Application9999 Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 wee hours, typically traffic lights green. u know quite well...you one of them? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 I did hear from a friend that this DK is for real. He actually saw a what seemed to be a TC'ed A168 zoomed past my friend (driving a Turbo Colt) along Orchard at about 4am.... But so far Driftking has disappeared from the forum scene... May be car cannot handle the stress and scrapped liao...so disappear lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 u know quite well...you one of them? I think he is in charge of switching the button from red light to green light.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 cmon you guys aren't being fair to them, they don't even have a legal place to race,other than going to Pasir Gudang and Sepang, incurring costs to cross the causeway etc. how to race? Should accelerate the phase of the Changi track so that those pseudo racers can get F&F without doing harm to anyone(maybe the fellow competitors when they crash). At least they have the sense to race in the night when not many cars around.If only people shared their woes, condemnation as a whole might be on the Govt for taking thier time dilly daily on the Changi track. huh? what kinda of logic is that? no legal place to race so use orchard road as a racing track???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 May be car cannot handle the stress and scrapped liao...so disappear lor... Maybe engine Chui after too much boost... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 cmon you guys aren't being fair to them, they don't even have a legal place to race,other than going to Pasir Gudang and Sepang, incurring costs to cross the causeway etc. how to race? Should accelerate the phase of the Changi track so that those pseudo racers can get F&F without doing harm to anyone(maybe the fellow competitors when they crash). At least they have the sense to race in the night when not many cars around.If only people shared their woes, condemnation as a whole might be on the Govt for taking thier time dilly daily on the Changi track. hi. as the saying goes, 'kiang tio ho, mai geh kiang'. Are you trying to make sense to us? In this feeble attempt to sound clever, you have lost track of the thought that racing on public streets are wrong in the first place! It's not like they HAVE TO race for a living. No. they are racing for the kick. So you're saying it's ok to do such irresponsible acts because no facilities are in place yet and you blame the government. Nice one la, kiddo. Stop playing wangan midnight and get back to your books. If you want to learn how to write a good and logical argument, tell me I'll teach you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 according to the ST report, this has been going on for some time, so how come world class matah only now then react ? Maybe some dudes in Oxley area made a feedback, else even a taxi uncle died from one of the evos also matah will not act. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 (edited) This is my written proposal to both the LTA and Singapore Traffic Polcie HQ: Dear Sir/Mdm., I write as a concerned local public member and as a motorist of over 20 years. Please help me, & please help protect our lives on the road. The matter of increasing Road Accidents resulting in increased (and still increasing) Insurance Premiums as well as Road Fatalities, has long been issues the relevant authorities have been addressing yearly. And with Drink Driving still obstinately practiced, the combination can be very fatal. With this in mind, I am hence writing to APPEAL for your consideration & NEEDFUL action, that some form or regulatory control (if not a BAN) be implemented on the import and sale of Performance Cars with Turbo Charger/s, and High Horse Power as well as the availability of Illegal Modification Components in the market. I refer to the recent crack down in Orchard Road on Illegal Racing, Reckless Driving and or Speeding, and also the unfortunate demise of one Taxi Driver (among many other road casualties) who was merely trying to make ends meet, caused by one Young and Reckless Aspiring Race Driver. With the availability of such affordable Japanese Edited April 22, 2009 by Cjgoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear April 22, 2009 Share April 22, 2009 Not that I think positively of those OG wannabe racers, but that post above this on the proposed regulation and ban on the sale of performance vehicles is just preposterous. There're more dangerous people out there than drivers of performance cars. The root cause of such things is not turbocharged vehicles or vehicles with high horsepower. It's drivers who're jerks with a total lack of responsibility. Just yesterday this red Estima signaled right and barged her way into my lane when she was just beside me as if my car were transparent, despite my horn. Do we now call for a ban on MPVs? Or a ban on lady drivers? Believe me, even if you ban the performance cars from being sold, these jerks will just resort to racing in their QQs, which is no less dangerous. Heck, it's even MORE dangerous since those things were never made to handle speed. What a short-sighted letter you've written. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 This is my written proposal to both the LTA and Singapore Traffic Polcie HQ: Dear Sir/Mdm., I write as a concerned local public member and as a motorist of over 20 years. Please help me, & please help protect our lives on the road. The matter of increasing Road Accidents resulting in increased (and still increasing) Insurance Premiums as well as Road Fatalities, has long been issues the relevant authorities have been addressing yearly. And with Drink Driving still obstinately practiced, the combination can be very fatal. With this in mind, I am hence writing to APPEAL for your consideration & NEEDFUL action, that some form or regulatory control (if not a BAN) be implemented on the import and sale of Performance Cars with Turbo Charger/s, and High Horse Power as well as the availability of Illegal Modification Components in the market. I refer to the recent crack down in Orchard Road on Illegal Racing, Reckless Driving and or Speeding, and also the unfortunate demise of one Taxi Driver (among many other road casualties) who was merely trying to make ends meet, caused by one Young and Reckless Aspiring Race Driver. With the availability of such affordable Japanese Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redlandzer Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 ya agree....loser post. if like that only need to BAN such cars...theni tink ALOT of things in spore or rather in the world needs to be ban... eh cjgoh...since u like write such letter....suggest u sth...ask government ban cigarette la...ho bo? come out so many pattern ask ppl dun smoke for wat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 why dun the OG drivers drive ard sin ming industrial estates whereby many funeral parlours and temple nearby as well as workshops....near to everything they want, they want to fix the car, workshops are there, want to have nice bed to rest funeral parlours nearby, want some chantings to rest and lay the soul, got temple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 My views in blue... This is my written proposal to both the LTA and Singapore Traffic Polcie HQ: Dear Sir/Mdm., I write as a concerned local public member and as a motorist of over 20 years. Please help me, & please help protect our lives on the road. Content removed to make quote shorter 1. Regulate the SALE of such cars by means of Age, Driving Records, & Driving Experience. Do you think the mentioned factors are enough to justify the prevention of performance car sales to reckless drivers? Age - The older the age doesn't equate to being more responsible. Driving records- The could be only 1 of the key considerations which i think is valid. Driving Experience- How do you determine it? You can get your license 10 years ago but you don't drive as frequently as someone with 1 year license who drove everyday. 2. To negate Under Age license holders from purchasing such cars via their older friends or family members if Age Regulation is implemented, make older license holders whom such cars are registered to, SOLEY liable to SERVERE PENALTIES (such as Revoking of License) if their car was driven by an Under Age. Again, please refer to my 1st point. Being older does not always equate to 100% more responsible on the roads, think of the taxi uncles you encounter everyday. 3. LIMIT or PROHIBIT import of Illegal Modification components for cars except for those deemed acceptable by LTA. Already been done. If there is a demand, there is always to way to get the parts in. After all, the workshop just to need to pay LTA to get things legalised or homologated. 4. Further Increase Car Insurance for young license holders. Most short-sighted and written with a tunnelled vision among all your suggestions. What about those youngsters who truely needs a car for livelihood? (sales job etc) As if the current insurance premiums are not high enough... 5. Impose additional TAX on such cars to increase their cost of ownership. What kind of TAX do you propose then? High performance road car tax? 6. BAN imports and sales of such cars in Singapore. What is a non car enthusiast doing in this forum ? 7. Increase FREQUENCY of VICOM inspection of such cars to weed out Illegal and or Dangerous Modifications. A valid point if the motive is to keep a tighter rein on illegal modifications. But how to be 100% sure? Some workshops are on good terms with inspection centres, customer pay $$$ to workshop to send in on their behalf for inspection. Illegal also can become legal in this case. To these concerns, I look forward and hope to hear favorably from you, and kindly forward these concerns and my suggestions to any relevant authorities you deem fit to review them for possible consideration, for the COMMON GOOD of all Bread and Butter Motorists in Singapore. People are daunted enough to make a living in Singapore without these inconsiderate and reckless drivers in Muscle Cars terrorizing and endangering our living. Your faitfully, me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freifeit Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 johor circuit (pasir gudang) is a better place.. go go go johor circuit : http://www.johorcircuit.com.my/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 I would say. go ahead and send in the letter.. then we will know who can suggest such things.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 This is my written proposal to both the LTA and Singapore Traffic Polcie HQ: Dear Sir/Mdm., I write as a concerned local public member and as a motorist of over 20 years. Please help me, & please help protect our lives on the road. The matter of increasing Road Accidents resulting in increased (and still increasing) Insurance Premiums as well as Road Fatalities, has long been issues the relevant authorities have been addressing yearly. And with Drink Driving still obstinately practiced, the combination can be very fatal. With this in mind, I am hence writing to APPEAL for your consideration & NEEDFUL action, that some form or regulatory control (if not a BAN) be implemented on the import and sale of Performance Cars with Turbo Charger/s, and High Horse Power as well as the availability of Illegal Modification Components in the market. I refer to the recent crack down in Orchard Road on Illegal Racing, Reckless Driving and or Speeding, and also the unfortunate demise of one Taxi Driver (among many other road casualties) who was merely trying to make ends meet, caused by one Young and Reckless Aspiring Race Driver. With the availability of such affordable Japanese Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 i think we have a forummer mid 50s, recently own a porche and other cars, few private properties, active in newspaper forum, perhaps can engage him to write to STForum, dun let such talent waste away in MCF..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Is there a need to stereotype all young drivers as road menace? Do u think your 20 years of driving experience makes u a safer driver than anyone else? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...