Rpm prob or engine dying?

Bluefreud

hi,

just wan to find out what could possibly be wrong with my car.

recently my rpm will just fluctuate wildly for no apparent reason and if im stopping, eg., at a traffic light, sometimes my car engine will just die.

fortunately it has not died while driving.

my rpm idling speed is abt 1100 rpm.

went to check, but my mech couldnt find anything wrong. suspected could be my air filter, causing air intake to be affected.

im using knn air filter (hamburger type) but i dont think it's air filter prob leh.

not sure what other things could be causing it?

engine prob?

spark plug?

any advice?

thanks.

Edited by Bluefreud

ah..

oh yah.. could be..

nope, my mech didnt take out and clean.

maybe i spray spray my carb-cleaner 1st and see how.

thanks so much.

sometimes carb cleaners might not be able to do the trick. some serious clogging u haf to take out the whole thing and soak inside chemicals.

u have any workshop to recommend?

not many workshops now know how to clean carb.

my workshop is at yew tee industrial estate.

not that my mech is particularly amazing and his labour is abit more expensive also, but just tat it's near my place.

so just been going there.

saber is the man to solve ur problems. blk 18 sin ming industrial park a #01-49.

say grey colour starlet (gabriel) intro u one. he is a very delicated person whom seems to repair starlet like an hobby.

yah i know saber.

i always send my car to him to help me go inspection.

:p

just tat sin ming abit too inconvenient for me.

but thks alot.

1100 idle is quite high. mine used to be about 800-900.

it could be a vacuum leak.

or one of your spark plug cables have come loose.

what carb are you using? could also be running too rich.

1100 idle is quite high. mine used to be about 800-900.

it could be a vacuum leak.

or one of your spark plug cables have come loose.

what carb are you using? could also be running too rich.

Hi Bro, sorry for disturb, sound like u know about the carb, can u advise me is it weber carb always out tune n high fc, im now on su for corolla ee100, thank you!

hi,

just wan to find out what could possibly be wrong with my car.

recently my rpm will just fluctuate wildly for no apparent reason and if im stopping, eg., at a traffic light, sometimes my car engine will just die.

fortunately it has not died while driving.

my rpm idling speed is abt 1100 rpm.

went to check, but my mech couldnt find anything wrong. suspected could be my air filter, causing air intake to be affected.

im using knn air filter (hamburger type) but i dont think it's air filter prob leh.

not sure what other things could be causing it?

engine prob?

spark plug?

any advice?

thanks.

Hi 'Bluefreud',

There are several possible causes with your inconsistent rpm reving and below are some of the common ones:

1) Dirty carborator:-

This will clog up the clean flow of air and ultimately increase your fuel consumption. You need to bring it to a mechanic with the experience and necessary tool to do a diagnostic tuning after cleaning. I brought my car to GSC Auto Services Pte Ltd regarding a slight lag of torqueyness at low rev and the boss Mr Soh hp no: 90234126 carried out a thoroughout check and discovered that the inside of the carborator is dirty. He got his mechanic to take out the carborator, gave it a complete clean-up & the problem solved. He also used a diagnostic tuning machine to balance the timing.

He has one workshop @ Sin Ming Autocare & one @ Northlink Building along Admiralty St. I believe the latter is more convenient for you.

2) Air Leak:-

This could happen between the joints from the air intke funnel to the carborator.

3) Dirty spark plugs.

4) Loose connection of the spark plug cables that are attached to the spark plug heads which will result in inconsistent firing.

5) Dirty air filter.

6) The resonator.

7) Worn out spark plug.

8) Others.

If you wish to have your car problem diagnosed, you may want to consider calling the boss of GSC Auto Services Pte Ltd.

I am very happy with his experience and service provided and it's very essential in this forum to enable members to share with one another.

good info..nowdays rarely got pple noes how to work wif carbs liao. do they happened to haf jettings for webers?

weber always out of tune [confused][confused]

no wat. once tuned its always in place.

that's not true.

you need to fine-tune it every 1-2 months to maintain optimal performance. your filter gets dirty, your plugs get dirty, your fuel filter gets dirty, so things change. the keyword is "fine tuning". you can definitely get by without doing it over 6 months. wouldn't affect much, but i'm quite fussy when it comes to burning fuel properly.... so i used to do it every 1-2 months.

if you tune it yourself, the best way is to use Gunson's ColourTune. you'll immediately know when the carb is out of tune.

Hi Bro, sorry for disturb, sound like u know about the carb, can u advise me is it weber carb always out tune n high fc, im now on su for corolla ee100, thank you!

weber will definitely have higher FC compared to stock SU carb.

but depending on your tune it may just be slightly higher only.