What to do with dust?

Ilmw

1st Gear

I've a 19-month old white Civic. I used to use Klasse AIO/SG, but for the past year or so, settled on Jeff Werkstatt AIO & Acrylic Jett. (Meguiar's NXT Wash replaced 3M which is getting expensive)

I aim to do a 3-5 hr job on the car each week, but getting lazy. Once a fortnight is more common than weekly for me these days. I don't do quick detail in-between washes.

Car is open-air parked day & night, plus near MRT circle-line construction, so it's dusty. By the end of two weeks, when I go to the manual car wash @ petrol station (pay $3 to save me 1-hr of wash), they cannot completely clean the car (can clearly see the grey stain. soap, thumb rub cannot remove). After many tries, I pity the china guy and told him it's OK. I've to use Jeff AIO to manually clean it.

Can anyone offer any help?

I've seen suggestions like below, any one care to comment?

1. use feather duster

2. rubbing sealant onto car panel cause static electricity cause dust to attract. to reduce static electricity, run water over car after polish?

3. dump jeff & use other brand?

Edited by Ilmw

I've a 19-month old white Civic. I used to use Klasse AIO/SG, but for the past year or so, settled on Jeff Werkstatt AIO & Acrylic Jett. (Meguiar's NXT Wash replaced 3M which is getting expensive)

I aim to do a 3-5 hr job on the car each week, but getting lazy. Once a fortnight is more common than weekly for me these days. I don't do quick detail in-between washes.

Car is open-air parked day & night, plus near MRT circle-line construction, so it's dusty. By the end of two weeks, when I go to the manual car wash @ petrol station (pay $3 to save me 1-hr of wash), they cannot completely clean the car (can clearly see the grey stain. soap, thumb rub cannot remove). After many tries, I pity the china guy and told him it's OK. I've to use Jeff AIO to manually clean it.

Can anyone offer any help?

I've seen suggestions like below, any one care to comment?

1. use feather duster

2. rubbing sealant onto car panel cause static electricity cause dust to attract. to reduce static electricity, run water over car after polish?

3. dump jeff & use other brand?

I've been seeing some neighbours using their maids to "wipe" their cars once in morning and once in the evening. To me nothing beat using water.

Did you notice that 1 issue with Civic boot design is that, water spots and dust tend to accumulate on the immediate area after closing the boot cover? Very obvious on my black car! They should have made it more curvy such that it doesn't trap water spot that easily.

Regards,

1st Gear

Did you notice that 1 issue with Civic boot design is that, water spots and dust tend to accumulate on the immediate area after closing the boot cover? Very obvious on my black car! They should have made it more curvy such that it doesn't trap water spot that easily.

Yup! That's my 2nd complaint.

Complaint #1 with the boot, is that when opened, water drips into the boot, from the two screws on the tail-light. Why did they make it so long such that it becomes a water guide!!

Water is the least harsh to wax, but gotta be careful...It can be very easy to scratch your car if too much force is use...

Water scratch car? then must well you don't shower. [laugh]

Huh, i only know using sponge, MF cloth, etc in the wrong way could scratch. Spray water from hose can scratch car meh? Plse enlighten. Thanks.

2nd Gear

this quote is interesting please enlighten

Sorry ah, i am not good with words.. Not water will scratch the car, but only using water to wash car. Water don't have proper lubrication, so not as safe as shampoo..Of course wash medium, technique all comes into play...

ok, to be fair and funny

i did heard from some guys that they can pressurise water so much that it can cut steel [shocked]

they say the water cutting steel method is preferred over welding methods because of the "clean" cuts, ie don look like kena cut before [sweatdrop]

2nd Gear

ok, to be fair and funny

i did heard from some guys that they can pressurise water so much that it can cut steel [shocked]

they say the water cutting steel method is preferred over welding methods because of the "clean" cuts, ie don look like kena cut before [sweatdrop]

yea yea i did heard of that before. but the pressure of the spray is prolly a thousand times stronger than the one they use to wash cars.. [laugh][laugh]

oh btw.. tt pressure jet can skin u also.

Sorry ah, i am not good with words.. Not water will scratch the car, but only using water to wash car. Water don't have proper lubrication, so not as safe as shampoo..Of course wash medium, technique all comes into play...

Hose it down with water first then wash with water..This is safer...

maybe should go back to weekly wash ?

feather duster is quite effective also for dust and sand, see drivers in China using it to remove dust.

2nd Gear

normally for a mth after waxing i just shower with water den wip it down. its effective enough.

after the 2nd week some quick detailer to finish up.

I am bad with my english so hope can explain my thoughts across.. Actually depending on the car enviroment and skill level and expectation of the person washing the car.

My experience with feather duster is it can remove most of the dust much faster but it has a much higher risk of scratching the car than mf cloth and it will not clear the dust as detail as a mf cloth. Mf cloth(depending on quality) is not super safe either depending on how dirty the car as well as the pressure use.

Running water over the car after polish will remove most dust but will not decrease the static significantly. Anti-static QD does work but imo reduce dust ard 50% only and requires weekly application. Depending on how badly the car is dust, after hosing, you can sometimes see the dust remain after water sheet away. Look at your drying cloth after drying and if there is no dirt or acceptable dirt then hosing and wipe works for you.

Since you already bought jeff, i would rather save $ and continue to use it as it has good reviews. Alternative method is to top with anti-static QD but my prefered method is to keep it simple and just do weekly wash with a car shampoo and good wash medium.

1st Gear

I saw an ahmad the other day dusting his boss' lexus, so that incident got me thinking abt a feather duster. If i were to use one, it would have to be a daily affair.

This is because after 3-4 days after wash, when viewed at 10cm from the car, you can see a layer of dust, with a layer of oil. When I say this is because the dust cannot be blown away and I believe feather duster also no use. At this point, I dare not use any MF cloth because I feel it would scratch. Without water for wash, I rather not do anything about it. (Whole car light grey [layer of dust] is easier on the eyes than part grey part white).

Since you already bought jeff, i would rather save $ and continue to use it as it has good reviews. Alternative method is to top with anti-static QD but my prefered method is to keep it simple and just do weekly wash with a car shampoo and good wash medium.

Generally I hv no qualms abt Jeff for the past year or so. Just that after (an extended?) two weeks, the dust/dirt is stuck so hard that a car wash @ petrol station cannot remove it. This is the ultimate for me. At this point, effort to AIO (using orbitor buffer) is a killer, back-breaking.

I dun want to give up detailing, not at the 19-month stage. Give me a routine I can live with. No need super shine, just water beading will do.

If it's just dust, then the rain will wash it away.. even if you use anti-static QD, you can only reduce the amount of dust by so much. if you say you can see oil, then the car is just dirty and it needs a wash.

At least your car isn't black or it'll be more obvious.

I would say either just live with it or start washing your car more often.

That said, I'd rather my car have stains than can "erased" with an AIO than it being covered with scratches (from improper washing) that would require an abrasive polish to correct.

Edited by Four4s