Mcf777 Turbocharged April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Petrol: $1.5/15 = $0.1 per km CNG: $1.24/17 = $0.073 per km. Assuming 20,000 km per year, your saving is = $541 a year. based on yr calculation, it not worth to have CNG in Singapore. Too expensive for private car owners. It good for taxi/buses or those vehicles that is fitted with original CNG tank. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 I think CNG in Singapore is %ucks ! There is hardly any difference in price between CNG and regular petrol. I heard from a source, don't know if this true or not but the tax that is proposed for CNG is $0.20 per kg ! This is when the subsidy for CNG ends and when it does, the saving just disappears. Considering the inconvenience face with the stations, the regular stalling reports, lack of power/performance and the need to have the tank tested every two years after the 3rd on the road which involves gas leaks and on the 5th year, the tank needs to be removed for pressure testing ! This is gonna really put to death the CNG thingy IMHO ! All these test are outside the normal 3rd inspection by VICOM and must be performed by specialist whose cost would have to be paid by the owner. The only way to save is to drive into Malaysia every in need to fill up cause over there it is only RM0.35sens per kg. Cheap cheap murah murah ! But the distance and the jam, may just make the effort vaporise. Myself, I would never want to own a CNG car ! Would rather go for a cheapo 650 cc Suzuki panel van for cheap transport than to face all the difficulties involved in a CNG car. Just my 1cts worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Petrol: $1.5/15 = $0.1 per km CNG: $1.24/17 = $0.073 per km. Assuming 20,000 km per year, your saving is = $541 a year. This saving is a joke....take 6 years to recoup installation cost....by the 5 years...the car may be in the scrap metal yard liao...so do your sum for those want to convert... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear April 23, 2009 Author Share April 23, 2009 This saving is a joke....take 6 years to recoup installation cost....by the 5 years...the car may be in the scrap metal yard liao...so do your sum for those want to convert... Yah hor, I forgot the installation cost too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 I think CNG in Singapore is %ucks ! There is hardly any difference in price between CNG and regular petrol. I heard from a source, don't know if this true or not but the tax that is proposed for CNG is $0.20 per kg ! This is when the subsidy for CNG ends and when it does, the saving just disappears. Considering the inconvenience face with the stations, the regular stalling reports, lack of power/performance and the need to have the tank tested every two years after the 3rd on the road which involves gas leaks and on the 5th year, the tank needs to be removed for pressure testing ! This is gonna really put to death the CNG thingy IMHO ! All these test are outside the normal 3rd inspection by VICOM and must be performed by specialist whose cost would have to be paid by the owner. The only way to save is to drive into Malaysia every in need to fill up cause over there it is only RM0.35sens per kg. Cheap cheap murah murah ! But the distance and the jam, may just make the effort vaporise. Myself, I would never want to own a CNG car ! Would rather go for a cheapo 650 cc Suzuki panel van for cheap transport than to face all the difficulties involved in a CNG car. Just my 1cts worth. This government has never been about saving the environment or reducing private owner running cost, it's all about PROFIT & reaping sillyporeans off as much as they can. With the differences between CNG and Petrol so close, how can it be cheaper to run on CNG? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 i dont think getting/fixing CNG is worth it. if it is so good, why no widespread implementation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ev0lutionz Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 CNG tank is heavy. No point installing it. Petrol still the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bankai87 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Fit put CNG then boot space kum lan? Want to save the environment buy ceevec hybrid with vee tech or toyota prius - 22km per litre, shioker than CNG and cheaper than CNG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 CNG tank is heavy. No point installing it. Petrol still the best. that kinda saving..i rather put my golf bag inside everyday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 cant imagine kup corner wif a big tank behind ur back.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 This saving is a joke....take 6 years to recoup installation cost....by the 5 years...the car may be in the scrap metal yard liao...so do your sum for those want to convert... IMO, CNG is fully utilized if the car is fuel drinker and high milege user. My sunny 10 to 11km/l of petrol but 19 to 20 km/kg of CNG. Of cos, it's only 8km from my place to Mandai. My meter is already 70K for a two year old car. Go figure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RussianGirlHelen Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 This will help you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 save the earth yes, but whos gonna save you? cng in singapore will only make cents/sense if they don't tax it. now that beats the purpose of using compressed air. how can you even tax air? did god approve it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 cant imagine kup corner wif a big tank behind ur back.... the weight will act as a stabilizer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phang79 Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Something is wrong with ya calculations. My savings is about $200 a month based on mileage of slightly more than 3k. My petrol bill is CNG $150, petrol $30. Total $180 per month only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear April 24, 2009 Author Share April 24, 2009 IMO, CNG is fully utilized if the car is fuel drinker and high milege user. My sunny 10 to 11km/l of petrol but 19 to 20 km/kg of CNG. Of cos, it's only 8km from my place to Mandai. My meter is already 70K for a two year old car. Go figure. Your Sunny so diff from the other car: 1) sunny 10 to 11km/l of petrol but 19 to 20 km/kg of CNG 2) for honda fit, petrol consumption of 15km/l but 17km/kg on gas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear April 24, 2009 Author Share April 24, 2009 Something is wrong with ya calculations. My savings is about $200 a month based on mileage of slightly more than 3k. My petrol bill is CNG $150, petrol $30. Total $180 per month only. Can enlighten me what is wrong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 24, 2009 Share April 24, 2009 (edited) Actually i did drove to a workshop to try install the HUGE 99ltr tank into my white elephant.........measure like siao, still short of a few inches of space nia. But thinking back, its a bit siao hor.......whole boot space gone just to save that few hundred a year. Edited April 24, 2009 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...