hi

as per titled, just wondering if anyone know if Castrol high Mileage

can be found locally?

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/genericarti...ntentId=7034438

wld like to try the 10W-40.

cos i saw Mobil high mileage is of 10w30HM elsewhere... think it's a tad too

thin for my dated engine

many thanks in advance. [:)]

I don't think you can find any Castrol HM oil here, another alternatives you might want to consider is the Amsoil AMO 10w40 which will be coming in this May. It has a high ZDDP content for older engine and protection.

Castrol GTX can be found in this shop...but dunoe whether issit the High Mileage one..

Yong Keong Auto Co. @ 50 Bt Batok St 23 #02-04 Singapore 659578. Contact : 65624573

hi

can be found locally?

thin for my dated engine

I don't think you can find any Castrol HM oil here, another alternatives you might want to consider is the Amsoil AMO 10w40 which will be coming in this May. It has a high ZDDP content for older engine and protection.

Hi bro,w ould the AMO help in oil burn off problems? Been using Amsoil ATM 10W30 for the last 50K and my engine always managed to makan 30% between each 10K service interval [:(]

What car model and year is your ride? cos certain engine model do have oil consumption issue, example like RX-8 or Alfa engine.

alamak

i guess it's inevitable that no one brings in HM oil

as local cars are generally very new.

in that case, i will just keep a lookout for the new oil

but use the XLO for the time being

thanks

What car model and year is your ride? cos certain engine model do have oil consumption issue, example like RX-8 or Alfa engine.

Hyundai Getz 1.6M. 97K mileage now. Checked with other Getz drivers no one seems to have consumption issue as bad as mine. [sweatdrop]

My mech suggest a heavier oil so I should be getting the 40wt AMO from you in May.

Then you should be using 20W-50 non synthetic isn't it? The engine will burn your oil so no point to pay for expensive oil. Either get a rebuild (could be only valve intake seals or worst case, new rings) or use cheaper and thicker oil. A good brand mineral like Castrol, Shell, Havoline and Duckhams will serve you better. Let face it, performance is not your priority right now.

Hyundai Getz 1.6M. 97K mileage now. Checked with other Getz drivers no one seems to have consumption issue as bad as mine. [sweatdrop]

My mech suggest a heavier oil so I should be getting the 40wt AMO from you in May.

Yes you are right, a thicker oil might slow down or even stop the oil consumption.

Anyway, there's no history or issue with Getz engine on oil consumption, what did you do to your engine?

Did you change to any aftermarket air filter?

What type of oil and weight had you been consistenting using in the early mileage of your engine?

how is the castrol gtx 5w30? normal one, not the high mileage...

as a reference, it's as good as which oil? (eg syntec, amsoil Axx series, etc)

Mobil 1 Extended Performance range is pretty good.

At least for the 15W-50 grade that I used.... drain out at 10K ought kms and oil although was black in colour, but it was still quick thick (compared to what normally comes out for my OCI)

Oil consumption was also well controlled. Think it was less than 1/4 quart for the 10K OCI, versus half to 3/4 quart when I used C#$Lube or even Mobil1 0W-40 or 5W-50.

i'm gonna change to gtx 5w40 this coming servicing. is 5w30 good?

In my opinion, it is preferable that u use 5w30 cos your car is still new. It may improve yr FC also.

5w40 is for much older cars like 3 years or mileage that exceed 70,000 km.

i saw castrol GTX 5w30 4L tin can packaging at autobacs, $59. tot that it should be quite a good buy. the castrol Edge is going for $85 though.

but i'm still more keen on castrol SLX or Syntec... sadly now seems like nowhere is selling... anyone got lobang?

i saw castrol GTX 5w30 4L tin can packaging at autobacs, $59. tot that it should be quite a good buy. the castrol Edge is going for $85 though.

but i'm still more keen on castrol SLX or Syntec... sadly now seems like nowhere is selling... anyone got lobang?

Mineral oil GTX for $59 is way overprices. There's no lobang for GC liao, even the US supplier also do not carry it anymore.

Edited by Trex101

move on

with the demise of SLX GC, edge and gtx cannot make it liao

sorry for digging up an old thread.

Is Castrol GTX Modern Engine 15w40 a suitable replacement for the GTX High Mileage 20w50?

post-3373-1275925169_thumb.jpg

Saw this at Teck Chye Terrace for really good price.

I wonder whether this will suffice for my mineral oil injecting gas guzzler. OCI 5k (max)

hi

can be found locally?

thin for my dated engine

Have you been using mineral or synthetic oil in the pass? If using mineral, then I don't recommend you switch to full syn and it may cause leaks.

If using synthetic then recommend the Amsoil 10W40 or 50wt oil instead. Good protection for high mileage engines. If you KS like me, just add a can of STP oil treatment.