Sleepyman Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 (edited) LAST Thursday, my front door was smeared with black paint and the message 'O$Pay$', with the borrower's name and the loan shark's number, was scrawled on the staircase walls. The borrower who sold this flat I am currently occupying was, presumably, the person being sought after by the loan shark. My brother lodged a police report at the Hong Kah North neighbourhood police station. I also made some inquiries on the action to be taken to ensure the safety of my family. Besides taking some photos of the scene and telling me that the case was referred to the Criminal Investigation Department, the police officer could only advise me to report the case if it happened again. I felt helpless. Finally, I called the number scrawled on the wall purportedly belonging to the loan shark. I asked him if he was a loan shark, he replied yes, and asked if I wanted money, and how I obtained his number. I told him that I was not the person he was looking for and to stop the harassment. He advised me to paste a Housing Board document showing I was the real owner of the flat on my front door for a month. He promised that he 'would do his part'. The harassment stopped after that. I felt ashamed that as a law-abiding citizen, I had to seek help from a loan shark who had been harassing me. It also sickens me to know that there is no way I can stop the previous owner from using my address for any of his wrongdoings. If he continues to borrow, and defaults on his loans, then I would have to suffer the subsequent harassment from loan sharks. Something must be done to help victims like me. Ling Boon Kok this is so LOL... Edited April 29, 2009 by Sleepyman ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Haha! Can't help but laugh at how these loansharks operate. Seems like they are moving towards a "supporting documents" kind of a system nowadays. Good move! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MLS Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Loansharks have changed through the years! They are so reasonable! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imaginary 1st Gear April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Interesting. To think the SPF obtained the SQA. The loan sharks deserve the SQA better? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 loan sharks got heart. government where got heart one? note, i say "government", not "gahmen". probably like this in most countries. of course, here the gahmen more complacent cos they always get strong mandate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 QUESTION: if owner can just call the loanshark so easily and the loanshark can admit over the phone he is loanshark and he can loan $, why can't the police do the same and catch him since the loan shark is so easily contactable and so readily admit he's loanshark? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 aft all e negative reports loan shark, mayb its time for them to upgrade their image Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 GEMS realli work well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 how to catch when you can get tau peh kongs to register phonelines for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 because the cop is only interested in big fish and not ikan bilis. such ambush can only capture the loanshark lackey and most probably is a youngster/kid QUESTION: if owner can just call the loanshark so easily and the loanshark can admit over the phone he is loanshark and he can loan $, why can't the police do the same and catch him since the loan shark is so easily contactable and so readily admit he's loanshark? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 QUESTION: if owner can just call the loanshark so easily and the loanshark can admit over the phone he is loanshark and he can loan $, why can't the police do the same and catch him since the loan shark is so easily contactable and so readily admit he's loanshark? Cos they know what they catch will be the small fry or worse one of the borrowers who still owe loan shark money and have to become their runner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 err, like the one in Fann Wong and Mark Lee movie ? aft all e negative reports loan shark, mayb its time for them to upgrade their image Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 guess, nowadays loansharks are also trying to change their image..... new generation of loansharks are more high tech and more knowledgeable now.... maybe now they need to have a degree in psychology to qualify to become to a loanshark... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 yeah this is the most sickening part. . the loan shark should counter check the address and follow the person home before granting the loans. but, what the loanshark wants is to give him loan asap and suck him dry. I can't stop the previous owner from using my address for any of his wrongdoings. If he continues to borrow, and defaults on his loans, then I would have to suffer the subsequent harassment from loan sharks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 bro, seriously wats new....its disgusting but wat can we do... but glad tat ur ordeal is over... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 (edited) no matter how high tech, high knowledgeable, high IQ, etc. there is one and only loan shark modus operandi that works for thousands of years 1. ask you sign IOU $1K and give you $800 only 2. when you cannot repay in full or service the interest, they will psycho you to take $5K loan to settle the previous one and have more money on hand (everyone happy) 3. then the $5K loan interest rise day-by-day until the weekly interest is like $500 4. then before you know it, you already owe the loan shark $20K and keep growing 5. at stage 5 -> you are at the mercy of the loanshark. you either run road or become their runner and still cannot settle your loan. guess, nowadays loansharks are also trying to change their image..... new generation of loansharks are more high tech and more knowledgeable now.... maybe now they need to have a degree in psychology to qualify to become to a loanshark... Edited April 30, 2009 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 GEMS realli work well. Ah long also attend SPUR courses one hor.. dun play play.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 frankly cant blame the loan sharks sometimes.. ppl take their money liao run... but really glab your ordeal is over... take care ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...