AWARE saga-very ironical

Albeniz

[sweatdrop] Alamak...dun equate feeling good (eg anal sex, oral sex etc) with morality....if we always do something based on the premise that it "feels good", we enter an anarchistic state...

We cannot have that! It will be like those Roman times with drunken orgies and toga parties.

Lucky we are conservative asians, no secret orgies, wife swapping or sleezy massage parlours

here! No good feelings here or it will be anarchy as bro Gnoiky said!

I would't consider them sound knowledge transfer when it is basically telling impressionable kids values that the OG thinks it is right. What is scientifically correct? The text didn't mention. What is natural? If it means been similar to certain animal behaviours, then i agree. But do we want to be like animals?

Once again, right or wrong morally, culturally, etc are irrelavant. It is what is scientifically and factually true. I've explained it to someone else already. I used the "Jesus Christ has an Offspring statement" for a reason [sly]

As for being like animals, I cant answer that. Quite often they show more compassion, loyalty and care that would put us humans to shame.

Edited by Elfenstar

All religious sources (bar the Satanic Bible) are socially constructed based on values or the kind of values leaders wanted to impart or use to control the general population at that point in time. Take the bible for example. It was created by the RC Church through vetting, censorship, and translation of documents, letters, etc rather that a compilation of works. Even the original works were an interpretation by their writers based on their beliefs of "issues" that they felt needed to be addressed.

You wrote - the Satanic Bible, is there really such a thing?

I thot Satan was just made up like Santa Claus?

So u mean Satan really exists and he wrote a book?

Anyone ever seen this book and know where I can get it?

I always like to see the opposing side of things to get

a balance view.

And is there an English translation? or its in some

funny language like that Tongues lallalalla language?

Edited by Jamesc

[lipsrsealed] Bro...it exists...google it and read up wiki...

No, the devil didn't write it...think it was a feenchman? haha..

You wrote - the Satanic Bible, is there really such a thing?

I thot Satan was just made up like Santa Claus?

So u mean Satan really exists and he wrote a book?

Anyone ever seen this book and know where I can get it?

I always like to see the opposing side of things to get

a balance view.

And is there an English translation? or its in some

funny language like that Tongues lallalalla language?

The Devil's Bible

I saw this on National Geographic channel. It's said that a monk of the medieval era spent most of his life locked up in a cell(monastery) writing it. Nobody forced him, he did it bcos he wanted to and he sold his soul to the Devil so that he could write it.

yah..but i look at my dog licking his arse and i... [lipsrsealed]

LOL. Think about it this way... at least it is not physically possible for most humans [laugh]

It isn't. I read it in some Nordic Orthodox Catholic bible quite a while back. Quite shocking since, Dan Brown and the rest of them were just fiction to me. I didn't expect anything like this in religious text.

On the other hand, the Satanic Bible was not what I expected either, but that is for another thread or PM's [:p] as we are already wayyyyyy off topic LOL

You wrote earlier:

According to a few orthodox catholic bibles, he did have a child with Mary Magdalene.

So now it has become one Nordic bible (whatever is a nordic bible) that you read sometime back (cannot remember when) and under what kind of circumstances. A far cry from a few orthodox and catholic bibles you claimed.

Please do not write with such dogma things, another example there's no historical evidence of the existence of Jesus Christ, you have not done sufficient research on; the very thing you are accusing others; a bigot you have come.

You wrote earlier:

According to a few orthodox catholic bibles, he did have a child with Mary Magdalene.

So now it has become one Nordic bible (whatever is a nordic bible) that you read sometime back (cannot remember when) and under what kind of circumstances. A far cry from a few orthodox and catholic bibles you claimed.

Please do not write with such dogma things, another example there's no historical evidence of the existence of Jesus Christ, you have not done sufficient research on; the very thing you are accusing others; a bigot you have come.

There is no "one catholic church" as we roman catholics proclaim. there are also quite a few different catholic churches classified under the orthodox catholic title (not orthodox and catholic as there also just plain orthodox churches).

The bible i'm refering to I read two years ago (is the time even relevant to anything???), and it was just for my own knowledge (how is this relevant?).

There is no historical evidence on Jesus other than the bible. Look at the generally unbiased historical accounts by the Romans during his time. There was nothing. Don't you find it odd that for historians who recorded events during those times leave no mention of anyone called Jesus who did what the bible said he did? Not to mention everything we know about the four apostles of the four gospels are also from the gospels themselves (and we don't know who actually wrote it as it was "gospel according to XXX).

To be perfectly honest, I wouldn't be surprised if there was someone who was a teacher/healer who was resembled Jesus according to the historical events that the bible portrays, but much of the deeds is agreed by historians to be folklore. Here is where a person of faith and a person without faith can be seen. I believe regardless of what is said to the contrary, and I am not frazzled by what is known and what i have learnt thus far that is contrary to my beliefs. However we need to be able to seperate fact from technical hearsay.

Do you even know what the definition of a bigot is to be able to call me one??? How am I being prejudicial??? I'm just stating what is known. No more, no less.

Edited by Elfenstar

I just wish those Free Love church group with

young blond european ladies would come

here and evangalise! If they tell me spreading

free love is God's Will and not do it, simply means

the devil has insinuated me,

I would start practicing immediately and recruit

more young gals to join! I love doing God's work! [thumbsup]

the dumb blonde cum here to ask you to spread the seed of love lah...u think too much liao [angel][angel][angel]

The Devil's Bible

I saw this on National Geographic channel. It's said that a monk of the medieval era spent most of his life locked up in a cell(monastery) writing it. Nobody forced him, he did it bcos he wanted to and he sold his soul to the Devil so that he could write it.

I watched that as well!

If a monk was possessed by the devil and wanted to write the devils works,

you would think the monestery would have kicked him out!

Rather than give him a free room and food and say - we are happy to

feed you and shelter you while you write the devil's work to

spread his word to the world!

Strange! Maybe the monestery has been taken over by the devil!

Edited by Jamesc

Has been listening to news about the AWARE saga recently.

The women-folks are supposed to unite together and help one another.

Very unfortunately, we find the leaders in their association fighting against one another.

It was even reported that the new exco committe threw the old guards out and even changed the locks to prevent the old guards from going into their offices.

They have obviously forgotten the motto. Very ironical, isn't it?

Many yrs ago our PAP kena the same way.. newbies wanted to get rid of the old guard.. so they learnt to install the cadre system.. only cadre members can vote.. in that way the fundamental ideas stay.. and you either flourish with it.. or die standing with old ideas...

[rolleyes] Yeah, u know the same holds for some other religions too....The act of evangelising is not retricted/limited to Christianity alone

Not all religion needs to evangelise, and not all points are as rigidly interpreted.

One needs to be in power to spread his beliefs.

The spanish went west and south, conquering the new frontier, converting the natives to Christianity.

Look at Rio de Janeiro now. It has the biggest statue of Christ in the world. Korea could be next

Josie is only doing the same. Gaining power, then use it to spread her beliefs.

Without power, only a dog would believe you :wacko:

Militant it may seem, history has vindicated those who were in power.

[sweatdrop] Islam converts by the sword then...The world we are in today, is all due to these influences...The Christian movement began waaaay back in the Roman era... Islam too spread by way of conquest....

Hence my point about this not restricted to Christianity...

There is no "one catholic church" as we roman catholics proclaim. there are also quite a few different catholic churches classified under the orthodox catholic title (not orthodox and catholic as there also just plain orthodox churches).

>> There's ONE catholic church and one Roman Catholic church. The former is used to denote the church at large, including all denominations, and the latter's head is the Pope we are familiar with. There are a few Orthodox churches - Eastern, Greek. They developed this way due to historical and cultural developments. You are using words like catholic and orthodox without regard and fragrantly.

The bible i'm refering to I read two years ago (is the time even relevant to anything???), and it was just for my own knowledge (how is this relevant?).

>> It is important with regards to giving details. You are using this one incident to make a sweeping statements that there are "few catholic bibles" that claim Jesus has a physical child. With such a serious allegations, how do you think you can back it up by your one reading 2 years ago. Let me ask further, which passage is that, what is the bible about, who compiled it, who uses it? I wouldn't have asked if you have not made your sweeping statement.

There is no historical evidence on Jesus other than the bible. Look at the generally unbiased historical accounts by the Romans during his time. There was nothing. Don't you find it odd that for historians who recorded events during those times leave no mention of anyone called Jesus who did what the bible said he did? Not to mention everything we know about the four apostles of the four gospels are also from the gospels themselves (and we don't know who actually wrote it as it was "gospel according to XXX).

>> Jesus was not a conqueror, not a commander of the army, not even a remotely famous person beyond the Jews of his days. He was crucified together with criminals, and no Roman aristocrats take note of him. When he died, his disciples fled and no obituary is written in the Roman Empire news. His disciples were not even known as Christians till a few years after his death and Christianity was considered just a cult of the Jews only for decades. THUS, would you expect notable historians of his time to write about him. It is even a miracle that the death of a man grew his religion to the biggest in the world, but of coz he wasn't dead now.

To be perfectly honest, I wouldn't be surprised if there was someone who was a teacher/healer who was resembled Jesus according to the historical events that the bible portrays, but much of the deeds is agreed by historians to be folklore. Here is where a person of faith and a person without faith can be seen. I believe regardless of what is said to the contrary, and I am not frazzled by what is known and what i have learnt thus far that is contrary to my beliefs. However we need to be able to seperate fact from technical hearsay.

>> It is laughable that you deny the existence of the Jesus man when even non christians scholars would not. Just go to this link and you can find many scholastic references to the "historical" Jesus, and we are not even talking about his claim to divinity.

>> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Historical_Jesus

Do you even know what the definition of a bigot is to be able to call me one??? How am I being prejudicial??? I'm just stating what is known. No more, no less.

>> A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. A little knowledge plus a big ego, and a bigot is born.

Edited by Falc