Dgeralds 1st Gear April 24, 2009 Share April 24, 2009 I just bought a Garmin 255W GPS. Im lost on how to use it. Say if want to go to the below address, can somebody tell me what should i exactly punch in & where? Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896 Tel : 62870035 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 24, 2009 Share April 24, 2009 - Click on "Go where/to" - Click address - Select SG - Now, either search by postal code or address and you will get the route liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched April 24, 2009 Share April 24, 2009 On 4/24/2009 at 3:30 PM, Dgeralds said: I just bought a Garmin 255W GPS. Im lost on how to use it. Say if want to go to the below address, can somebody tell me what should i exactly punch in & where? Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896 Tel : 62870035 Foremost, did u ever have a chance to select "Singapore" as a city in the first place? If u r given such opportunity then everything is ok. Previously, I am using a different garmin model - it always appear that US cities only be made available for selection (this happen after I have tried to update the map myself) even though the singapore map is loaded inside. I suspect the data got corrupted. In my case, I went back to the shop to do some reprogramming and upgrade. Therafter it revert to normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dgeralds 1st Gear April 25, 2009 Author Share April 25, 2009 Since this is a parallel import set and do not have Garmin Singapore map, i couldn't use "address search" button. I can only use "points of interest" -> "spell name" button on the touch screen to spell the road name. With thid mothod I could not locate '4 Braddell Road" Appreciate if someone who is using a parallel import set could answer me because I think they would understand my problem. Thk you. On 4/24/2009 at 9:09 PM, Wanderer said: - Click on "Go where/to" - Click address - Select SG - Now, either search by postal code or address and you will get the route liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 25, 2009 Share April 25, 2009 Wether PI or local sets,nuvi can search address. Depend on the map Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cow28 Clutched April 25, 2009 Share April 25, 2009 (edited) heh heh heh !!! After all the sets that I got from US and sold to a couple of bros here. Let me try to help u !! 2 Ways, For SG/Mal Maps, 2 ways 1) to search postal code Go to where to/ - extras - postal code - then type in your postal code ! 2) To search POI If u want to search block, just type in your block number - u will get results of them Anyways, if u guys wanna get refurbished set of 255w, just let me know ya.. I can try to see the next trip of my friend going up to US. Of course customizing your maps for u ! of course la, if u may ask, earn abit of kopi coffee, but only while my friend goes, if not, not worth the shipment. Cheers, Edited April 25, 2009 by Cow28 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dgeralds 1st Gear April 25, 2009 Author Share April 25, 2009 Bro Cow28. You seems to know about US set but with SG/Mal Maps. Iam familiar with the 2 ways you mentioned below. But say if I want to go to "Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896" - 1. Iam unable to find by establishment "chuan Hi-fi accessroies" 2. Unable to find by postal code "35989" 3. Unable to find by road name "Braddell" Give the above scenario, how am i going to use the GPS to go to the location I want (i.e. Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896)? Thk you Bro. Iam a newbie so please bear with me. On 4/25/2009 at 1:52 AM, Cow28 said: heh heh heh !!! After all the sets that I got from US and sold to a couple of bros here. Let me try to help u !! 2 Ways, For SG/Mal Maps, 2 ways 1) to search postal code Go to where to/ - extras - postal code - then type in your postal code ! 2) To search POI If u want to search block, just type in your block number - u will get results of them Anyways, if u guys wanna get refurbished set of 255w, just let me know ya.. I can try to see the next trip of my friend going up to US. Of course customizing your maps for u ! of course la, if u may ask, earn abit of kopi coffee, but only while my friend goes, if not, not worth the shipment. Cheers, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 25, 2009 Share April 25, 2009 First of all, do u have SG/MY maps installed and selected? The search methods described above should work if the first step is done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 bro...side tracked a bit where and how much u purchased the Garmin 255W? thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear April 30, 2009 Share April 30, 2009 On 4/25/2009 at 2:12 AM, Dgeralds said: Bro Cow28. You seems to know about US set but with SG/Mal Maps. Iam familiar with the 2 ways you mentioned below. But say if I want to go to "Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896" - 1. Iam unable to find by establishment "chuan Hi-fi accessroies" 2. Unable to find by postal code "35989" 3. Unable to find by road name "Braddell" Give the above scenario, how am i going to use the GPS to go to the location I want (i.e. Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896)? Thk you Bro. Iam a newbie so please bear with me. you cannot used (1) unless that company's name is already a POI inside the map, which I doubt so. like what I always do, just use "GoTo" and select "POI" and key in the address "4 Braddell road", if it is HDB flat, just key in the number "4" without the word "block" or "blk". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie May 1, 2009 Share May 1, 2009 On 4/24/2009 at 3:30 PM, Dgeralds said: I just bought a Garmin 255W GPS. Im lost on how to use it. Say if want to go to the below address, can somebody tell me what should i exactly punch in & where? Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896 Tel : 62870035 I think nothing can help you on this... Chuan Hi-fi's location is not mapped... that place is quite obscure... need to just go around that area and look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevy88 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2009 Share May 2, 2009 You should try searching under POI instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevy88 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2009 Share May 2, 2009 You should try searching under POI instead, better luck finding thr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear May 2, 2009 Share May 2, 2009 On 4/25/2009 at 2:12 AM, Dgeralds said: Bro Cow28. You seems to know about US set but with SG/Mal Maps. Iam familiar with the 2 ways you mentioned below. But say if I want to go to "Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896" - 1. Iam unable to find by establishment "chuan Hi-fi accessroies" 2. Unable to find by postal code "35989" 3. Unable to find by road name "Braddell" Give the above scenario, how am i going to use the GPS to go to the location I want (i.e. Chuan Hi-Fi & Car Accessories 4 Braddell Road , Singapore 359896)? Thk you Bro. Iam a newbie so please bear with me. Bro Dgeralds, I remember seeing you posing a similar question on "Chuan Hi Fi" in malsingmaps.com and we have replied you. I believe since MSM is dedicated GPS forum, where we have close to 100k members, your chance of getting a correct answer is very much higher than asking around here. No disrespect to MCF, but the number of GPS device owner are only a handful here and most of them, I believe, are also MSM members. Anyway, I will attempt to answer your queries here. I don't know which map version you are using in your device, but whether or not the shop can be found depends on which version you are using. Sometimes a POI, like your case, is not even in the latest version because nobody have contributed it as a POI. Our MSM maps are very detailed, as far as POIs are concerned, as compared to the official Garmin map of Sg/My, which is why recently Garmin have recognised the MSM map as an official version of Garmin. Well, this is another side of the story. Having said that, despite being very detailed, there are still tons of POIs out there waiting to be mapped. So, if anyone of you happens to see a POI not in the map, please go to MSM and contribute. It benefits the community at large. For Chuan Hi Fi, sorry to say that it is not in MSM, MFM or even Garmin's official map of Sg. So, if you happen to get hold of the coordinates of the shop, do make a contribution in MSM and your effort will be recognised. As for postal code search, this function on the devise is possible since ver 2.28, if I remember correctly. Since the postal code file is already embedded in the latest map, you do not need to down the file for your POI folder. The search is possible with "Spell Name" function but 35989 is still not mapped. The postal code mapping is still not fully completed and there are still quite a number of areas which are still in progress. So, if you can't find it, please bear with it. Future versions will include them. As for searching for road names, there are two ways to do it - thru "address" search or "Spell Name". Currently, it is still not possible to search for the exact house address. Again, this is an ongoing task which will take quite sometime to accomplished. Remember, ours is a hobbyist site and all mappers and admin staff have their own bread and butter to look after. They are doing it part-time and during their free time. Having said that, what we are today is due to no small measures to the hard work of all members, contributors and mappers. Our biggest reward is the recent Garmin's recognition of us as their official map partner. So, to all MSM members, the latest free map is available for download at http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...=70&t=16332 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dgeralds 1st Gear May 16, 2009 Author Share May 16, 2009 I bought the Garmin 255 in Singapore at $299 from http://www.easygarmin.com/ I highly recommend his service as the seller helped me even when i deleted some maps due my own mistake. But research first about gps in depth before buying parallel import set. On 4/30/2009 at 4:31 PM, Byond said: bro...side tracked a bit where and how much u purchased the Garmin 255W? thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeshunda100 Neutral Newbie May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 Paiseh OT, How is the packard bell GPS?cos everywhere i read about GPS they said garmin and holuct is good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear May 16, 2009 Share May 16, 2009 On 5/16/2009 at 2:53 AM, Leeshunda100 said: Paiseh OT, How is the packard bell GPS?cos everywhere i read about GPS they said garmin and holuct is good When u buy a GPS device, ask yourself these questions: 1. How detailed is the map? 2. How often do they update their map? 3. Is the update free or how many free updates can u get? 4. Can u install 3rd party map on your device? 5. Can this brand provide a software (like Garmin's Mapsource) where u can view the map on your PC? I can tell you, Garmin is the way to go. Even if u don't wanna use the official map, which in most cases you gotta pay, u can always rely on third party maps like MFM and MSM, which are free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kevin85_2009 Neutral Newbie July 16, 2009 Share July 16, 2009 go to tools --> setting --> Map --> map info, check if there is SG OR MY map postal code search is only available in SG and if you wat to search by zip code, you should have malsing or SLA map installed in your gps where did you purchase it? u may go to cool asia, i think u can ask them for help people r quite nice there i not sure their tel but u can try to go www.coolasia.net. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...