Qr25vet Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 2:23 AM, Yuan said: I am quite surprised that there are quite a lot of people who did not see the importance of the shocks or changing to better shocks upon the stock ones up the lorry. However, certain shocks can give more firmer and bumpier feel even with stock springs depending on the brand and type of shocks. Of course, they cannot be as compared to coils. well I have encountered some customers cars whos shocks CMI till the point that the car bounces even when u brake (like those bouncing show cars) and still they dun wanna change...cant emphasize how dangerous can it be...driving a car which rides like a boat and Yes its a beemer somemore.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/15/2009 at 7:36 AM, B0ss said: Bro, make sure u got the real UR. Lots of replica on the market... Advice to everyone - Try not to get the 3pt front strut bar... The 3pt front strut bar tore through the firewall/chassis and into the centre console of the cabin. Everyone, including the track marshall, was stunned... isn't most strut bar r 3 pts.....? Pls enlighten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 3:14 AM, Hamburger said: isn't most strut bar r 3 pts.....? Pls enlighten Mine is 2-point niah leh. But mine is replica Spoon design on Airwave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freifeit Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Apart from the strut bar, the 3-point fender bars will help to improve the handling of Jap car further. Once installed the strut bar & fender bars, the car's handling behave like conti car. Btw, UR product is also available in JB. They have appointed a few authorised dealers. Further detail is available in their website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 3:10 AM, Qr25vet said: well I have encountered some customers cars whos shocks CMI till the point that the car bounces even when u brake (like those bouncing show cars) and still they dun wanna change...cant emphasize how dangerous can it be...driving a car which rides like a boat and Yes its a beemer somemore.... how long have they travelled on the shocks? my dad's camry handling noticeably less stable liao. but he brought it to BM for a test and it's 'still within specs'. travelled 120k on them liao. i nagged him to change but since BM said ok, he will not be changing. but to be fair, his style of driving, he probably wun notice the diff in handling between camry and BMW Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Some front strut have 2 or 3 point . Depends on the design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 2:23 AM, Yuan said: I am quite surprised that there are quite a lot of people who did not see the importance of the shocks or changing to better shocks upon the stock ones up the lorry. However, certain shocks can give more firmer and bumpier feel even with stock springs depending on the brand and type of shocks. Of course, they cannot be as compared to coils. Usually gas strut is firmer than hydraulics. But hydraulic would cost more . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 (edited) On 5/15/2009 at 1:34 AM, Hamburger said: many car makers now install anti roll bar at e front, but fewer at e rear. TS really exaggerated abit abt wat wonders front strut bar can do to handling....no offence Agree. imo, a strut bar serves to strengthen the chassis and minimise flex. If there was grounds to choose in the first place, i would rather choose a chassis that is way more rigid in the first place, preferably monocoque construction. Edited May 17, 2009 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 4:29 AM, Route88 said: Some front strut have 2 or 3 point . Depends on the design. so tis 2 or 3 pts is where e mounting plate of strut bar is tight down juz above, where e dampers r....izit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 (edited) u means tis..... Edited May 17, 2009 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 most old sch jap cars are like that but prob is that when u have an accident and if its not pulled back properly to geometry...It'll give u problems... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 The bolt tat lock the upper suspension mounting can be 3 or 2 point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 4:32 AM, Route88 said: Usually gas strut is firmer than hydraulics. But hydraulic would cost more . Yes. That was what I was referring to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 3:10 AM, Qr25vet said: well I have encountered some customers cars whos shocks CMI till the point that the car bounces even when u brake (like those bouncing show cars) and still they dun wanna change...cant emphasize how dangerous can it be...driving a car which rides like a boat and Yes its a beemer somemore.... Maybe they love the rolling feeling. Different butts have different feel and taste. It is very subjective. Of course, they may not appreciate the lack of safety aspect with worn out shocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 4:57 AM, Happily1986 said: Agree. imo, a strut bar serves to strengthen the chassis and minimise flex. If there was grounds to choose in the first place, i would rather choose a chassis that is way more rigid in the first place, preferably monocoque construction. Fully agreed. To add on, I would prefer a stiff suspension so that with full load at the back, I don't have to be concerned about bottoming out or having to stiffen the springs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 3:14 AM, Hamburger said: isn't most strut bar r 3 pts.....? Pls enlighten I thought most of the front tower strut bars in the engine bay are 2 point. I have seen 3 pt front tower bar but not common for normal cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freifeit Neutral Newbie May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 Yes! That's a 3-points fender bar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 17, 2009 Share May 17, 2009 On 5/17/2009 at 11:09 AM, Yuan said: I thought most of the front tower strut bars in the engine bay are 2 point. I have seen 3 pt front tower bar but not common for normal cars. mi using Tanabe which is 3 pt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...