Haiz...retrenchment letter? :(

Westender

On 2/14/2025 at 12:24 PM, Throttle2 said:

Normal workers?
All die cock stand or die pussy wham

Good Luck Good Luck.

Normal worker with family? Not necessarily . Maybe wife working so double income power. Maybe wife is high flyer? Even more best [laugh] Can retire

Edited by Sosaria

On 2/14/2025 at 6:50 PM, Sosaria said:

Normal worker with family? Not necessarily . Maybe wife working so double income power. Maybe wife is high flyer? Even more best [laugh] Can retire

Not necessarily?  But chances are 🤣😁😂

maybe wife high flyer?  Heehee you think TCS script ah?   Ok even if wife is high flyer then he lagi stress 😅😅

If can retire,  shiok ah, song ah!!!

good luck good luck

On 2/14/2025 at 8:11 PM, Throttle2 said:

Not necessarily?  But chances are 🤣😁😂

maybe wife high flyer?  Heehee you think TCS script ah?   Ok even if wife is high flyer then he lagi stress 😅😅

If can retire,  shiok ah, song ah!!!

good luck good luck

Our generation, maybe not common, but younger than us, might be more common, with more women being highly educated and equally ambitious. Wife get overseas posting, and husband quit job to follow along to the overseas location, is a plausible scenario nowadays. Obviously a lucrative enough opportunity to make such drastic decision.

By the way, nobody talk about wife get retrenched, the default is usually husband. But in dual-income family, if the wife is retrenched, it can have an equally detrimental effect to the family's income.

Edited by Sosaria

On 2/14/2025 at 8:51 PM, Sosaria said:

Our generation, maybe not common, but younger than us, might be more common, with more women being highly educated and equally ambitious. Wife get overseas posting, and husband quit job to follow along to the overseas location, is a plausible scenario nowadays. Obviously a lucrative enough opportunity to make such drastic decision.

By the way, nobody talk about wife get retrenched, the default is usually husband. But in dual-income family, if the wife is retrenched, it can have an equally detrimental effect to the family's income.

Got leh,  i mentioned

“die cock stand, die pussy wham”  refer to man or wonan and husband or wife

heeeheee

On 2/14/2025 at 6:29 PM, Throttle2 said:

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/meta-layoffs-hit-singapore-as-tech-giant-cuts-global-workforce?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook

so strawberry…… retrenchment only, need this support group that support group.

KNN

Aiyoh.   Its just part and parcel of career.  
I was retrenched twice, shiok shiok take money.

Dont so weak lah.  KNS.   

oh maybe these guys over commit in their big ticket purchases???
In that case, next time, dont.   Heehee  in any case, welcome to the Brotherhood

You were lucky. Nowadays retrenchment 'benefits' are not a given (not mandated by law either). Companies can give all sorts of excuse to say bye bye without any payout.

Like you say, good luck. Don't depend on company giving you anything.

On 2/14/2025 at 10:33 PM, Benarsenal said:

You were lucky. Nowadays retrenchment 'benefits' are not a given (not mandated by law either). Companies can give all sorts of excuse to say bye bye without any payout.

Like you say, good luck. Don't depend on company giving you anything.

I wasnt lucky per se

Both times i was working for politically sensitive big multinationals that had to make sure that retrenchments are managed as such. 

Everybody knows that in SG retrenchment bemefits are not mandated by law and  therefore in favor of the company, so as to attract businesses

The type of companies  i work for are not able to run away from paying out retrenchment benefits even when not mandated by law.   Thats why i join them

muayhahhahhahhah. 

Edited by Throttle2

5th Gear
On 2/14/2025 at 10:38 PM, Throttle2 said:

I wasnt lucky per se

Both times i was working for politically sensitive big multinationals that had to make sure that retrenchments are managed as such. 

Everybody knows that in SG retrenchment bemefits are not mandated by law and  therefore in favor of the company, so as to attract businesses

The type of companies  i work for are not able to run away from paying out retrenchment benefits even when not mandated by law.   Thats why i join them

muayhahhahhahhah. 

U r smart n lucky... 9.9/10 company dun bother about whatever retrenchment benefits... further SG govt n union dun bother or cannot do much about this. SG whatever union is useless :D  

On 2/14/2025 at 11:54 AM, Spidey10 said:

I think 40 still can find job.....but once touch 48-50, very tough already....

40 find a job and stay until retire (provided Co wants you) ...dun jump here and there liao...

30-40 still can jump and hop...:grin:

Think depend on individual, some people still can and have no problem jump here jump there even in their 40s. Then if lucky some in their 50s still can change job.

So must see if you are those high flyers or the type of job you are looking for. Age not necessary would play a big part of cannot find job.

On 2/15/2025 at 12:27 AM, jcmm said:

U r smart n lucky... 9.9/10 company dun bother about whatever retrenchment benefits... further SG govt n union dun bother or cannot do much about this. SG whatever union is useless :D  

not all companies are the same, thats why we need to choose wisely when we have the upper hand.

Try MOM, contractually, parties just need to give notice period stated in contract 😕 Married a woman, give birth and raised a family, old liao discard and get a young wife. This is MOM. 😂 

Er,

On 2/17/2025 at 10:03 AM, Victor68 said:

Try MOM, contractually, parties just need to give notice period stated in contract 😕 Married a woman, give birth and raised a family, old liao discard and get a young wife. This is MOM. 😂 

on a more local context:-

nobody complain to MOM about it leh

thats why no need to do anything.  

world class reasoning.  

Wait for complaints first.

muayhahaha, if i had done that when i was still MD of $#$&—&==%#@@34&, maybe i wouldnt hv been retrenched. 

Edited by Throttle2

Last MNC company I worked for had retrenchment in mid 2000s. Proper packages, golden handshakes etc. I wasn't one of them but fast forward 20years later,under younger management, it's forcing workers to leave through PIP or discomfort in major job scope changes. They're learning from the big techs that push out the bottom % performers.

On 2/16/2025 at 7:23 PM, Throttle2 said:

So many US officials kena fired by Trump......heh heh.... 

Elon Musk really shiok

I wonder if Musk got KPIs or not....his KPIs would be looking good..more he fire, more he get...:grin:

On 2/17/2025 at 10:43 AM, Zizou said:

Last MNC company I worked for had retrenchment in mid 2000s. Proper packages, golden handshakes etc. I wasn't one of them but fast forward 20years later,under younger management, it's forcing workers to leave through PIP or discomfort in major job scope changes. They're learning from the big techs that push out the bottom % performers.

Therefore the work environment around this has become more toxic today then decades ago.  

So I always advise people to be ready, whether or not it is their fault

On 2/17/2025 at 10:53 AM, Spidey10 said:

I wonder if Musk got KPIs or not....his KPIs would be looking good..more he fire, more he get...:grin:

confirm the more (fired) the merrier 

On 2/17/2025 at 11:00 AM, Throttle2 said:

Therefore the work environment around this has become more toxic today then decades ago.  

So I always advise people to be ready, whether or not it is their fault

a lot of pple minght not be ready now vs decades ago...last time, i could just walk away from my job and I could still survive (go back and help my dad/mom) with a small income...but now, majority can't walk away...all have huge commitments....i wonder if now face a financial crisis like we had during the Lehman bros meltdown, how many pple will be able to stand up again and brush the dust and walk away....

If there is a meltdown now...i think the pain will be 2 or 3x of the pain that was felt during the Lehman Bros massacre...:=B:

On 2/17/2025 at 11:27 AM, Spidey10 said:

If there is a meltdown now...i think the pain will be 2 or 3x of the pain that was felt during the Lehman Bros massacre...:=B:

commitments had grown 2 to 3x for the past 10 years

car ... condo ... lifestyle ... now i see tiktok/youtube ... as young as 25 or 30 years old ... no business class no talk flying

eat good ... drink good ... 1 travel burn how much savings huh?

money easy come easy go ... savings is not like our time or our parent time ... at least save 30%-40% and above