Next Gen Civic Width Downsizing

Reng

"Could be" only what. Dun even have a link to the source of the information. Could be bullsh*t.

This sentence is so cheem "Exterior Design will be Keep Concept".

On 5/14/2009 at 7:54 AM, Kelpie said:

What sort of English is this from the link?

"Next Generation Honda Civic could be downsizing to 1,695 mm by width for pay less 5 number body tax and directly compete to Corolla and Tiida.

Exterior Design will be Keep Concept."

Regards,

Likely a Japanese writing English. [lipsrsealed]

I hear the width to be below 1.7m else additional tax is a Japan thingy. That's why the older MIJ vehicle all width below 1.7m.

On 5/14/2009 at 8:03 AM, Octopus said:

Likely a Japanese writing English. [lipsrsealed]

I hear the width to be below 1.7m else additional tax is a Japan thingy. That's why the older MIJ vehicle all width below 1.7m.

I hope they will not intentionally build the car taller due to the shortened width. Alternatively, they can roll out different chassis model like what they did to some of their models to meet other countries' demand.

Regards,

Direct translate from Japanese, I think.

BTW, the previous generation of Civic (EG, ES, etc.) are in the same category as Corolla, Tiida / Sunny, 323, Lancer, etc. but with Honda wanting to move it to the executive car category, the width was increased to the current 1,720mm+/- for the FD series.

This move has resulted in loss of market share, especially in the recent months, as Honda do not have a model in the line up that can fill the gap (Fit Aria aka City is too small and M.I.T). So it is logical that they may revert back to the 1,695mm limit set by Japan Transport Authority to allows buyer to enjoy some tax rebate for small car.

On 5/14/2009 at 8:28 AM, Reng said:

In this case,make in tomyam land [lipsrsealed] , just like accord?

That Asian Accord Model is also bulit in other part of the world and is also available in Japan leh. It just so happened that SG market receives their Asian Accord Model from Thailand Assembly plant. Both JDM Accord and Asian Accord are sold in the Australia by the AD. In SG, KM only carries the Asian Accord model.

Regards,

On 5/14/2009 at 8:30 AM, Twofouronenite said:

or make side mirror smaller.

No lah, the width exclude the side mirror and your side protector stripes if any.

On 5/14/2009 at 8:28 AM, Reng said:

In this case,make in tomyam land [lipsrsealed] , just like accord?

It is not about pricing, but tax category by Japan Transport Authority, just like we have different road tax structure for different engine capcity (up to 1.0L, 1.0L to 1.6L, 1.6L - 3.0L, >3.0L).

On 5/14/2009 at 8:52 AM, Kelpie said:

No lah, the width exclude the side mirror and your side protector stripes if any.

You are right...

civic-front.gif

scale.gif

On 5/14/2009 at 9:01 AM, Twofouronenite said:

Oh, I tot overall will be overall, everything. [sweatdrop]

I don't think the authority take side mirror into consideration. Of course, you may get to see overall dimension in sales kit or the brochure.

Regards,

On 5/14/2009 at 9:04 AM, Carbon82 said:

You are right...

I once compared the dimension of the cars that I wanted to buy and find out that Width doesn't include side mirror so I'm pretty sure about this. Thank you for the diagram [thumbsup].

Regards,

If I am not wrong, in Japan and Asia, width is taken without wing mirror, but the other way round for conti make.