Haiz...retrenchment letter? :(

Westender

On 4/16/2025 at 9:20 PM, Throttle2 said:

Yes basically correct. But there will be a very very small percentage , probably less than 1% who are rich and still live in hdb.  
such as some older folks who had well and continued to live in hdb.  

Who is truly rich and living in HDB?  Just use MCF as a sample.  

Also , Income ceiling is upon purchase of hdb. Doesnt mean that you cant get rich thereafter. But usually if you get truly rich thereafter you wont stay hdb anymore. 

anyway, off topic liao.

this is retrenchment, lay off thread. Lets stick to topic

Hard to say. There are rich people who don't like fancy and ostentatious things to show off, and prefer to live humble life.

But yes, off topic liao. Let's move on.

On 4/16/2025 at 9:49 PM, Benarsenal said:

Hard to say. There are rich people who don't like fancy and ostentatious things to show off, and prefer to live humble life.

But yes, off topic liao. Let's move on.

Yeah I didnt say there wasnt.  but they are outliers as mentioned minutes ago

Like @Ginyu and me , very humble life.   but we still dont live in HDB.   yes lets stay on topic. 

On 4/17/2025 at 6:17 PM, Ghgan said:

IMG-1004.thumb.jpg.f8f32f1fd67a94006344541a2c5fb3e5.jpg

Very bad reporting .

it says six outlets left

Then it says its saying goodbye

which is which?

anyway RSH doesnt hv many employees in SG lah. Maybe 100 max?

good luck to them

Edited by Throttle2

On 4/17/2025 at 6:36 PM, Throttle2 said:

Very bad reporting .

it says six outlets left

Then it says its saying goodbye

which is which?

anyway RSH doesnt hv many employees in SG lah. Maybe 100 max?

good luck to them

The rest will shutdown progressively by end of next year

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/singapore/royal-sporting-house-blowing-final-whistle-singapore-after-50-years

On 4/17/2025 at 7:37 PM, Throttle2 said:

Retail business is very tough in this era of online shopping

retail pricing so much more expensive, for budget people like me will always buy online. Things like under Armour t-shirt only cost me less than $20 online and the same thing will easily cost $40 at store. My Adidas running shoes all purchased online at only $30-$40 only. 

On 4/17/2025 at 7:41 PM, Dafansu said:

retail pricing so much more expensive, for budget people like me will always buy online. Things like under Armour t-shirt only cost me less than $20 online and the same thing will easily cost $40 at store. My Adidas running shoes all purchased online at only $30-$40 only. 

Expecting more SME retail businesses to close down in the years to come

On 4/17/2025 at 7:43 PM, Throttle2 said:

Expecting more SME retail businesses to close down in the years to come

starting next year when the RTS start operating to JB many will close down. 

On 4/17/2025 at 7:41 PM, Dafansu said:

I cannot get my head into buying shoes without trying them first.

Okay, so I get quick-dry sport t-shirts from China for like $4, delivered, but I want to try shoes first.

On 4/17/2025 at 11:28 PM, 13177 said:

Everytime when i walked past one RSH, inside no see many customers or even no customers, no wonder will close down.

Ironically it's because people are rich or think they are rich. You see running groups nowadays, all outfitted with brand name gear and trends. These people will not be buying shoes from RSH, but from more specialty stores like running lab, for example. RSH seems more like something from yesteryears auntie-uncle shop for shoes, back in the day when running had yet to become as trendy as today.

On 4/17/2025 at 11:36 PM, bsswan said:

I cannot get my head into buying shoes without trying them first.

Okay, so I get quick-dry sport t-shirts from China for like $4, delivered, but I want to try shoes first.

I have been buying running shoes online for more than 10 years.

Hit or miss by half a size

On 4/18/2025 at 12:01 AM, Sosaria said:

Ironically it's because people are rich or think they are rich. You see running groups nowadays, all outfitted with brand name gear and trends. These people will not be buying shoes from RSH, but from more specialty stores like running lab, for example. RSH seems more like something from yesteryears auntie-uncle shop for shoes, back in the day when running had yet to become as trendy as today.

These running groups are sponsored by these brand name.

Running Lab has been in business for more than 15 years.

Running Lab is the pioneer in organising weekly run

Edited by inlinesix

On 4/18/2025 at 12:01 AM, Sosaria said:

Years ago we were looking for a set of swimming flipper for my son. Instead of shopping at those big sport house, we went straight to TYR distributor.

On 4/18/2025 at 7:19 AM, inlinesix said:

I have been buying running shoes online for more than 10 years.

Hit or miss by half a size

Go for those online shops which allow return within 7 days. I bought a few shoes n return once with no problem. 

On 4/18/2025 at 9:55 AM, jcmm said:

Go for those online shops which allow return within 7 days. I bought a few shoes n return once with no problem. 

Which shops?

On 4/18/2025 at 9:57 AM, inlinesix said:

Which shops?

google, yahoo, bing will help u. to feed u more, adidas.com.sg :D adidas if not wrong 30 days return. 

Edited by jcmm