Haiz...retrenchment letter? :(

Westender

On 2/28/2024 at 1:52 PM, Throttle2 said:

Ooooohhhhh….

just read 2 other Companies on the firing as well...property guru and one other....can't remember the name...

so last 2 days, 3 Co join the ranks of firing...

Edited by Spidey10

On 2/28/2024 at 2:26 PM, Spidey10 said:

just read 2 other Companies on the firing as well...property guru and one other....can't remember the name...

Property guru also retrenchment? 😅

On 2/28/2024 at 2:26 PM, Spidey10 said:

Expedia and SONY

On 2/28/2024 at 10:58 AM, t0y0ta said:

I don't drink sugared drinks nowadays... but in the last 2 decades seems like whenever buy outside drink - either it come in glass bottle (beer, wine, poison) or alu cans (coke, green tea, carbonated), cups (Kopi, teh, milo) or plastic bottles (water, large sugar drinks)

I think the only time I see tetra-pak stuff is during CNY when parents buy the mega 24 pack cartoons of Pokka/F&N to serve relatives

As I mentioned mostly DAIRY products (Pasteurized usually) 

On 2/28/2024 at 12:10 PM, Victor68 said:

What I am trying to say is, while we have been rewarded working for a company and the company grows. For many (older generations), that is our life and we gave everything without considering other options and personal growth potential. Like parent to the child.

Companies with share options and retirement benefits is a way to go. What I am witnessing today is, all about self. Maybe this is what we will see in future. 

Bro..times changed.....every era has different pro and cons for the companies and employees.....so really no point looking back.

More important is to look forward,, adjust our expectations and go with the flow. Certain things will continue to be important though, like networking, creating business value and life-long learning to keep one's relevancy. 

Happiness is just a function of expectations. What has past, let it go, so that we can minimize expectations on ourselves and from others.  Will be happier that way. :a-happy:

Edited by Starry

On 2/28/2024 at 2:43 PM, RadX said:

Expedia and SONY

Does these Companies see soemthing that the rest of the other dun/yet to see.....hmmhhmm....economy headwinds coming leh.

My Co also did a small firing in Dec 23.....some pple were made redundant then (only a small portion of a Dept)....and today the boss say he is going..

something is not right.....think they sense something heading this way and quicky adjust to mitigate the storm??? 

On 2/28/2024 at 4:52 PM, Spidey10 said:

Does these Companies see soemthing that the rest of the other dun/yet to see.....hmmhhmm....economy headwinds coming leh.

My Co also did a small firing in Dec 23.....some pple were made redundant then (only a small portion of a Dept)....and today the boss say he is going..

something is not right.....think they sense something heading this way and quicky adjust to mitigate the storm??? 

Some sense of fear now and pessimism

lets see

On 2/28/2024 at 4:39 PM, Starry said:

Bro..times changed.....every era has different pro and cons for the companies and employees.....so really no point looking back.

More important is to look forward,, adjust our expectations and go with the flow. Certain things will continue to be important though, like networking, creating business value and life-long learning to keep one's relevancy. 

Happiness is just a function of expectations. What has past, let it go, so that we can minimize expectations on ourselves and from others.  Will be happier that way. :a-happy:

I have been the cow but realised the pet bird seem to enjoy a better life. Then I realised actually we are all tissue paper, useful when needed, once used to throw away 😆

恭喜发财 becums 恭喜被裁 😅

boss besar is in a project that can jeopardise a few roles...doesn't include me in the project but my direct supervisor roped me in...i won't give my valuable input for something that can potentially send myself out the exit door...unless there's a big windfall...😂

On 2/29/2024 at 11:08 AM, Throttle2 said:

Anyone here still want to work pass age 55 , given a choice not to? Hehhe ehhehhe

Not for me.

I realise since I started, the corporate job is now much more intense. Of course as the role gets bigger you will be busier, more involved etc. But looking back, the people whose roles I now fill used to spend lots of time golfing, long lunches, Friday afternoons disappear... today, same role, but it really feels like not enough hours in a day. So much for automation/ AI etc.

On 2/29/2024 at 11:08 AM, Throttle2 said:

Anyone here still want to work pass age 55 , given a choice not to? Hehhe ehhehhe

Actually pass 55 still consider young le, if don't work, then need to have a very good plans what to do. If not, not very good for overall health and mental health in the long run doing nothing much at home for the next 20 years, if you are able to live until 70s.