ACL injury!!!

Iforu

help! i injury my ACL for many months. recently, become more & more painful.

i dont wan do op, any other ways?

i have not see a doc yet.

Hi Bro,

I suggest u go for a MRI to confirm that your ACL is fully torn/partially torn. I m not a doctor, but I tore my ACL during soccer. Mine was totally torn (as confirmed by the MRI), and even after the operation I still cant play like before. Lotsa rehab/gym work is required to bring your muscles strength back to the level before.

I believe for fully torn ACL, u definitely need surgery if you wanna participate in sports again, however if you aren't going back to sports, normal day to day life is perfectly fine. For partially torn ACL, I believe u have to hit the gym diligently for conditioning/strengthening else you can never return back to sports. I have friends whom has partially torn their ACL but is still playing week in week out (with regular gym sessions of cos).

Hope this brief insight helps.

i done ACL when in army days due to injury from road accident.

urs is should be a partial tear... mind is it broke thus i need operation. else u cant even walk... from a few mths should be partial.

pls go see a specialist or go refer from doctor to a specialist !!!

get it check throughly, u only got a pair of legs which is irreplaceable. YOUR Only Pair of legs. U not worry?

you wont want a doctor say .. its too late.. u should have come earlier, now its not able to operation or anything...

u will get pain esp rainy days... and its deform ... (this is last thing u wanna hear , u know)

i went to SGH , say go home rest a few mths and say will limp forever,

ended i went to mt E hosp, the doctor say need operation, can say walk like normal.

and told me not to delay , else will limp forever.

Pls go see a specialist on ur leg.

wait here wont help u at all.

i see specialist, operation, then MC for 1 mth, then clucthes for 4 mths , with lotsa physico for a year, now after i can walk like normal.

and now i running marathon, with no side effect.

but have to take care due to a weaker keen cap.

PLS see a doctor!!!

Edited by Circuit

footballer most feared injury....... [sweatdrop]

Yup. Tore mine playing soccer and tried to tahan for a while. Doing sharp turns etc was virtually impossible at that time so soccer was out. Hurt sometime when it rained. just like the other bros, had to go for op. Rehab took a while and had to be on crutches. Hit the gym thereafter. Took me a year or so to get back to before.

Learned an important lesson, never keep your feet fully planted on the turf. Keep moving!!!

Please go see a doc bro.

Dear Iforu,

If your main symptom is pain in additional to instability, you may have a concomittant meniscus or chondral injury. You should arrange to visit an orthopedic surgeon or sports physician directly or via a family physician to assess and manage accordingly. The doctor would assess clinically and with an MRI scan to delineate the ligamentous and other soft tissue injuries. Thereafter, appropriate means of management will be offered. There are custom fit ACL knee braces available in the market albeit expensive but if you have problems with even normal walking and daily activities, a thorough evaluation would be necessary. There are means to repair, clean up, reconstruct, implant and transplant the damage tissues but this would be offered according to your injury.

The cheapest and easiest way would be to visit your friendly polyclinic family physician or sports physician and be referred to see an ortho surgeon.

Edited by Malathione

Like some bro advised, go polyclinic, get a referral letter to a specialist in SGH.

Got my injury from soccer, kneecap was super unstable and couldn't do sudden lateral turning motion. Fed up, got a referal from poly and did mine ACL + PCL with a Mt E specialist who is also practising in SGH. Key hole surgery, had mine under GA, didn't have chance to see how they twist and turn my leg like some puppet show. Took me a year to recuperate, but never back to 100%, the most 85%.

If ligaments are torn, do it fast, else may even lead to wearing down of your cartilages.

If you need the special leg brace (look like robocop), i can pass it to you, still sitting there in my office since Dec 2007.

rgrds

after the op, how many months on clutches?

i m self employ leh... need to earn $

About 2-3 months. If yours is left leg, I can drive an auto car with handbrakes about 1 month after op. My Doc made me walk (aided) when I woke up after the ops...

What Malathione said is 100% correct, it may be your meniscus so do a MRI is your best bet. Either way, you may still need to go for an op.

I had done 2 ACL reconstruction on both knees due to soccer injury.....

If you want fast, then better to visit those private orthopedic. It will be a long road to recovery but don't expect 100% of what you can previously do. Lastly, I am permanently downgraded so no more IPPT during my ICT.

If you wanna claim personal insurance, better to stay in hospital for 1 night.

Edited by Perrier

I sustained a complete ACL Tear and some damage to my menicus. Had my ops around 3 months after the injury (went the swelling goes down). Discharged on the next day. Was on double clutch for a week before switching to a single clutch for support for another 2 weeks. Basically can walk without support after a month. The whole surgery cost me around $8K as a private patient with TTS. All cost covered by insurance (hospital plan). Understand cost will be subsidised if referred by polyclinic but waiting time for the surgery date will be much longer.

thank !!!!!

i will go see a doc on monday, i wan to play soccer again.....

sometimes after recovery, the doc may advise you against play football anymore...

you can walk and jog.. but alot of twist and turns is bad for you

2 of my friend kena

I had torn my ACL, MCL and LCL during NS. Severe meniscus tear right across the knee. After 4 ops, my knee is around 50% recovered. Due to go in again cos suspect meniscus tear again. Sianz..

can play football la, see those pros, still can run so fast after these kind of injury

you know how much money and effort to get back to that state?

livehood at stake here.

if you lose your job, you will also do whatever it takes to get a new job.

For these footballers, playing football is all they know. unless near retirement age got alot of lobang and money stash away liao.