Leech Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? Bro, u meant wheel clamped? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? Is there a "Wheel clamp" sign? If not, you may try to make a appeal on that fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 (edited) There are rules and regulations in Singapore. He have no business parking his vehicle there and took the chance so he have to face the consequence. If everybody wants a quickee and park there in that private estate, the tenants would be faced with a problem all HDB dwellers faces when their blocks are near major shopping centre, temples, churchs etc. So, take the chance but be prepared to answer the charges ! Question is, who decides the $100 de-clamping fee. If a receipt is issued, then it would be okay. Myself, I will pull the guard aside and talk slow slow with him....Ah Bang, boleh tolong tak ? Easier to talk and get a discount ..... CBX Edited April 23, 2009 by Cbx750p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Urns Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? Try to appeal. Don't reason with the guards because they have no power, more likely it's a resident who complained against you and they were out to do their job hence pls don't make things difficult for them. I would advise you to write to the management instead. But please use "wheel clamp" instead of "wheel cramp" and avoid spelling mistakes like these in your email/letter to them. Ever got wheel-clamped before, wrote a nice letter to them and even attached pictures and photos to show various signages that were unclear and got 100% of my money back in the form of a cheque! Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Urns Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 There are rules and regulations in Singapore. He have no business parking his vehicle there and took the chance so he have to face the consequence. If everybody wants a quickee and park there in that private estate, the tenants would be faced with a problem all HDB dwellers faces when their blocks are near major shopping centre, temples, churchs etc. So, take the chance but be prepared to answer the charges ! Question is, who decides the $100 de-clamping fee. If a receipt is issued, then it would be okay. Myself, I will pull the guard aside and talk slow slow with him....Ah Bang, boleh tolong tak ? Easier to talk and get a discount ..... CBX Yup I tried this as well and yes they offered a discount but I cannot appeal. Hence I took the option of paying in full and appealing, with turning to my MP as back-up plan. Hoho! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? Wah! Never charge you GST leh... u 'tan tio' liao loh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueegg Clutched April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 I think you should be more worried about the cramps that your wheel is suffering. Joint pain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? Pay & take it as a learning lesson. Never anyhow park! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 very hard lah, how often you see referee (TP) on the road? most of the time must DIY. Proper way if 90kmh wheel cramp is to BREAK the car gently to a stop. best is use engine break I think Salonpas sells wheel cramp spray at most petrol station. But best is visit car doctor after that to repair the broken car and engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 I think you should be more worried about the cramps that your wheel is suffering. Joint pain? Actually it should be "Wheel Un-clamped for $100". Wheel clamped is for the unauthorized parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 I know of someone who got clamped and instead of paying $100, he got a tow truck for $30 to tow the entire car away and then pay the shop to remove the clamp...overall, still less than $100 and well he still has the wheel clamp at home haha... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 Unfortunately due to no parking space and my fault for wanting a quick meal, I parked my vehicle in a private estate and was wheel cramped and the guards demanded $100 for release of wheel cramp. IS there no reprieve? is it at Joo Chiat Road? The building with a Bah Kut Teh shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 I know of someone who got clamped and instead of paying $100, he got a tow truck for $30 to tow the entire car away and then pay the shop to remove the clamp...overall, still less than $100 and well he still has the wheel clamp at home haha... Recommend leh. Now where to find tow truck that charge only $30??? Maybe 20 years ago they still charge $30. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 26, 2009 Share April 26, 2009 bros, i am really laughing from head to toe in this thread... tink dun fool TS already liao lah... he's feeling bad enuf to part wif the $100 although it's his fault... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear April 27, 2009 Share April 27, 2009 Recommend leh. Now where to find tow truck that charge only $30??? Maybe 20 years ago they still charge $30. Not all places can do that. If you try this trick in a private estate (or condo), the tow truck can't come in as it's considered trespassing. Maybe you can only try this trick in those open areas where there is wheel clamp (or cramps! ) signages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Allangenex Neutral Newbie April 27, 2009 Share April 27, 2009 Just wondering.... If the wheel was clamped, possible to remove the entire wheel out and use a spare tyre in our boots instead? Sorry.. i don't have experience of getting my wheel clamped before so pardon my ignorance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 It is not a freaking typo.... the letter L and R keys on the key board are miles apart.... TS probably did not know better..... u a mod? i believe many of us understand what ts is trying to say . mod or not , typo or others . the way you mock at TS is really uncalled for . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueegg Clutched April 29, 2009 Share April 29, 2009 Nothing uncalled for. Can't take comments, don't post. Wanna post, better make sure you can at least type/spell properly. Clamp is not even a difficult word. Unsure of the spelling? Google it. Lazy? Then don't lament the ridicule. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...