Hishercar Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Retiree asks man to move his car... Instead, driver punches him twice in the face His shirt was soaked in blood and he needed 10 stitches Retiree alleges man bashed him over parking dispute, then went to have breakfast ALL he wanted was for the driver to shift his car. 17 May 2009 ALL he wanted was for the driver to shift his car. For that, he was punched so hard twice that he needed 10 stitches and possibly suffered a permanent scar on his lip. Retiree Lee KW, 63, and his wife, had driven to the Sembawang Hill Food Centre along Upper Thomson Road to have breakfast on Wednesday. But when he got there, he found the entrance to the carpark blocked by a black Toyota Camry that had been parked in front of another stationary car. He left his wife in his car, without switching off his engine, and went to tell the driver not to park there as he was blocking other vehicles from entering the carpark. The Toyota driver had just locked his car and was about to enter the food centre. 'I approached him and told him that this is not his private carpark, and that he should park further in instead of blocking the entrance,' said Mr Lee. 'The man argued that I myself had parked my vehicle at the side of the road. I could see that his face was turning red and he looked ready to fight.' By this time, Mr Lee's wife had stepped out and joined him. Sensing the man's anger, the couple quickly walked towards the food centre to avoid a fight. But the man threw a punch at Mr Lee's upper lip as they walked by, Mr Lee said. 'I turned to react, but before I knew it, he had punched my nose and I fell to the ground,' he said. Said Mrs Lee: 'The incident happened so quickly. Before I knew it, he was bleeding so badly from the nose and lips that his shirt was soaked with blood.' The other driver, meanwhile, went into the food centre with his female companion. Mr Lee then called the police and for an ambulance. When the police arrived, they took statements from the driver of the Toyota and Mr Lee. Split lip The force of the punch was so great that Mr Lee's upper lip split about 3cm . He received 10 stitches at Tan Tock Seng Hospital. The Lees said the other driver looked to be in his 40s and 'rather big-sized'. Said Mr Lee: 'He is not a warrior on a chariot, so there was no need for aggression at all. He needs to behave himself. What if I had hit my head, or if it was an elderly person who had been punched instead?' The carpark at the food centre has only about 20 lots. It is chaotic even on weekday mornings, said regulars. Mr Lee said: 'I want to bring this up so that such things will not happen in the future. I hope there will be witnesses who are willing to step forward.' His son, sales manager Kelvin Lee, 33, has put up five A3-sized posters in both English and Mandarin on the pillars at Sembawang Hill Food Centre to appeal for witnesses. The younger Mr Lee said: 'The police told me that if I can find my own witnesses, it would be good. So far, only one guy has called to offer me advice.' He is not a witness. The police confirmed that they received a call at about 10am on Wednesday from a man who said he had been punched in the face. Police investigations are ongoing. Lawyer Amolat Singh says that in such cases, the victim has three options. First, he can file a magistrate's complaint via the Subordinate Courts, which will then direct the police to investigate. Second, he can also prepare his own private prosecution, in which he must prepare his own charges. Third, the magistrate can also mediate between the victim and the alleged assailant. The court will send a letter to order the accused to attend the mediation. The assailant could then make amends by compensating the victim for his medical expenses, apologise and give an undertaking not to do it again, said Mr Singh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starsaaa Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 A beast in a Toyota camry?? Animal behavior cannot be condone. Hope the victim could find witnessess for his defence so he could haul him to court. If u are a witness to this event hope u could stand forward to give ur account to the police as this fellow will be in scott free and will possibly punch pple again. U could be the next victim! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 I believe it's a one sided story. If the driver is not provoked, this would not have happened. The retiree must have used the provoking tone like the other driver owe it to him when he ask him to shift his car. Anyway the retiree did not mentioned that he ask nicely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 wah seh, so gangster... Hope he gets knocked down by a tree.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Whatever the reason....hitting someone is wrong. Worse when it caused such serious injury. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 (edited) Whatever the reason....hitting someone is wrong. Worse when it caused such serious injury. Obviously he say things to provoke the man. When you speak to someone, does his/her face turn red in anger? I also think he's an idiot, that carpark is already so small that the boxing guy is parking near to the entrance, obviously it is god damn full already, the idiot retiree still wanna get in, even thick skin enough to ask ppl to move his car. I think he deserve to get punch...twice. Edited May 17, 2009 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 sld include caning as a punishment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Anyway I'm not taking sides cos both act like children. One gets easily pissed while the other die die must park his car at that car park when there are other parking areas around. Lethal combination of dumb and dumber. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 A beast in a Toyota camry?? Animal behavior cannot be condone. Hope the victim could find witnessess for his defence so he could haul him to court. If u are a witness to this event hope u could stand forward to give ur account to the police as this fellow will be in scott free and will possibly punch pple again. U could be the next victim! I think cos ppl laugh at him... drive Camry abit paiseh lah.. ah pek car.. nowdays cheap some more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 For a moment there I thought I read LKY. Then i thought the gangster punched the SMM. Chey Even then, that camery fella is nuts, Either its a one sided account, or the camery driver just got news he lost all his money in shares. If he really was a monster, given his character, he should not have survived in the working world till now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Whatever the reason....hitting someone is wrong. Worse when it caused such serious injury. even if the old man is kuai lan or say something really worth punching, the one beating him until 10 stitches is still wrong... why our law doesn't allow police to investigate and charge the one using violence? nabeh really bad example, next time everyone can use their fists to settle things liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 I believe it's a one sided story. If the driver is not provoked, this would not have happened. The retiree must have used the provoking tone like the other driver owe it to him when he ask him to shift his car. Anyway the retiree did not mentioned that he ask nicely. That's the most c**k thing I ever heard. Even if there were provocation, such voilence is uncalled for, and is most unacceptable. It is very very clear a wrong has been done. What do you expect the old man to do? Smile and ask nicely? And what makes you think the Camry guy would do? Nicely co-operate? I'm not sure what kind of warped sense of logic you have. No matter what situation, such unnecessary use of force is not acceptable in any civil society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Anyway I'm not taking sides cos both act like children. One gets easily pissed while the other die die must park his car at that car park when there are other parking areas around. Lethal combination of dumb and dumber. You are only speculating the old man acted like children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 i don't get it.. how come a fella kena whack until blood all over the shop and require 10 stitches but the police don't take action... but a 17 year old kid with medical problems throw chair against door, never hurt anyone, can kena charge, maybe go jail.... why police so double standard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 i can't believe that the police can do so little in this case, they should prosecute the offender in full force. How can this be left to the victim ? if so, this will only encourage more road rage that involves violence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 (edited) "Retiree asks man to move his car... What if I had hit my head, or if it was an elderly person who had been punched instead?" Retiree does not consider he is an elderly person? He thinks he is still a young man is it? I don't condone violence unless someone wants to make my children ophans but all I know is some people really don't know how to talk nicely and it doesn't surprise me they get a smack on their face! Off course as I said I all against violence but the ways some people act ... !!! If the camry driver thot he committed a crime would he go for his breakfast and wait for the police to come and give his statement? And the police not arresting him on the spot? Edited May 17, 2009 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Now we know what "Uniquely Singapore" really means. It's rediculous at the end of the day, private citizens will have to take up private summons on behalf of the state to enforce proper public order - things like no rouge person can expect to get away with inpuny for wacking somebody else face. I though one of the chief aims of having a police force is to enforce public order? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched May 17, 2009 Author Share May 17, 2009 how come throwing chair against the wall can get charged by police with potential jail but some one got face rearranged police attitude not my business ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...