Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 wah this Shopback office quite unique... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 (edited) On 3/20/2024 at 11:56 AM, Alfc said: Who to blame? Every time I see blame society, blame social media, blame govt, blame economy, blame environment etc. But I never see anyone blame themselves as parents for their wonderful upbringing mindset: excessive feeding of headstarts, resources lavished on the children, breeding that sense of entitlement and a lifetime of handicap. Everything else fault but never my fault. You are right.....it all boils down to the parents. The Nvidia CEO recently said this to a group of Stanford students : "I hope suffering happens to you." (https://www.cnbc.com/2024/03/15/nvidia-ceo-huang-at-stanford-pain-and-suffering-breeds-success.html) To achieve greatness, one needs character and "character isn’t formed out of smart people, it’s formed out of people who suffered," he said Our kids never had a day of pain because at home they have doting parents who provide everything and at school they have teachers who wouldn't dare to even lift a finger. Their first real pain is when they faced a society that expects them to work at least 44hours/week and so they immediately crumble at that reality. Be prepared for more FTs taking over the in-demand jobs like Generative AI and tech consulting work Edited March 20, 2024 by Starry 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 last time when we worked, it was 5.5 days lor... even NS was booked on Sat noon some of our parents even worked 6 day week nowadays, the si ginna dun have 2 day WFH also dun want to take up the job 😁 2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 Quote Retrenched Twice In 5 Years: Normalising Getting Laid Off In CVs (thesmartlocal.com) https://thesmartlocal.com/read/retrenchment-singapore/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 12:47 PM, Scion said: last time when we worked, it was 5.5 days lor... even NS was booked on Sat noon some of our parents even worked 6 day week nowadays, the si ginna dun have 2 day WFH also dun want to take up the job 😁 Can your kids work 5.5 days?🤭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 (edited) There are many other ways to make money and earn a living. Spend time to explore other alternatives and exit from involution (内卷). The tradition recipe which worked well in our parents' era is not going to work any more. Edited March 20, 2024 by Albeniz 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 I dunno why you people think the old days of suffering and hardship is better. It's like last time parents beat and abuse their kids and nobody bats an eye, but that will not fly today. Times are different now. If there's a more effective way to be productive without over-exerting yourself, why should we not embrace it? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 (edited) https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commentary/quit-tok-trend-young-workers-quit-resign-lay-online-video-4205431 Last time "quiet-quitting". Now "loud-quitting" 😄 Edited March 20, 2024 by Starry 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 2:22 PM, Benarsenal said: I dunno why you people think the old days of suffering and hardship is better. It's like last time parents beat and abuse their kids and nobody bats an eye, but that will not fly today. Times are different now. If there's a more effective way to be productive without over-exerting yourself, why should we not embrace it? Yes i will embrace WFH arrangement and 4 days work week. 😂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 With more adoption of Jensen Huang's super Blackwell chips and all...yes, more jobs to be created but a hell lot more to be lost as collaterals...😂 He's holding back and sell in parts instead of a complete solution to monopolise becos of kawang kawang with many partners and competitors...likely it may cum a day when he's no longer at the helm or someone takes over his coy...no more competitors...just sole monopoly...sekali that someone can even run the coy from the oval office...😅 How to buy his coy shares huh? 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 12:26 PM, Starry said: You are right.....it all boils down to the parents. The Nvidia CEO recently said this to a group of Stanford students : "I hope suffering happens to you." (https://www.cnbc.com/2024/03/15/nvidia-ceo-huang-at-stanford-pain-and-suffering-breeds-success.html) To achieve greatness, one needs character and "character isn’t formed out of smart people, it’s formed out of people who suffered," he said Our kids never had a day of pain because at home they have doting parents who provide everything and at school they have teachers who wouldn't dare to even lift a finger. Their first real pain is when they faced a society that expects them to work at least 44hours/week and so they immediately crumble at that reality. Be prepared for more FTs taking over the in-demand jobs like Generative AI and tech consulting work This quote is gold. “Greatness is not intelligence. Greatness comes from character. And character isn’t formed out of smart people, it’s formed out of people who suffered,” 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 20, 2024 Share March 20, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 4:36 PM, mersaylee said: With more adoption of Jensen Huang's super Blackwell chips and all...yes, more jobs to be created but a hell lot more to be lost as collaterals...😂 He's holding back and sell in parts instead of a complete solution to monopolise becos of kawang kawang with many partners and competitors...likely it may cum a day when he's no longer at the helm or someone takes over his coy...no more competitors...just sole monopoly...sekali that someone can even run the coy from the oval office...😅 How to buy his coy shares huh? 😁 You think Nvidia got no competitors? All other chip companies are working towards getting a share ….. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 21, 2024 Share March 21, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 1:41 PM, Albeniz said: There are many other ways to make money and earn a living. Spend time to explore other alternatives and exit from involution (内卷). The tradition recipe which worked well in our parents' era is not going to work any more. Being a phone scammer sounds like a way out 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 21, 2024 Share March 21, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 10:15 AM, Throttle2 said: Next week, i have a meeting with my Manager, perhaps the time has come. I will then return to assume role of Chairman of the Brotherhood. hope more people get retrenched and join the Brotherhood. Huat! Table wiper also can get retrenched? Dayum.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged March 21, 2024 Share March 21, 2024 On 3/20/2024 at 11:49 AM, Stratovarius said: I remember last time got someone say filter by colour. 😅 I think a more pressing filter to include is "classic scheme". These are extremely irritating when I am browsing SGCM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 21, 2024 Share March 21, 2024 On 3/21/2024 at 9:22 AM, Beehive3783 said: Table wiper also can get retrenched? Dayum.... Yes anyone also can…. Except you know who 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 23, 2024 Share March 23, 2024 Wipe wipe wipe lets see if i get retrenched next week and i can go back to being Chairman by the way , very very rare Rolex YM with Red Rubies on MOP fullset going at firesale price $53,888 !!!! Lelong ah!!! 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 23, 2024 Share March 23, 2024 (edited) On 3/19/2024 at 11:55 AM, Ahwhye said: I read the article... this chap takes public transport at 730am, assume reach office 8am, knock off at 5pm, reach home eat dinner 630pm... WTF! still kpkb??? this is not strawberry already, but strawberry jam liao.... Can still see the sunset while eating dinner, is consider work-life balance oredi But go home early like that can mean some work continue later in the evening, or weekend at home. Edited March 23, 2024 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...