Sw20 2nd Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Too many silly car owners on the road lately hogging 1st lane going at 70-80km/h way below the speed limit of the expressway. In the rain they can even use the 1st lane at 50km/h!!!! If there is a minimum speed limit.... 1) There will be no congestion and BRAKING on the 1st lane! 2) It will keep SLOW cautious drivers off the 1st lane when it is raining so it will not block the way of faster cars. 3) No commercial vehicles will be using the lane at all times to slow us down. 4) Then people with itchy backside wanna drive so slow because they have alot of time, no need to use expressway at all. I've seen cars going at 40-60km/h on expressways, they are really blocking the way for everybody and creating jams. I was once on the AYE there was slow traffic at Clementi and in lane 1,2,3,4 was only going at 60km/h and i zig zagged.... guess what i found? On the 1st lane near Alexander a nissan sunny driven by an aunty was drive at 60km/h on the 1st lane.... infront of the car the road was CLEAR!!!!!! In lane 3 and 4 is slow becos of commercial vehicles.... then in lane 2 cars going so slow as usual. I was behind her... I horned and flashed.... other drivers did it too... but she din move.... so i tried to cut into her lane leaving a very little margin to scare her off, no reaction.... I hope someone in this forum who knows this aunty can educate her. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Lady drive, aunty some more, dun expect a reply from her. She dun even know that she is wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholasl Neutral Newbie May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Sign up to be a TP. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 i agree it is especially annoying in morning peak hour, u see the whole place jam up and then after trying so hard to get to the front u see a inconderate road hogging. worse case is the bugger behind the road hogger who isnt supportive enuff to help push him out. most of the time n i jus overtake in the mid lane but will horn continously at them. worse case is when i m riding,1 out of 10 car will move out of the way sgporeans seriously dont give a damn abt bikes. contrary to the general population i dont like to lane split. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabest 2nd Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Unfortunately there is no such law but there is a law for driving dangerously! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 How is it gonna be enforced appropriately? Thousand and one reasons one can give to drive slowly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kr_toy 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/12/2009 at 4:23 PM, Sw20 said: I was once on the AYE there was slow traffic at Clementi and in lane 1,2,3,4 was only going at 60km/h and i zig zagged.... guess what i found? On the 1st lane near Alexander a nissan sunny driven by an aunty was drive at 60km/h on the 1st lane.... infront of the car the road was CLEAR!!!!!! In lane 3 and 4 is slow becos of commercial vehicles.... then in lane 2 cars going so slow as usual. I was behind her... I horned and flashed.... other drivers did it too... but she din move.... so i tried to cut into her lane leaving a very little margin to scare her off, no reaction.... I hope someone in this forum who knows this aunty can educate her. That is the problem with ugly Singaporeans, there is no social graciousness..and like what Jacky Chen said, they do not respect themselves. If every single thing rules by law, the law becomes complicated and the same problem will reoccur, noone know what is the law. But too bad the kiasu-ism is neeeded for Singaporean to survive, but they are not smart enough to differentiate where and when to be kiasu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freifeit Neutral Newbie May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 This morning kena hogged by a SG registered OPC Hyundai on the fast lane of NSH (Kempas h/w). The hogger was travelling at < 90km/h nia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/12/2009 at 6:01 PM, Ah_tee said: i agree it is especially annoying in morning peak hour, u see the whole place jam up and then after trying so hard to get to the front u see a inconderate road hogging. worse case is the bugger behind the road hogger who isnt supportive enuff to help push him out. most of the time n i jus overtake in the mid lane but will horn continously at them. worse case is when i m riding,1 out of 10 car will move out of the way sgporeans seriously dont give a damn abt bikes. contrary to the general population i dont like to lane split. i agree... becuz i'm one of those that views bikers as a nuisance on the road... especially the stupid malaysian bikes... like to squeeze here and there... damm irritating... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 no offence though... just my opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 Just be patient and wait for a chance to overtake. Why do zig-zag stunts to risk your life and others too? If ppl dun have a clue, there's little you can do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/12/2009 at 6:01 PM, Ah_tee said: i agree it is especially annoying in morning peak hour, u see the whole place jam up and then after trying so hard to get to the front u see a inconderate road hogging. worse case is the bugger behind the road hogger who isnt supportive enuff to help push him out. most of the time n i jus overtake in the mid lane but will horn continously at them. worse case is when i m riding,1 out of 10 car will move out of the way sgporeans seriously dont give a damn abt bikes. contrary to the general population i dont like to lane split. What bike do you ride? Understandable if you don't lane split if you're riding one of those touring bikes due to the side boxes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/12/2009 at 5:26 PM, Nicholasl said: Sign up to be a TP. :) Yeah, same thing came to my mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 there is a penalty for road hogging.... from TP website: 4 Demerit Points * Exceeding speed limit of vehicle by up to 20km/h. * Exceeding speed limit of the road by up to 20km/h. * Failing to give way to oncoming traffic at controlled junction. * Failing to give way at uncontrolled junction. * Failing to give way at junction. * Failing to give way at roundabout. * Crossing double white lines. * Crossing road divider. * Hindering flow of traffic. * Failing to give way to ambulance or fire brigade or police vehicle. * Driving while carrying load on a motor vehicle in a dangerous manner. * Stop or allow vehicle to remain at rest on shoulder of an expressway. * Stopping or remaining at rest on the carriageway of an expressway. * Forming up incorrectly when turning left or right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 There is a traffic law on road hogging and traffic authorites can give you a fine for it...if one is caught. But then there are also laws on illegal parking and even using handphone while driving...but drivers just ignore it. Ppl from all walks of life ignore the the fact that they are breaking the laws ....JUST BECOS THEY THINK THAT ...FOR THEM....AT THAT MOMEMT IN TIME>>>>THEY WON"T BE CAUGHT! See and read the words in captial again and again. So it is the same ......everyday for a lot of ppl who use the roads! This human mentality works along the lines that ...punishment would correct that particular bad behaviour...for some ..YES.....if they're caught once for it...for many ..NO....even if they're caught again and again for it! It was already a failure in human values embedded onto them during the years when they were brought-up...and to correct this with a hope that certain actions would bring about certain punishment in their adult years would work.... is a truly a HOPELESS wish! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/13/2009 at 3:24 AM, Gearoil said: There is a traffic law on road hogging and traffic authorites can give you a fine for it...if one is caught. But then there are also laws on illegal parking and even using handphone while driving...but drivers just ignore it. Ppl from all walks of life ignore the the fact that they are breaking the laws ....JUST BECOS THEY THINK THAT ...FOR THEM....AT THAT MOMEMT IN TIME>>>>THEY WON"T BE CAUGHT! See and read the words in captial again and again. So it is the same ......everyday for a lot of ppl who use the roads! This human mentality works along the lines that ...punishment would correct that particular bad behaviour...for some ..YES.....if they're caught once for it...for many ..NO....even if they're caught again and again for it! It was already a failure in human values embedded onto them during the years when they were brought-up...and to correct this with a hope that certain actions would bring about certain punishment in their adult years would work.... is a truly a HOPELESS wish! Bravo...summed it up really well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/13/2009 at 3:24 AM, Gearoil said: There is a traffic law on road hogging and traffic authorites can give you a fine for it...if one is caught. But then there are also laws on illegal parking and even using handphone while driving...but drivers just ignore it. Ppl from all walks of life ignore the the fact that they are breaking the laws ....JUST BECOS THEY THINK THAT ...FOR THEM....AT THAT MOMEMT IN TIME>>>>THEY WON"T BE CAUGHT! See and read the words in captial again and again. So it is the same ......everyday for a lot of ppl who use the roads! This human mentality works along the lines that ...punishment would correct that particular bad behaviour...for some ..YES.....if they're caught once for it...for many ..NO....even if they're caught again and again for it! It was already a failure in human values embedded onto them during the years when they were brought-up...and to correct this with a hope that certain actions would bring about certain punishment in their adult years would work.... is a truly a HOPELESS wish! That is why I personally have never believed in the "SAF rule" of "Do what you want, just don't get caught". If we keep repeating that to our youths, then we will only have ourselves to blame when our own citizens never develop any semblance of social grace. It's also about awareness of others - many of these hoggers simply don't have that awareness, thinking that they are in the right, that as long as they travel within the speed limit, they are free to travel on whichever lane they wish. It doesn't help that there are precious few TPs who will actually do something about road hoggers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Share May 13, 2009 On 5/13/2009 at 4:09 AM, Requiemdk said: That is why I personally have never believed in the "SAF rule" of "Do what you want, just don't get caught". If we keep repeating that to our youths, then we will only have ourselves to blame when our own citizens never develop any semblance of social grace. It's also about awareness of others - many of these hoggers simply don't have that awareness, thinking that they are in the right, that as long as they travel within the speed limit, they are free to travel on whichever lane they wish. It doesn't help that there are precious few TPs who will actually do something about road hoggers. That's COC 7 not rule but code of conduct! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...