Tornado around here

Latioboy

Careful.....heard the radio this morning that Ardmore park area crane topple liao.... [sweatdrop]

Its close to the level of wind that I've once seen before during my days in changi naval base. Wind hit a speed of arnd 81km/hr according to our instruments.

I can literally see ALL the huge bins, water barriers, tentatges (secured with sandbags) all blown into the sea. The sea was very scary and is lashing up against the wharves. One of the ships thats anchored 500m away from the wharves broke its anchor chain and drifted to crash into one of the breakwaters. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] On the wharves, 3 US marines + 1 of our guys were holding on to a tentage to prevent it from going in and 4 of them were literally dragged along. [shocked]

i was once at base with 60+ km/h winds that i saw from instruments. somebody's gangway blown into the sea [sweatdrop]

don't think it's as spectacular as last nite's tho

Tornado in Malaysia [shocked] [shocked] [shocked]

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/village-hit-tornado-001159893.html

PENDANG: IN an extremely rare occurrence, Kampung Alor Besar was hit by an F1 tornado yesterday, damaging several homes and part of SK Alor Besar.

Meteorological Department deputy director-general Alui Bahari confirmed the occurrence, saying such a tornado could have happened due to the interaction between wind shear and cumulonimbus clouds over flat land in a low-pressure area.

He said the height of an F1 tornado could reach 200m and had a lifespan of less than 30 minutes.

With wind speeds of between 117 and 180kph, an F1 tornado could cause moderate damage, snapping tree trunks and damaging rooftops, said Alui.

Damage yesterday included several tents being carried off by the wind at a house holding a wake.

The incident occurred about 4pm. SK Alor Besar was affected when the roof of its computer lab and another building were damaged.

Witnesses reported that the tornado was at least four stories high.

Housewife and mother of three Halimah Khalid said the roof of her home had been blown off in a matter of seconds.

“My husband, who is a padi farmer, was not at home during the time. It was just after 4pm when strong winds swung the doors of my house open and before I knew it, the roof of my house had been blown off. There was extensive damage to the garden and some of the pipes in the kitchen are leaking. Somehow, they must have cracked.

“My first instinct when the roof was blown off was to run in and grab my grandchild as no one was at home at the time.”

In Taman Sri Kota, Kuala Kedah, strong winds during a storm blew off the roof of five houses.

Most of the houses had their roofs blown away while some collapsed. However, no one was injured in the storm, which started at 4.30pm.

Odd-job worker Saw Teong Heang, 52, said he was about to reverse his car when he heard a loud noise and saw his roof being ripped off.

“It happened so fast and I shouted to my family, who were inside the house, to hide somewhere safe.”

Salesman Ooi Pu King, 45, said he could not do anything but watch in horror as the storm took off his house roof.

“I was preparing to hold a special prayer when the storm ripped off the roof my home. I am thankful that no one was injured in the storm.”

If it cld happened in Malaysia, cld it possibly happen here (once in 50yrs event)?

And our HDB can tahan or not??

If it cld happened in Malaysia, cld it possibly happen here (once in 50yrs event)?

And our HDB can tahan or not??

It does happen in SG off our coast.

Except that over water, the name is less sensational. Water spouts.

http://tinyurl.com/lonkw4u

Yesterday afternoon ... Sixth Avenue also kena Strong Winds & Heavy Rain ... A Few Big Tress were Up Rooted ...

You stay Sixth Avenue har? [sly]

the video look fake to me leh.

hope they can show the aftermath of the storm.

Possibility cos now the world weather pattern had gone kuku......... [crazy]

Who would believe during summer time in July 2014, there are snow falling down in New York ... [grin]

All the Richie Rich in MCF :)

Bo tai bo chi where got drive pass that road one? He go there to collect rent lah. [laugh] [laugh]

Maybe house GF that area leh?

Bo tai bo chi where got drive pass that road one? He go there to collect rent lah. [laugh] [laugh]