Haiz...retrenchment letter? :(

Westender

On 2/29/2024 at 4:45 AM, 13177 said:

Actually pass 55 still consider young le, if don't work, then need to have a very good plans what to do. If not, not very good for overall health and mental health in the long run doing nothing much at home for the next 20 years, if you are able to live until 70s.

Expand  

Plenty to do lah.   Got money, you scared nothing to do? 😁

On 2/29/2024 at 4:41 AM, Karoon said:

Not for me.

I realise since I started, the corporate job is now much more intense. Of course as the role gets bigger you will be busier, more involved etc. But looking back, the people whose roles I now fill used to spend lots of time golfing, long lunches, Friday afternoons disappear... today, same role, but it really feels like not enough hours in a day. So much for automation/ AI etc.

Expand  

So you are saying you are working too little? Or what?  

On 2/29/2024 at 3:08 AM, Throttle2 said:

Anyone here still want to work pass age 55 , given a choice not to? Hehhe ehhehhe

Expand  

I 56 already this yr...still working leh, albeit at a lot slower pace....:yeah-im-not-drunk:....if given a choice, will work, but really simple stuff and wait for payday....And my plan is every Qtr go jolly someplace....and if possible take wife go long oversea trip 2x a year...that's my plan. 

Planning Oct to London to catch up with some frens and then to the Highlands....so this year trip set liao...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

next 6 mths is work and save up on the leave....

On 2/28/2024 at 5:43 AM, Throttle2 said:

Unfortunately, that is true 50 yrs ago, and 50 yrs later.    

Expand  

seems like 40 already game over liao..

“60 is the new 40” — Sylvia Lim on the important role of older workers (msn.com)

SINGAPORE: In Parliament on Tuesday (Feb 27), Workers’ Party MP Sylvia Lim (Aljunied GRC) underlined how important older workers are to Singapore, saying “60 is the new 40.”

She expressed concerns over age discrimination in the workplace, telling the story of one man in his 70s with many years of experience in the healthcare industry who “found it near impossible to land an interview, let alone secure a job.”

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 2/29/2024 at 5:56 AM, Spidey10 said:

I 56 already this yr...still working leh, albeit at a lot slower pace....:yeah-im-not-drunk:....if given a choice, will work, but really simple stuff and wait for payday....And my plan is every Qtr go jolly someplace....and if possible take wife go long oversea trip 2x a year...that's my plan. 

Planning Oct to London to catch up with some frens and then to the Highlands....so this year trip set liao...:yeah-im-not-drunk:

next 6 mths is work and save up on the leave....

Expand  

I use 55 as the benchmark simply becos thats when CPF is released for Singaporeans.

of course people work for various reasons, most of them money. 

the real question i would want people to answer is this.  If you had all the money or your work paid you none, how many people would still use the excuse of having nothing to do ? 

The honest truth is all the people i personally know who say that they want to continue becos they have nothing to do are continuing becos of the money. 

On 2/29/2024 at 4:41 AM, Karoon said:

Not for me.

I realise since I started, the corporate job is now much more intense. Of course as the role gets bigger you will be busier, more involved etc. But looking back, the people whose roles I now fill used to spend lots of time golfing, long lunches, Friday afternoons disappear... today, same role, but it really feels like not enough hours in a day. So much for automation/ AI etc.

Expand  

Ok i think i understand now.  I was reading too fast earlier. 

so you will stop at 55 if you can

On 2/29/2024 at 6:29 AM, Throttle2 said:

I use 55 as the benchmark simply becos thats when CPF is released for Singaporeans.

of course people work for various reasons, most of them money. 

the real question i would want people to answer is this.  If you had all the money or your work paid you none, how many people would still use the excuse of having nothing to do ? 

The honest truth is all the people i personally know who say that they want to continue becos they have nothing to do are continuing becos of the money. 

Expand  

Who would find money is enough. Even rich people who can even retire before 55 also continue to work until 60s or some even early 70s. Esp if the person is earning high salary. If every month can see 5 figure of money coming into bank, who want to stop working esp if health is still good. Not that they work is becos of no money to retire.

On 2/29/2024 at 6:41 AM, 13177 said:

Who would find money is enough. Even rich people who can even retire before 55 also continue to work until 60s or some even early 70s. Esp if the person is earning high salary. If every month can see 5 figure of money coming into bank, who want to stop working esp if health is still good. Not that they work is becos of no money to retire.

Expand  

And therefore my question.  

So its all about the money then?  
then when is enough enough?

I hope that i will stop at 55 and not be held back by the amount of money i make, not becos i hv no money to retire well.    

dont mind me saying, but is it becos you dont make a good 5 fig salary?  Or you make a good 5 fig salary by doing easy low stress low risk work?

On 2/29/2024 at 6:26 AM, Sdf4786k said:

seems like 40 already game over liao..

“60 is the new 40” — Sylvia Lim on the important role of older workers (msn.com)

SINGAPORE: In Parliament on Tuesday (Feb 27), Workers’ Party MP Sylvia Lim (Aljunied GRC) underlined how important older workers are to Singapore, saying “60 is the new 40.”

She expressed concerns over age discrimination in the workplace, telling the story of one man in his 70s with many years of experience in the healthcare industry who “found it near impossible to land an interview, let alone secure a job.”

Expand  

This time round i think she overdid the age lah.  50 is the new 40, that i can agree

and to be honest, 70s already, better go enjoy life if one can lah

Edited by Throttle2

On 2/29/2024 at 6:46 AM, Throttle2 said:

I hope that i will stop at 55 and not be held back by the amount of money i make, not becos i hv no money to retire well.    

dont mind me saying, but is it becos you dont make a good 5 fig salary?  Or you make a good 5 fig salary by doing easy low stress low risk work?

Expand  

True that many people are held back by the amount of money they make, not becos they have no money to retire well.  Some maybe also cannot let go and enjoy the authority and responsibility they have at work esp if they are in some high management. These people probably will work until their health cannot take it, or at least until mid to late 60s than retire.

How to make a good 5 fig salary and yet doing easy low stress low risk work le? I see the bosses in my company work until so stress and their life like sell to their work liao.

On 2/29/2024 at 6:46 AM, Throttle2 said:

Expand  

up to individual

look at Warren Buffet, 93, world's top 5 richest men and still working 😁

On 2/29/2024 at 6:58 AM, 13177 said:

True that many people are held back by the amount of money they make, not becos they have no money to retire well.  Some maybe also cannot let go and enjoy the authority and responsibility they have at work esp if they are in some high management. These people probably will work until their health cannot take it, or at least until mid to late 60s than retire.

How to make a good 5 fig salary and yet doing easy low stress low risk work le? I see the bosses in my company work until so stress and their life like sell to their work liao.

Expand  

correct, i wanted to hear that from you.

how to make a good 5 fig and yet doing easy low sress low risk work leh?  The answer is cannot.

you already said your bosses sell their lives to work.  Even if you are running your own business, you will want to pass the baton.  

Cannot let go is real but I dont envy these guys.

When the time comes for me ,  i hope i can be one of the very few who can retrench my company . 😎

On 2/29/2024 at 7:01 AM, Scion said:

up to individual

Expand  

Actually I believe everyone would want to work beyond the retirement age as long as the work load is suitable at the age group.

Getting good money at 70 without doing any hard work, why not?

Getting good money just by waiting for the time to come, why not?

The issue come when....

Getting little money yet you have to work like a cow... carry heavy thing or sweat over heavy cleaning.

The ideal case is when EVERYONE is given a choice to carry on beyond the retirement age but this is hardly an ideal world...

On 2/29/2024 at 7:01 AM, Scion said:

up to individual

Expand  

As always in my discussions, i am not interested with outliers, be it warren buffett or mahathir, LKY etc….

if we want to discuss about outliers, then no point.  

lets discuss in the context which is closer to ourselves , our lives, our situation. 

On 2/29/2024 at 7:20 AM, L23 said:

Actually I believe everyone would want to work beyond the retirement age as long as the work load is suitable at the age group.

The issue come when....

Getting little money yet you have to work like a cow... carry heavy thing or sweat over heavy cleaning.

The ideal case is when EVERYONE is given a choice to carry on beyond the retirement age but this is hardly an ideal world...

Expand  

Dont keh zua lah, ok?

why not you say you believe everyone also wants to be born beautiful or handsome, have a great childhood, be rich, travel the world, do wonderful things for humanity….

muayhahahaha

Making 4 to 5x of median income here .. is equal to buying 4-5 years of life span.. 

means average earner spends 4-5 years to make the same amount.. 

as long as health is not affected. And this unique skill set may not be replicated easily. Why not continue ? 

On 2/29/2024 at 7:20 AM, L23 said:

The issue come when....

Expand  

Those labour intensive job not really good to work beyond the retirement age or cannot work beyond the retirement age as it is very taxing on your body and health. Only those office work or those who are working in high management position can work beyond the retirement age if they want. I guess these people would not find it stressful at all since they have already in such high post for donkey years, to them maybe it is good to work out their brain to prevent dementia.