Sturtles 6th Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Bro, Wrong time to use such verses here. If you want to evanglise here, dun use such verses. These verses for only for christians to know. why tell a non-believer? it will only put ppl off. anyway, if you are trying to relate these verses to the AWARE case, then u are using it as wrong context. Very dangerous to use verses in wrong context. AWARE is not suppsed to be one-religion organisation. This is what josie lau was perceived trying to do. Even a muslim woman at the AGM expressed that she can't trust josie lau and her exco members because all come from one religion and one race. The muslim woman cannot put her future as a woman into josie's hands. if a non-believer can't even trust josie, then how to use AWARE to evangelise? Anyway, i never like and never support josie's doings. What she did was all so wrong...... If God's words are meant to be shared, then we should not hesitate to share them. I do admit I have diverted. This power grab is just a stupid crusadist move, but like I have mentioned, without power, only a dog would listen. Evangelism is one of the more effective tool. All the free sunday tuition classes and obligatory peer support will help the younger flock climb the ladder of Power better and faster to the echelons of the highest level. Its a good move. Even pastor hong stand corrected for bringing the pulpit into action, but I quote "My actions on the pulpit have aroused some tension in this saga. I now stand corrected. I undertake to be more sensitive to similar situations in the future. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 You need to read carefully before you start opening up your machine gun. Sturtles was merely being satirical in his post. And beside, he IS correct. All that he has said are simply paraphrases of what real-life Christians have been saying. Get the implication? so does that mean the comments that Sturtles posted last night which the mod removed is TRUE...to summarise what the comment is....all other religions are crap, fake, including ancestors.ONLY CHRISTIANITY is the only truly holy macaroni religion that everyone should embrace cos it said so. If christians think ancestors are crap, might as well parents also cos they dun bring their children up but is christianity who brings them up. Who provide shelter, food and clothes to them??? By praying to the figurine and one will have all these basic things....why dun these extremists quit their job, sell their houses, donate all the money to charities, pray to the figurine all day long in an open field, lets see whether will that figurine wave the magic wand and create shelter, food and clothes for them without having to work using both hands n legs, a mouth and a brain.... sorry i am just pissed off with Sturtles's comment and his/her disrespect on other religions and ancestors, enforcing christianity thoughts and beliefs and disownings other religions....this kind of act should not be tolerate and accept....he/she paraphase from the bible i believed and now this is what real-life christians on the streets said as well....hmm... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 parents will sure be disappointed. but that's not the point here. the point is that IF that really happens, i will hope that they will get as much help as possible - no discrimination against the boy boy, and social and community support for the preggie girl..... NOT condemnation.... if a NGO which is supposed to provide support for all these cases starts to have their own priorities based on their moral beliefs, those who are really in need of support will not get it... Prevention is better than cure. If the NGO is going to focus on providing non-discriminating cure or care (a noble cause in itself i agree), it should take care that it is not ANTI-prevention too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 That's why he kena fark and good that MOD has step in and stop in in a timely manner before it get out of hand..... He can believe what he wanna to believe and let others believe what they wanna to believe... dont go ard telling people what they believe is wrong blah blah blah.... btw, this thread is abt AWARE not this religion vs that religion..... stick to the point okay..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 so does that mean the comments that Sturtles posted last night which the mod removed is TRUE...to summarise what the comment is....all other religions are crap, fake, including ancestors.ONLY CHRISTIANITY is the only truly holy macaroni religion that everyone should embrace cos it said so. If christians think ancestors are crap, might as well parents also cos they dun bring their children up but is christianity who brings them up. Who provide shelter, food and clothes to them??? By praying to the figurine and one will have all these basic things....why dun these extremists quit their job, sell their houses, donate all the money to charities, pray to the figurine all day long in an open field, lets see whether will that figurine wave the magic wand and create shelter, food and clothes for them without having to work using both hands n legs, a mouth and a brain.... sorry i am just pissed off with Sturtles's comment and his/her disrespect on other religions and ancestors, enforcing christianity thoughts and beliefs and disownings other religions....this kind of act should not be tolerate and accept....he/she paraphase from the bible i believed and now this is what real-life christians on the streets said as well....hmm... You want to know what the Bible says about parents: 1Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. 2"Honor your father and mother" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 You can believe in whatever you want but do not push your believe onto others without think what effects it will caused. I believe all religon are good but I do not go around telling people that what I believe is the best. If you have that sort of thinking in a world and time like this, you are damm backward and shows how much tolerance you are having to others around you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 I pay respect to me ancestor during chin ming at their urns in monastry. I'm Catholic, but I think it's ok. It's not worshipping, but I do say things to them as if they were alive. The ang moh do talk to the grave (from watching movie) of their loves one. If just a part of us not wanting them to be gone forever, hence the need to 'talk' to them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 That's why he kena fark and good that MOD has step in and stop in in a timely manner before it get out of hand..... He can believe what he wanna to believe and let others believe what they wanna to believe... dont go ard telling people what they believe is wrong blah blah blah.... btw, this thread is abt AWARE not this religion vs that religion..... stick to the point okay..... i stick to the point...think AWARE should setup a corner to display the fight and remind themselves never be complacent and fall asleep on duty again....thats why women in SG should serve NS so that they will get the bigger picture and not just bitching ard for power and using religion to spread their beliefs and faith. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 I think almost everyone at a point in time will do that. I admit I do talk to my granddad tablet sometimes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevel 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Prevention is better than cure. If the NGO is going to focus on providing non-discriminating cure or care (a noble cause in itself i agree), it should take care that it is not ANTI-prevention too. prevention is definitely better than cure, and i'm quite sure that no one is preaching FOR pre-marital sex and such. however, we have to be realistic - these kind of things are happening whether you like it or not. there'd invariably be some who will choose to give in to temptations. given this scenario, being taught the safer options, in my opinion, helps to mitigate things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scenic98 Clutched May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Again and again, can we limit this thread to talk about AWARE? Start a new thread if you want to discuss religion. Don't try to impose your religion onto others. Chances are, the more you do it, the more u will pissed people off. Isn't that what the NG was doing, indirectly? I grew up studying in catholic schools for 12 years. I say the Hail Mary/Our Father during assembly. At home, I pray to Guanyin Niang Niang. On 1st and 15th of lunar month, i go to waterloo st to pray. I hold the joss sticks to pray to my departed grandparents and ancestors. Am i confused? NO!!! I made a choice. My parents never pushed me. I am officially a Free Thinker. Does that make me any worst as a person? NO!!! I was approached to attend some church activities, especially during my teenage days. Most of the reasons given to me by those "recruiters" is going to church is "fun" and "you get to meet lots of girls". Is this the correct message? And this is the time before The Rock and Ho Yeow Sun. These days, i heard it's even worst, you hear the word "cells" where members are grouped into....Geeze...where else do you hear the word Cell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 prevention is definitely better than cure, and i'm quite sure that no one is preaching FOR pre-marital sex and such. however, we have to be realistic - these kind of things are happening whether you like it or not. there'd invariably be some who will choose to give in to temptations. given this scenario, being taught the safer options, in my opinion, helps to mitigate things. WELL, i thought the buzz word now is you can be neutral about pre-martial sex and such. It's not husband but partner and partner is pre-marital realm isn't it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foxfire Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 If God's words are meant to be shared, then we should not hesitate to share them. Let me direct you to the 1990 Maintenance of Religious harmony Act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toulouse Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Hi, thank you for your reply. I beg to differ from your opinion that formal education should only teach facts, within the context of Singapore. By and large, Singapore is still a conservative society. You are correct to point out that what is culturally/socially acceptable varies from place to place and from time to time. Thus. the fact that a certain action is culturally and socially accepted and accepted in a certain society or community does not necessarily equate to Singapore accepting such actions as correct or appropriate, and that must be taught to students at all levels, from teachers in school to parents and even lessons from the extended family. What you have suggested for parents to be actively engaged in their childs education seems to me a tall order to accomplish. It is all good and simple to suggest that parents has to be pro-active in their childs education. In reality, within Singapore, where quite a number of parents are working, to find time to review and vet all subjects and topics that are being taught in schools, does not seem possible. Further, Singapore's government have always hammered home the message to have the trust in them and the system that they have in place. Thus, the majority of parents place the trust in the education system not to teach controversial subjects or topics. With internet and kids being tech savvy at a very early age, any subject or topic can be found. However, I think (my own thoughts and I do not have any figures to quote) that quite a number of parents are still conservative in such topics being discussed openly. I am not suggesting that parents should be spoon-fed. I am suggesting that part of the platform where Josie and gang used to gain control of AWARE (where they were alarmed that lesbianism was being taught in schools) could have been averted should such controversial topics be managed more prudently. Hindsight is always 20/20. To have kids decide for themselves what is right or wrong is optimistic at best. Are we just on the subject of sexual inclinations or otherwise? Shall we expand the scope of discussion on what is right or wrong? What about including abuse of drugs in our scope of discussions, which is acceptable in Holland but not in most other countries? Should we inform and advise kids that abuse of drugs is wrong and detrimental to one's health but ultimately it is their decision to make? I for one will not take an ounce of risk that my child would make the correct decision and therefore will make that decision for them. Pro-choice IS about people being able to decide for themselves and not others deciding for them. However, without the necessary tools and information, there is absolutely no choice to make. Can parents not allow their child not to attend the CSE session should they feel strongly against it? Was this choice offered to this segment of parents? Kind regards Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 (edited) so does that mean the comments that Sturtles posted last night which the mod removed is TRUE...to summarise what the comment is....all other religions are crap, fake, including ancestors.ONLY CHRISTIANITY is the only truly holy macaroni religion that everyone should embrace cos it said so. If christians think ancestors are crap, might as well parents also cos they dun bring their children up but is christianity who brings them up. Who provide shelter, food and clothes to them??? By praying to the figurine and one will have all these basic things....why dun these extremists quit their job, sell their houses, donate all the money to charities, pray to the figurine all day long in an open field, lets see whether will that figurine wave the magic wand and create shelter, food and clothes for them without having to work using both hands n legs, a mouth and a brain.... sorry i am just pissed off with Sturtles's comment and his/her disrespect on other religions and ancestors, enforcing christianity thoughts and beliefs and disownings other religions....this kind of act should not be tolerate and accept....he/she paraphase from the bible i believed and now this is what real-life christians on the streets said as well....hmm... Hey, I hope you don't get too worked up here. Like someone have said, its a personal belief, and anyone is free to belief what they want. Being baptised, and living a kind life, is the easiest one can go to heaven according to the Bible. Think about it. What about your grand chokong, and your ming dynasty ancestor? They were never baptised. The ang mohs have no such conflict as they have converted to Christianity for centuries, and so have their ancestors which is believed to be in Heaven, except the monkeys they evolved from, if science is correct. There is no clear answer for where my non-baptised ancestors are, and since they are not in Heaven according to the Bible, and not on Earth, because they are not alive, they must be in Hell theologically speaking. Besides, Christians are not allowed to worship idols. If you happen to watch HK period drama, you will notice translation of “老天爷” has been changed from heaven to God. Hong Kong is going to become the next Soeul. Edited May 5, 2009 by Sturtles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 Hey, I hope you don't get too worked up here. Like someone have said, its a personal belief, and anyone is free to belief what they want. Being baptised, and living a kind life, is the easiest one can go to heaven according to the Bible. Think about it. What about your grand chokong, and your ming dynasty ancestor? They were never baptised. The ang mohs have no such conflict as they have converted to Christianity for centuries, and so have their ancestors which is believed to be in Heaven, except the monkeys they evolved from, if science is correct. There is no clear answer for where my non-baptised ancestors are, and since they are not in Heaven according to the Bible, and not on Earth, because they are not alive, they must be in Hell theologically speaking. If you happen to watch HK period drama, you will notice translation of Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 ... These days, i heard it's even worst, you hear the word "cells" where members are grouped into....Geeze...where else do you hear the word Cell terrorist cell groups? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie May 5, 2009 Share May 5, 2009 If God's words are meant to be shared, then we should not hesitate to share them. I do admit I have diverted. This power grab is just a stupid crusadist move, but like I have mentioned, without power, only a dog would listen. Evangelism is one of the more effective tool. All the free sunday tuition classes and obligatory peer support will help the younger flock climb the ladder of Power better and faster to the echelons of the highest level. Its a good move. Even pastor hong stand corrected for bringing the pulpit into action, but I quote "My actions on the pulpit have aroused some tension in this saga. I now stand corrected. I undertake to be more sensitive to similar situations in the future." He will use other more sensitive methods to get he job done. Josie can bide her time, and her time will come. it is times like this...when i really support using the ISA to maintain the peace in singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...