of seats, most important is to installed it correctly. I see quite of a lot seats are not installed correctly. Best to start getting the child to get used to the seat and being safe from young. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Hi, I am overwhelmed by the different type/brands/price of car seats. Alot of questions and hope the you can share your experiences here and make this thread for sharing and discussion. My questions: 1) Your new born baby after delivery, from hospital to home, did you use car seats? Or did you hand carrry? Which is better? Which is safer? Are car seats suitable for newborns? 2) Did you use car seats from new born already? Or u start using car seats only after 1,2,3 months old? 3) Do you get dedicated infant seat (those type with handle for carrying for 0-9months), then upgrade to child seat when they older, or did you buy those convertible ones that can from 0-4years old? What are the pros and cons? 4) Which brand/model/price you got and is it good or bad? Your reviews please. Thanks. 1. usually new born, its hand carry from hospital to home. either the mom or grandmother will carry the child ... just drive slower 2. i definitely did not use them under 1 month. its still hand carry, i just drive slower.... 3 and 4 are already pointed out by others... infant seat is $50, 2nd hand. use until child about 15 months. my child seat is from ntuc, only cost $128. child is 27 months, still using it. cannot imagine my colleague who spend $600+ for a child seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) 1. usually new born, its hand carry from hospital to home. either the mom or grandmother will carry the child ... just drive slower 2. i definitely did not use them under 1 month. its still hand carry, i just drive slower.... 3 and 4 are already pointed out by others... infant seat is $50, 2nd hand. use until child about 15 months. my child seat is from ntuc, only cost $128. child is 27 months, still using it. cannot imagine my colleague who spend $600+ for a child seat. Drive slower is no use. An accident at 30-40km/h will be enough to KILL a newborn if he/she is not in a proper child seat. Not to mention that even if you are stationary, other people can crash into your car. No doubt $600 is very expensive, but don't just settle for the cheapest you can find. Studies have shown that for motorcycle helmets, for example, the difference in protection between a $50 one and a $300 one is enough to make the difference between life and death. Do you buy the cheapest CRT TV you can find at $200? Or do you splurge a bit more for a branded LCD one for $600-800? Don't you think your child's safety is more important than your viewing pleasure? Edited May 18, 2009 by Paddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Go google on child car seat and accident. Then you will know why. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) Agree don't just look at the price. I usually also look at the crash rating, features, certification, etc.... Edited May 18, 2009 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terence_oh Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) cannot imagine my colleague who spend $600+ for a child seat. There's a lot of discussion on this forum about 'mods' with questionable performance benefits. I would argue that a child seat is the single most important mod there is that is PROVEN to increase protection for our own children. If you would spend 1K on alloy rims (or good $$$ on vstab/broquet/octane enhancer/ODB-II/gauges/LCD in headrest), why not $600 on a child seat? Re the point about hand-carrying the baby (or toddler; or child kneeling on back seat)...place a 5 kg bag of rice in your back seat. Drive at 50km/h, then e-brake. Remember that in a collision, the deceleration is much faster - children have been known to fly out the windshield, and nobody is strong enough to hold onto the child. Tell yourself after that whether you'd want a child seat. After all it's your child and your choice of risk to take. Edited May 18, 2009 by Terence_oh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 My child's seat is more ex than my own lorz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 Better to spend on better seat for kids. It's ok lah...just a little sacrifice on your part. [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Author Share May 18, 2009 Thanks guys. When i go buy child seats, the sales people will tell me those convertible ones (new born - 4 years old) although says is for newborn but not really suitable, tells me better if the baby is 1-2 months up. Hmmm, i wondering, anyone use convertible carseats for newborn? Or most will stick only strictly to infant seats (0-9months seats) for newborns? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terence_oh Neutral Newbie May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 (edited) Thanks guys. When i go buy child seats, the sales people will tell me those convertible ones (new born - 4 years old) although says is for newborn but not really suitable, tells me better if the baby is 1-2 months up. Hmmm, i wondering, anyone use convertible carseats for newborn? Or most will stick only strictly to infant seats (0-9months seats) for newborns? I for one agree with the sales people. The seating area for convertible seats are wider and deeper, and not shaped to support a newborn well. By the way, congratulations on the newborn! Edited May 18, 2009 by Terence_oh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Author Share May 18, 2009 I see, so u have decided to have 3 seats for different age group. I wondering about doing that (buy 3 seats), or just get one seat that the specs says can use from newborn - 6 years old. The reason why i contemplating to use the newborn-6 years seat, is because i would like my child to get used to the same seat and grow up with it. I scared if I switch from one seat to another seat when the baby is growing, the baby may resist the new seat because too used to the old one and not used to the new one. Also maybe more economical to have just one seat, and less need for storage at home for unused seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Author Share May 18, 2009 I for one agree with the sales people. The seating area for convertible seats are wider and deeper, and not shaped to support a newborn well. By the way, congratulations on the newborn! Thank you Terence :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 any sales/discounts recently for a good deal on car seats? I'm looking at getting one for my staff as a gift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear May 18, 2009 Author Share May 18, 2009 any sales/discounts recently for a good deal on car seats? I'm looking at getting one for my staff as a gift. OG, Robinsons, Mothers Work, etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 18, 2009 Share May 18, 2009 My questions: My answers: 1) Your new born baby after delivery, from hospital to home, did you use car seats? Or did you hand carrry? Which is better? Which is safer? Are car seats suitable for newborns? Rear facing infant seat is a must for newborns. Babies' necks are very fragile and the handcarry is quite risky if ever unfortunate to kena a shunt on the way home. U may be a careful driver, but cannot always assume other drivers are. 2) Did you use car seats from new born already? Or u start using car seats only after 1,2,3 months old? From day 1. For reasons above. Plus, better to get them used to it early otherwise u gonna hv a hard time later. 3) Do you get dedicated infant seat (those type with handle for carrying for 0-9months), then upgrade to child seat when they older, or did you buy those convertible ones that can from 0-4years old? What are the pros and cons? Yes. Rear facing infant seat for 6-7 mths then a child seat. I dun believe in one size fits all as there will be compromises. Also, if possible, get those wif a rear tether belt for additional safety. 4) Which brand/model/price you got and is it good or bad? Your reviews please. Subjective. As long as it meats EC or ADR stds, it shld be fine. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...