Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 this is my 3 dog, and the first 2 have no problem except this one. Breed ShiTzu. At puppy stage, whenever there is thunder, he is not afraid. 5 years later, he has grown up and changed to afraid of SOUND of thunder. as everyone of us is working. he is lonely at home. Once there is Thunder, he will run around the house, is like searching for an hideout. worst case, he will bang the living room dog, like he is wanting to go out, and run away from the Sound of thunder. Anyone has any resolution for such case or have your dog been behaving similar like mine? Kind of sad for him, while i was working, when i heard thunder, i feel sad for my pet. Haiz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Yes, think this is quite normal in dogs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 buy the dog ear defencer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 (edited) Yup...it is fairly common. My mum's late Shetland sheepdog was like that. Will hide in a corner. One of my retriever is also like that. Will panic look for a corner, sofa, etc....to hide. :D Actually, can train them out of it...but need time. I couldn't be bothered....cos I don't find a major problem. Edited May 12, 2009 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Hi, my dog also have this problem. But he started even when he was a puppy. What i was told to do by the trainer is to put a transistor radio in his kennel or a shelter where he sleeps. On the radio when u are away. Reason being he can hear human voices and will calm him down. It works for my dog, whenever it rains and have thunder, he will run into his kennel and stay there till its over. He is also scare of sound of howling wind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 where u get the transistor radio, may i ask? however, i bet it will work for my pet. the reason is, there is cases during the night, when my sis and mum at home sleeping, thunder surface, and he still run around the house. i see him trembling, there is one time, he even cramped his leg. gosh, so jialat one ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 I thought only my cats are afraid of thunder, esp the super loud ones. They will just find a place to hide eg under sofa, under bed, under blanket, under sofa throw. Basically under anything. didn't bother to train them out of it as they are just basically afraid of sudden loud noise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 where u get the transistor radio, may i ask?... can try Sim Lim or Mustafa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 my dog very worst case one, run into the bathroom , gotten himself wet one. then u know with his fur, wha lan, my mum keep nagging, very smelly, must bath, then everyday rain for this week, my mum shaq out liao, keep wanted to give away my pet. i already shifted out, and i cant bring home, cause my wife is pregnant plus she nabei one dont like my dog. her mindset is my dog is not well trained, always taken her friend dog as comparison, but i dont blame her much cause my dog really jialat until scratch doors etc haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 Thanks alot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 try making a corner comfortable for him to hid. yeah i think radio may help. my goldie doesnt display exaggarated behavior but will try to get close to us when there is a thunder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 hey, ur dog same as my dog name leh. Is also spelt as GOLDIE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 If I can train my cats to scratch at appropriate places only, you can train your dog too. Your wife don't understnad the bond you have with your dog. Sad. Lucky my wife understands the bonds I have with my cats and vice versa. Heng ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 humm, i got tell my mum to take out her cotton hut, but nabei, scare my dog rape the hut when there is no thunder haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Author Share May 12, 2009 my wife will never understand alot of things and wont compromise to me one. also, is not i cant insist to bring home, is because my dog likes my mum more then me, cause she feeds her. and my role when i live with my mum is to bring my dog for walk nia. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 That's why i have cats. Cats can don't bath for months and still smell great. No need to go for walks too. Just play in the house enough exercise already. And they are damn independent. Great for lazy bums like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 Hi I got my transistor radio at Mustafa, a sony one cost only S$15 , oh buy rechargable batts as well. Cos quite taxing on the batts when u on it at least 12 hours a day. I also got a LED light, those type that u just press and the lights come on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 My dog barks at the thunder. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...