Blueray Hypersonic May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 SINGAPORE: Shell announced on Thursday that it will progressively phase out its Formula 92 petrol from stations island-wide. This will be completed by the end of June. General Manager for Retail Sales and Operations for Shell Eastern Petroleum, Henry Chu said most consumers prefer 95 octane and 98 octane fuels, and taking away the octane 92 will allow customers more space in the stations to provide the 95 and 98. About five per cent of Shell 's customers still use Formula 92. However, while 92-Octane petrol is the cheapest, it's not necessarily the smartest choice as more fuel is needed to reach optimum levels. In contrast, rival Caltex had launched its own version of 92-octane petrol less than two months ago. This was done as a cheaper fuel alternative for motorists. Currently, 92 grade petrol is priced at around a S$1.52 per litre in Singapore. 95 grade petrol is now about a S$1.55 per litre with 98-grade petrol going at about a S$1.64 per litre. - 938LIVE/vm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 I think that will not really affect their margin. Most s'porean still refused to just buy the minimum grade their car require....most will buy a grade or 2 higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 someone opel pump plat leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Surprise Shell neber phase out 98 since there was a promotion on paying 98 price for V power a while ago. And Caltex phase out their Gold grade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueegg Clutched May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Cos there'll always be suckers for Vpower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Cos there'll always be suckers for Vpower. I also dun find it any better than 98 or 95, likewise with the Platinium on Caltex. Only diff I found is they empty faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iliketodrive Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 can only feel the diff when u drive a high CR car. family car pump, waste $ only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Like Malaysia... come Sep 09, you will not find ron 92 in boleh land anymore... ron92 will go into history. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 from personal experience, Vpower and platinium type of petrol does make my bike engine much quieter and smoother, i can literally feel the difference upon starting up the bike but for my sunny cannot feel any difference ley....infact now i am using 92 from caltex.....car still runs as smooth as using 95.....i will continue to pump 92 for my ride till i scrap, no point paying for unnecessary octane :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 from personal experience, Vpower and platinium type of petrol does make my bike engine much quieter and smoother, i can literally feel the difference upon starting up the bike but for my sunny cannot feel any difference ley....infact now i am using 92 from caltex.....car still runs as smooth as using 95.....i will continue to pump 92 for my ride till i scrap, no point paying for unnecessary octane :) Dun feel any diff on my 2 rides but on my ex's scooter, did feel diff on 97 and 93. Maybe small engine? Some ppl swear they get more power but mostly I hear are driving 1.3 L or very old cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 someone opel pump plat leh Ha, ha...happy can already. for me, I have been buying whatever is recommended by the car manufacturer since after my 2nd car. I just don't see the point of paying more 'nothing'. For my 1st car, I was still ignorant...always buy ron98 thinking it is going to give the car more power. [blush] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Cos there'll always be suckers for Vpower. I'm one of those suckers. Because I claim for petrol from company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghaz Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Me tot boleh land has only 91 & 97? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 think they are replacing the 91 with 95. 97 remains. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 sooner or later.. all will follow suit... Shell is always the leader. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 YOU'RE the MAN!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 this is what you get what you got a oilygotpoly LONG LIVE OEM!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeshunda100 Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 Since caltex intro 92 and now shell is giving up 92 and sell the 95 only 3 cents higher. This strategy is going to kill caltex cos the diff in price between 92 and 95 not much. I suggest lower 92 like 10 to 12 cents cheaper. If not, not many will want to pump 92 since if ur full tank is let say 50L. how much can u save? $1.50? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...