Tested Avante and Forte

Johnwalk

how is it that the koreans can make and sell their cars so cheap, while the japanese and especially conti makes, are so expensive ? it is not as if korea has a low cost of living, as theirs is as high as the japanese and europeans. so why ?

becos they don't/can't slap a premium on their badge

Go check the FOREX markets, the Korean currency is low now. BUT the BIGGEST reason is because the AD is selling them at a low profit margin. Go ahead and work out the sums and you will know...Well that says alot about what consumers' are paying for, doesn't it?

And why are they selling for a low profit margin?

Because if they don't sell at a lower price, Singaporeans will buy Japanese cars due to their preference for Sushi. Majority of Singaporeans generally will pay a premium for Jap cars putting all other factors aside.

right. no wonder PIs import mostly Jap and Conti cars and not korean, cos AD sell at higher margin so that can be exploited/undercut by the PIs. thanks for the explanation.

Edited by Vextan

Not really true leh.. if u calculate based on omv.. the profit margin for AD selling korean cars is still a lot..

My buddy once drove the 1st gen. Kia Rio, he changed one engine and one gear box, maybe becos he whacked the engine. [sweatdrop] Anyway, Kia will just get better. [thumbsup]

Shouldn't forte and avante be compared against model like altis, axio, etc

Hyundai and Kia are experiencing huge success worldwide and has risen to become the 5th biggest car company in the world. They have gained market share and posted a rise in profits worldwide in FY2008. European and Japanese car companies made huge losses and have made massive cuts in production of up to 40% at the same time. These are bald statistics and not plucked from thin air.

The world has recognised a rapidly rising industrial powerhouse but SG, a tiny island, still don't see the big picture.

Since Singaporeans still see Korean cars as 2nd to Japanese, ADs have to sell at a lower price than Jap cars.

I hope Singaporeans never see the big picture so that those on a smaller budget can afford to buy Korean cars. It will be sad for bargain hunters if one day Hyundai-Kia becomes like Samsung TVs, selling at the same price as Panasonic but still beating it in sales.

Shouldn't forte and avante be compared against model like altis, axio, etc

comparisons are done based on same price bracket so vios lor.. altis is next price bracket liao and can be compared with forte 2.0..

Hyundai and Kia are experiencing huge success worldwide and has risen to become the 5th biggest car company in the world. They have gained market share and posted a rise in profits worldwide in FY2008. European and Japanese car companies made huge losses and have made massive cuts in production of up to 40% at the same time. These are bald statistics and not plucked from thin air.

The world has recognised a rapidly rising industrial powerhouse but SG, a tiny island, still don't see the big picture.

Since Singaporeans still see Korean cars as 2nd to Japanese, ADs have to sell at a lower price than Jap cars.

I hope Singaporeans never see the big picture so that those on a smaller budget can afford to buy Korean cars. It will be sad for bargain hunters if one day Hyundai-Kia becomes like Samsung TVs, selling at the same price as Panasonic but still beating it in sales.

Very well said. I also bought a Samsung LCD at similar price to japanese competitor.

By the way, I drove a japanese car which bought mid last year. If the Forte was available during that time, I would have buy the Forte 2.0SX, which is very value for money. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

In europe, the price for Hyundai and Kia are very close or similar to their competitor..

stock is quite floaty, but still ok. veri long nv see u liao leh [flowerface]

Yr car confirm power 1 lah. I alway see yr park there nvr move. Nvr see you wash car also ......

In Europe, the Hyundai i30, Kia Ceed, VW golf, Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla, Mazda 3, Ford Focus, Citroen C4, Renault Megane, Peugeot 308 are competing in the same size and price category. The 2 Koreans were well rated even when compared with the VW Golf, the current benchmark. But look at the i30 sales in SG, despite selling for 2/3 the price of the Golf, it is not selling well. Why? because it is Korean and a hatchback. I am sure CnC saw that Komoco couldn't sell the i30 and decided not to bring in its sister, the Kia Ceed.

It has got to do with the equipment level and warrenty. In the UK, the i30 was doing well cos it's standard equipment is very higher, cheaper, longer warrenty period (5yrs, unlimited mileage),etc...compared to the most basic Golf.

Edited by Silver_blade

Yep, Kia also has a best in industry, 7-year unlimited mileage warranty in Europe and a 10-year/160000km warranty in USA. I am not saying that their reliability is the best but it is good. They are that confident of their reliability. I mean, if these are unreliable cars, the company will go bankrupt from warranty claims but as I said earlier they posted an increase in profits in FY2008 and in their 1Q09. And don't forget, these cars cover a far higher mileage than in SG. I know someone is gonna say that is good for the car as it is mostly long distance, good for some components but not good for some.

I wonder why we don't get the same warranty in SG.............

New Vios is also sold in Japan as Belta.

City is sold in Japan as Fit Aria.

BUt their's in a better spec compared to their MIT counterparts.

Is Belta and Fit Aria made in Japan or Thailand?

Is made in Thailand car used in Japan?

Edited by Axela72

I wonder why we don't get the same warranty in SG

cos the AD want to suck us dry, earn up to tens of thousands for a car and then state ridiculous warranty terms and conditions, and horrible warranty periods.

would 2nd car buyers be more keen on used japanese or korean car?

Me more interested in 2nd hand korean or contis... cos 2nd hand japs too expensive.. <_<