bsswan 6th Gear March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 2:17 AM, Quotz said: Agree with you bro Benarsenal. I wonder how many of us are able to hit all 3... And what jobs are they doing. - Bro Quotz Expand I have all three....... but it took me 20yrs to add #3, and COVID helped a lot to retune people's ideas for life so when we chase more balance, others kinda will just shrug and eiterh be in the same position, or hope they were. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/29/2024 at 4:27 PM, Benarsenal said: The ideal situation is this: 1) Work a job you enjoy, so you don't feel so stressed 2) Hopefully the remuneration is decent. Enough to sustain an good standard of living 3) But also have enough time for you to 'disconnect' outside of work and do other things. Not on call 24/7. Of course, the world is not perfect, so very rarely you will manage to hit all 3 in the right balance. So it really is what you wanna give up more. Most people will sacrifice (1). Some people can accept less of (2) or (3). There's no real right or wrong. It depends on what suits you and your lifestyle and what you're okay with. Expand Isn’t that what work from home offers ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 12:09 AM, Victor68 said: I am well over your set point of 55 😆. Yes, it is not for love and $ is the key motivation. Of course I do enjoy my work because it was what I have been doing for the past 45 years. Would I retired, yes when I don't find the meaning of continuing or I am no more contributing. Meanwhile, it is a well balanced job where I still kept here in MCF. 😆 Expand Sounds like you have a lifestyle job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 4:37 AM, Sdf4786k said: Isn’t that what work from home offers ? Expand Not necessarily. Work from home sometimes they expect you to be always available. Depends on company culture/bosses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 (edited) On 3/1/2024 at 5:29 AM, Ct3833 said: Sounds like you have a lifestyle job Expand Sounds like he Shiok Shiok Edited March 1, 2024 by Throttle2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 6:02 AM, Benarsenal said: Not necessarily. Work from home sometimes they expect you to be always available. Depends on company culture/bosses. Expand also the work hours and support. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 looks like another minor intake for Grab drivers SINGAPORE: PropertyGuru Group has laid off 79 employees, constituting around 5% of its workforce. The decision stems from what CEO Hari V. Krishnan termed a “strategic review” and the ongoing organizational restructuring efforts within the company. Affected employees are set to receive a one-month severance for each year of service, capped at twelve months or following the country’s statutory severance pay, whichever is higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 6:33 AM, Sdf4786k said: looks like another minor intake for Grab drivers SINGAPORE: PropertyGuru Group has laid off 79 employees, constituting around 5% of its workforce. The decision stems from what CEO Hari V. Krishnan termed a “strategic review” and the ongoing organizational restructuring efforts within the company. Affected employees are set to receive a one-month severance for each year of service, capped at twelve months or following the country’s statutory severance pay, whichever is higher. Expand Swee…. not bad , one month for one yr, up to 12 mths. Song Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quotz 1st Gear March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 8:25 AM, Throttle2 said: Swee…. not bad , one month for one yr, up to 12 mths. Song Expand Not saying it's a good thing but at least there is a cushion to tahan during this period... - Bro Quotz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 8:38 AM, Quotz said: Not saying it's a good thing but at least there is a cushion to tahan during this period... - Bro Quotz Expand It’s about how to bounce back, and given a choice the 50% of your last salary for those retrenched can help go along way to re integrate with the work force for the new skills future funds. Further more it’s up to 2 years for some course. if company facing hard time can arrange for a hire back scheme for those that is been displace, this will be a good way to off load some cost and plans for a reserved once the employee has gotten the new skills. What’s not to Iike Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 6:02 AM, Benarsenal said: Not necessarily. Work from home sometimes they expect you to be always available. Depends on company culture/bosses. Expand WFH is always expected to be available at home. Abothen? WFH can take vacation meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 10:35 AM, Throttle2 said: WFH is always expected to be available at home. Abothen? WFH can take vacation meh? Expand That's why WFH not always a good thing, if the company does not respect boundaries. At least regular 9-6 office job you can argue that once you step out of office cannot touch work any more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 11:51 AM, Benarsenal said: That's why WFH not always a good thing, if the company does not respect boundaries. At least regular 9-6 office job you can argue that once you step out of office cannot touch work any more. Expand Dont goondu lah. its the same as if employee were to be in office. If puour job is deskbound and need aways to be by system to work then make sure thats the case. if you pangsai 20mins, or have lunch during lunchtime nobody gonna shoot you lah. common sense please Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 6:02 AM, Benarsenal said: Not necessarily. Work from home sometimes they expect you to be always available. Depends on company culture/bosses. Expand Think all depends on company culture and bosses whether WFH or WFO. Some bosses also expect you to be always available even 100% work in office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged March 2, 2024 Share March 2, 2024 On 3/1/2024 at 5:29 AM, Ct3833 said: Sounds like you have a lifestyle job Expand No, it is a tough job dealing with humans. However, if you have been doing this for over 45 years, basically you have handled most types. Of course, even if you have handled them, you still will face difficulties because you simply cannot change the leopard spots 😂. It is very interesting and you will be amazed sometimes they don't even understand themselves. 😆 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 2, 2024 Share March 2, 2024 (edited) On 3/1/2024 at 10:35 AM, Throttle2 said: WFH is always expected to be available at home. Abothen? WFH can take vacation meh? Expand Not really. Even when in the office, you go to someone's cubicle and they are not there, never mind, send msg wait later then come by again. Not available all the time too. But nowadays WFH seemingly people will suka suka make Teams or Zoom call at any time. At least drop a msg first ask if free to take a call. But true somehow the culture has changed. Before COVID we can accept someone can't be parked at his desk all the time but now with WFH it's like people expect you to be available on the dot at your table at home Edited March 2, 2024 by Sosaria 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 2, 2024 Share March 2, 2024 Work in private company, we are only enriching the owner and major shareholders with our efforts. Then when you're no longer making good value for them, you might get retrenched. It's a waste of life toiling just to make a small group of people rich Thats why working for civil or public service is ideal. At least your efforts are in service of the nation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic March 2, 2024 Share March 2, 2024 On 3/2/2024 at 11:28 AM, Sosaria said: Work in private company, we are only enriching the owner and major shareholders with our efforts. Then when you're no longer making good value for them, you might get retrenched. It's a waste of life toiling just to make a small group of people rich Thats why working for civil or public service is ideal. At least your efforts are in service of the nation. Expand Civil service bestest.... market pay yet never get retrenched. Equal rewards without equal risks. And it is quite blotted, multiple level of mid Mgt. Except front line customer facing staff. I will encourage my kid to join next time! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...