How To Achieve Good Vision In A Heavy Down Pour?

Hermitage

just tried. using ray ban aviators from yishun along lentor to amk macs, where i am now. very heavy rain. IT WORKS!!!

Oh so it really works?? It does seem strange though doesn't it? Maybe only ray bans can... But from some of the posts here, I can see the logic behind it. Not sure about at night though...I can't even see where I'm going if I put on my sunglasses at night!

hmmm, must try liao. since so many good experiences.

But normally, I dun on my wipers leh even if downpour. the water just "fly away' if I driving at 60km/hr minimum. If really traffic jam, then on wipers loh but because of my wax on the windscreen and I clay it everytime when washing car, the water just fly away. :D

Guys...wanna try putting sunglasses at night please do it late at night hor....

Dun accident already then ended up have to increase my premium.

Guys...wanna try putting sunglasses at night please do it late at night hor....

Dun accident already then ended up have to increase my premium.

haha....any difference if they put on at night and late at night [confused][laugh]

late at night lesser traffic so in case of an accident there will be lesser victims. and at least not me.

tonight if i drive out and see someone wearing sunglasses i'll horn non-stop. its my way of saying hi to fellow mcf member!

Any kind of polarised shades will help you see better in heavy rain, especially in the day. Light passing through the rain are unpolarised when they reach your eyes and therefore it appears glaring. Wearing the shades will polarise all the light passing through the lens to your eyes. Hence you will be able to noticably see better.

No matter how much you tint your windscreen, it still doesn't polarise the light. So there's no use unless your solar film has special polarising ability.

I too am skeptical about this! Have yet to try it but dunno when will have the chance leh...nowadays it's blisteringly hot :-(

==============

Yes it works. Try brown or better still, yellow tinted glasses.

It cuts blue light which causes poor visibility when light reflects tru water.

But not too dark tint. Thats why I say yellow cos its not too dark & removes most blue light.

I will thought if it is a polarized lens then it is possible...if not I am not sure...will try on a raining day...

===========

Works for all sunglasses not only polarized lenses cos the lens filters out blue light.

U try using blue tinted lenses & u can hardly see anything in the rain.

That is why yellowish headlamp bulbs give better visibility, especially in the rain or fog.

White or bluish bulbs make it almost impossible to see the road in heavy rain.

Ya, I always have a pair of sunglasses placed above my dashboard. When there's bright sunlight, my passengers would sometimes ask me why I am not wearing it. I would reply that I would wear it [cool] only when it's raining and they would go [confused]<_< . It really works actually. I don't really care about drivers who pass by my car and think I am [hur] as I have a clearer vison and feel safer.

============

I too wear my sunglasses in the rain & dont worry about other drivers laughing at you. They r too busy squinting & straining their eyes trying to see the road to b able to see u at all.

I realised that during poor weather conditions when driving where the only vsible things you can see are the tail lights of other cars, I rely on my GPS more to see where the junctions and curves are. I want to try out that sunglass method, raining now btw, but I'm already wearing specs... [dead]

================

If u already wear glasses, u sud buy those clip-ons. Easy to get grey & brown & sometimes can find yellow too.

Grey is good for very bright sunlight like noon day sun. Brown for dawn & dusk when a lot of hazy light conditions. Yellow also similar to brown but better for low light conditions.

I have grey & brown in my car. Yellow I did see long time ago but never bought. I sud have as now cannot find anymore.

i kw in E-mart, they sell sunglasses which can wear over ur specs. think cost 23.90 bucks

=============

I get my clip-ons from some optical shops for abt $10 each only. Common is grey & brown.