Blue-winter Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 nothing wrong with looking forward to 5k job mah... her friend just spread legs got 150k car liaoz... right? yar loh...kenna climb big mountain... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 (edited) I tot starting pay for civil sector jobs is the benchmark liao.... and more often than not they are already higher than average liao.. To my understanding, the only people who beat that is the finance/accounting grads.. but due to recent events, banks also tone down... my fren work in Foreign bank bo bonus for 2008... Edited May 14, 2009 by Windchoco Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 I am thinking positively....all of you gave negative news on low pays.....which I don't think its true. Maybe you are older guys with >10years old degree......which many companies will think its over-the-hill so won't offer high salary. I read news, 2007-2008 graduates are getting $4k starting salary as average, due to the 2007-2008 good economy. Yes...the recession may have affected the salary figure somewhat. But surely its not as low as $2.8k as someone has mentioned. I still think $4-5k salary is reasonable, now that the world recession is almost over and on the road to recovery, all the more companies should pay market rate to graduates who graduated in 2009! come on.. prove them wrong please... show them you can get a $5k job... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 I am thinking positively....all of you gave negative news on low pays.....which I don't think its true. Maybe you are older guys with >10years old degree......which many companies will think its over-the-hill so won't offer high salary. I read news, 2007-2008 graduates are getting $4k starting salary as average, due to the 2007-2008 good economy. Yes...the recession may have affected the salary figure somewhat. But surely its not as low as $2.8k as someone has mentioned. I still think $4-5k salary is reasonable, now that the world recession is almost over and on the road to recovery, all the more companies should pay market rate to graduates who graduated in 2009! Which industry you're hoping to get in ? Reading along your line , you're too /overly optimistic .Most of the company's worldwide are struggling and maybe beginning to see the 'light' at the end of the tunnel (provided someone didn't turn it off later) , they will all be on a cautious mode now . Hiring maybe the last thing on their mind as there's PLENTY of more experienced candidate out there who are willing to secure a job(s) with substantial pay cut then what they are getting previously. So what if you may have the 'substance' that they are looking for ?They'll rather get someone who can IMMEDIATELY contribute to the company then train/attach/mentor someone new to the job . Be realistic , get any job that comes along and gain experience from there irregardless of pay .When the economy really picks up , you will have some degree of advantage at least . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nus24 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Author Share May 14, 2009 Thanks for the positive encouragement. Lets talk about the PI and cars. Shall not digress too much into my new job salary. come on.. prove them wrong please... show them you can get a $5k job... cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terras14 May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 I am thinking positively....all of you gave negative news on low pays.....which I don't think its true. Maybe you are older guys with >10years old degree......which many companies will think its over-the-hill so won't offer high salary. I read news, 2007-2008 graduates are getting $4k starting salary as average, due to the 2007-2008 good economy. Yes...the recession may have affected the salary figure somewhat. But surely its not as low as $2.8k as someone has mentioned. I still think $4-5k salary is reasonable, now that the world recession is almost over and on the road to recovery, all the more companies should pay market rate to graduates who graduated in 2009! ermm..companies not retrenching already very good at the moment and to pay 5k for a fresh grad honestly thou not impossible but it is really really very unlikely. But if you specalised in certain skills that a specific company is lacking and happens that you are the only one out there, then got chance. Any coporate now should be in the range of 3k but if you are good, in a matter of 1 year 5k is possible. When i graduate 6 years ago, a 5k job usually for the top students which requires a few rounds of interview before you can get the job ( like america idol like that) Last but not least, i will really advise you lowering your expectation and get a job to gain some experience rather than hoping for a 5k job. Of course unless your father hire you in his own company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 No la... these days it does good to have a few laughs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue-winter Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 NU24...hope that you are not taking our comment seriously... What from us...is just the advise for you only... We dun mean bad... cheers for your future job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 NU24...hope that you are not taking our comment seriously... What from us...is just the advise for you only... We dun mean bad... cheers for your future job. yeah.. just remember to treat us a beer when you receive your first $5K paycheck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 yeah.. just remember to treat us a beer when you receive your first $5K paycheck! $5kRM , perhaps . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 It's not impossible... $5k is really not a lot. $5k cannot even buy a 320i... sigh.. that's a reality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 Social Escort Agency?? They need U grad to serve the higher end customers.... this one sure fetch much higher salary than 5k....there some posting on SB tat there's local asking for $800 1 time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 this one sure fetch much higher salary than 5k....there some posting on SB tat there's local asking for $800 1 time wah... 800/90/1?? any bro try? give FR leh? Sg girls think their pussy made of gold leh... hahaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 (edited) Picanto =$40k Porsche = $400k Different grade...although basically four wheel with an engine. Any differences? Just like many guys here have the appreciation skills to appreciate the differences in car performance and quality and willing to pay for the premium for higher level experiences.... The same guys should also learn to appreciate the finner things in life to understand the $800/hr charges compared to the normal lok-kok sub-standard $80/hr that some guys are used to paying. Edited May 15, 2009 by Leepee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 hahahaha...no experience, no portfolio, nothing to proof n show capability and want to ask 5k....go n fly kite...unless TS did relevant internships b4, maybe can get or the industry is damn damn unique else wait long long which industry is unique and differentiate one from others??? hmmm.... maybe a "FL" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 wah... 800/90/1?? any bro try? give FR leh? Sg girls think their pussy made of gold leh... hahaa go SB to read....there's FR available u need to be interviewed first cos the FL want to avoid receiving customer she knew.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 She haven't step in society and work before, how to know what happen outside, what she know is base on news... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Law_ong Neutral Newbie May 15, 2009 Share May 15, 2009 think you have not went to any recruitment agency or head hunting firm hor... go ask them the market rate for fresh grad. the average now is 2k to 2.5k. 2.8k from civil service is consider high now. those figures you got from school are jacked up statistic figures that they got. which grad having 2k willing to provide their current pay to the school when they noe they cant fetch a good rate. those lucky ones will reply to their survey and this jack up the so called fetching price of student from the particular school. this translate to marketing strategy for the school to get more freshies joining them.... my youngest sis got a cum lade and is only getting 2.8k from a german mnc; her lucky frz got into a swiss bank as analyst for 3+k, working Europe time etc which net off from the transport etc is not getting a much higher per hour rate compared to my sis. furthermore, with the current crisis, her frz is asked to go for being the newest and high pay. period. probaby a good 4k job is available but are u keen to be a chemical engineer working in tuas island? that why my cousin is getting after he grad. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...