C-K 2nd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 On 2/27/2012 at 8:47 AM, Huat138 said: My ride is more than 3 yrs old, high mileage, clocking almost 140k km as of now. service by AD from day 1. Till now, no sign of shocks failure even though i have reminded AD to check on every servicing. I find it strange that people have started to change shocks at 50k, 60k mileage. Me too. I hardly have problems with the shock absorbers. The set in my AE101 lasted me 10 years till the car was scraped. Anyway, I always slowdown over speed humps and pot holes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Just changed new shocks today. Tye Soon only have the front In stock and i get them installed At one of the WS in ubi. The mech Told me that the top mount rubber Stopper has kaput and they need to Indent. In the end, i get the shocks In using back the old stopper. Any Serious prob which i might be expecting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah-Jie Neutral Newbie February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 (edited) On 2/28/2012 at 3:29 PM, Godfinger said: Just changed new shocks today. Tye Soon only have the front In stock and i get them installed At one of the WS in ubi. The mech Told me that the top mount rubber Stopper has kaput and they need to Indent. In the end, i get the shocks In using back the old stopper. Any Serious prob which i might be expecting? I think one of the function of the top mount rubber stopper (or top insulators as TCM called it) is to prevent rainwater and dirt from getting into the shock absorber area and cause corrosion etc. Mine cracked at the "expansion" area which was why the servicing WS advised me to replace it. TCM workshop manager also mentioned that one can hear tok tok sound from the shock absorbers when turning if the shock is damaged... Edited February 29, 2012 by Ah-Jie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 (edited) Some updates on my shock replacement. This time, i decided to venture into JB to source for my rear shocks. To my surprise, their malaysia made KYB is selling @ same price in SG but In MYR. By exchange rate, its 2.4x cheaper. So, i ended up with a pair of KYB excel-G For RM 150. Add in RM 60 for a pair Of OEM top insulator. Their front shock Was selling at RM130/pc. Damm it, Cos i just installed Tokico yesterday In SG. So right now, my car is on Tokico Front and Excel-G on the Rear. Thumbs up for MAL. Back to the top Mount that i have bought. Its OEM and Made by some steel company in Klang. Quality wise is inferior but anyway it Does its job well. Ride is more compose Now and braking has improved too. Very tempted to throw out my 2days old Tokico front shock for Excel-G. The price is totally inresistable.. Edited February 29, 2012 by Godfinger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 Not trying to be a wet blanket... But jb got lots of fake/imitation car parts... If it's super good deal, like cheaper by 1x... It really could be too good to be true. U know even cheap stuff like $7 oil filter also have fakes in jb n Singapore? U heard of parts call Hyunkia? Maybe if u bring yr bought in jb KYB shocks to Singapore stockist to let them verify.. Service in jb ..yes..bec labour is cheap.. Buy parts in jb... Well... Better not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 (edited) Boxes, seal and even the engraving Are nice, clear and no spelling error. Even the shocks itself when took out From the boxes are packaged nicely, And manufacturer label attached to The parts. Cant be fake. Only thing Is this Excel G is made in Malaysia. I believe in my eyes and judgement. What ever things bought elsewhere And bring back to any local shops For verification, chances are you will Recvd all sorts of comments. Confirm They will say its fake. Only the things They are selling are genuinue. Why you want to subject yourselves To these.. Edited February 29, 2012 by Godfinger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 On 2/29/2012 at 11:09 PM, Godfinger said: Boxes, seal and even the engraving Are nice, clear and no spelling error. Even the shocks itself when took out From the boxes are packaged nicely, And manufacturer label attached to The parts. Cant be fake. Only thing Is this Excel G is made in Malaysia. I believe in my eyes and judgement. What ever things bought elsewhere And bring back to any local shops For verification, chances are you will Recvd all sorts of comments. Confirm They will say its fake. Only the things They are selling are genuinue. Why you want to subject yourselves To these.. I only get KYB Excel G shocks made in Japan. Not sure about the ones made in Malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) Toyota Altis and Vios are MIT and people still buy. Under Licence from KYB-Japan, where can be wrong. You will be shock to see alot of Jipun Engineer residing in KYB-Malaysia Plant.. In my scope of work, i handle big Jipun Factory in Malaysia like Denso and Panasonic. Their QA and QC are super Duper strict. ZERO defect rate and their demand on local suppliers are even stricter. One Quality issue and you are out. This is how my confidence of Jipun products localisation builds up. Edited March 1, 2012 by Godfinger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voltage Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 may i know where you got your shocks? you driving latio? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddielawson 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Just like you, I had bought my KYB from stockist in jb and installed in my favorite ws in jb. The labour for installing 4 absorber was RM120. Yes, buy and install in jb very much cheaper. No issue in Malaysia KYB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eddielawson 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 I think the best time to change your absorber will be on the 5th year of your car, since most car's life span is ten years ie if you don't intend to renew coe. Of course if it kaput before the 5th year, then bo pian. Cos if you drag to the 7th or 8th year before the change, it sort of over used on the first set, and under used on the second set (wasted). But if you intend to sell your car before ten years, then its another story liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 On 3/1/2012 at 1:33 PM, Godfinger said: Toyota Altis and Vios are MIT and people still buy. Under Licence from KYB-Japan, where can be wrong. You will be shock to see alot of Jipun Engineer residing in KYB-Malaysia Plant.. In my scope of work, i handle big Jipun Factory in Malaysia like Denso and Panasonic. Their QA and QC are super Duper strict. ZERO defect rate and their demand on local suppliers are even stricter. One Quality issue and you are out. This is how my confidence of Jipun products localisation builds up. Sounds good and thanks for the advice. Can u let me know where is the KYB stockist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 2, 2012 Share March 2, 2012 On 3/1/2012 at 1:33 PM, Godfinger said: Toyota Altis and Vios are MIT and people still buy. Under Licence from KYB-Japan, where can be wrong. You will be shock to see alot of Jipun Engineer residing in KYB-Malaysia Plant.. In my scope of work, i handle big Jipun Factory in Malaysia like Denso and Panasonic. Their QA and QC are super Duper strict. ZERO defect rate and their demand on local suppliers are even stricter. One Quality issue and you are out. This is how my confidence of Jipun products localisation builds up. Noted and thank you for sharing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lation Neutral Newbie March 12, 2012 Share March 12, 2012 Anyone know the safety issue concern running on a crack shock absorber mounting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muchie Neutral Newbie March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Hi, Is it better to change absorbers together with the absorber mountings? Is this absorber mounting also call a stopper? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 On 3/19/2012 at 5:42 AM, Muchie said: Hi, Is it better to change absorbers together with the absorber mountings? Is this absorber mounting also call a stopper? Thanks! Pocket if deep enough, just change it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M323 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2012 Share March 21, 2012 On 3/1/2012 at 10:57 PM, Eddielawson said: I think the best time to change your absorber will be on the 5th year of your car, since most car's life span is ten years ie if you don't intend to renew coe. Of course if it kaput before the 5th year, then bo pian. Cos if you drag to the 7th or 8th year before the change, it sort of over used on the first set, and under used on the second set (wasted). But if you intend to sell your car before ten years, then its another story liao. very true! now my car is going to scrap next year and the rear shock got cracking sound, anyone know where to get 2nd hand shock absorbers for mazda 323? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tcx607 4th Gear March 22, 2012 Share March 22, 2012 (edited) I just changed my FD2 (51/2yrs old) both rear absorbers. I noticed small leak on the R-side during tire change. Also, change the wheel bearing. My absorbers is OEM and each cost $70 exclusive labour Edited March 22, 2012 by Tcx607 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...