Subaru AWARE Ad

...yet again, they have come up with such a silly ad that takes advantage of the latest AWARE situation and the cliche of choice is:

'Shut up and Sit Down!' [hur][hur]

..skali next, they use Mas Selamat driving a Subaru..... [laugh][laugh]

...yet again, they have come up with such a silly ad that takes advantage of the latest AWARE situation and the cliche of choice is:

'Shut up and Sit Down!' [hur][hur]

i swear that ad made me smile when i first heard it on the radio. cliche or not, we remembered it enough to post our 'experiences' over here thus it works.

Yup. Agreed. It does make one remember, but albeit with a sour taste in the mouth though. From an advertising POV, it succeeded.

Convert e Subaru into a flotation device [laugh]

To be able to outrun the police, MS uses the same make as our TP [thumbsup]

any ad that catches pple's attention is an effective ad..

From a brand mgmt point of view, its suicidal.

Its easy to catch ppl's attention but not many are capable of coming up with campaigns that catch attention yet leave a positive image in the minds of consumers.

and the tag line will be,"you wouldn't be caught in your shorts in a subaru, might less sleep behind the wheels"

From a brand mgmt point of view, its suicidal.

Its easy to catch ppl's attention but not many are capable of coming up with campaigns that catch attention yet leave a positive image in the minds of consumers.

agree.. it does catches attention but the image it's giving..

i meant, who would want to associate the car they drive to those controversial incidents

I think subaru has lost the plot. The first ah beng ad was funny, after the 2nd one I stopped laughing and found it to be annoying as the ah beng wasn't really an ah beng nor didn't sound like one and he keeps on talking about the stupid killer whale. It became very irritating to the point i'll stop listening to the station that was airing his ad. Although this is subjective, their cars seemed to have lost the selling point too. I can't wait for the new legacy to come out for me to give it a good laugh.

When I saw the aware ad, I thought i was stupid and it didn't really make any sense. Whether or not we are talking about this, it has generated a negative image to their brand already. If they keep this up, I'm not sure what will happen to their sales.

What next subaru ?

They should fire the ad agency unless the ad was the idea of that young MI boss...

Being current is obviously vital but the choice of riding on the aware fiasco was insensitive and in poor taste; akin to gloating at others' expense. Surely one can afford to be more creative and positive when trying to sell one's products and in the process project the correct company brand and image?

Lest we be accused by MI of being narrow minded and not having a sense of humour how abt trying to come up to the level of a good ad like the Henz tomato ketchup ad where the duck having being tossed a french fry, walked over to dip in the sauce before eating?

Edited by Bullterrier

i'm sure MI had to review and approve the ad before it is released, so most likely it reflects of the taste & mindset of MI management.. Perhaps it's a case of paying peanuts for ads..

[thumbsup] 4WD can drive in Boleh land jungle [bounce2][bounce2]

but but but...he was found in a kampung with roads and all le [laugh][laugh][laugh]