Fast and Furious kena Jam Brake!

Parkingidiot

Nothing is HARD for our government if they REALLY want to do things. Characteristically they often wait till the situation gets out of hand, and then they will step in with a Big Long Stick.

This is time, for them to step in with their Big Long Stick.

Please post LTA and TP's official reply once they got back to you. I am sure a lot of us want to know their reply to your letter...

Very simple, no funky cars no funky drivers.

You sound like you are some funky car dealer or agent..

Anyway, what about Italian super cars? Didn't hear you raise this point? I'd like to hear more...

Perhaps, tell me how beneficial are such powerful speed machines on our short little expressways?

Or perhaps how we can all speed in some legal fashion in such cars?

Singapore is unique, people don't learn without taking away what they cannot learn to use properly.

Sad but true... unfortunately. And yes, we are too small for self-correction to take place SLOWLY.

People have been tolerating LONG ENOUGH of such drivers in souped muscle cars.

It is eversince the introduction of cars like WRX that such races and road hazards escalated. Before that it was merely souped up cars, now cars are coming prepped to break sound barriers! What the hell for?

Are you a speed addict yourself? Fearing the worse out of my letter?

Personally I WILL see to it that this appeal and concern, gets heard and looked into.

So you people with over inflated egos can say goodbye to your pride machines.

Huh?! Since when if u ban funky cars there will be no funky driver?

U GOT SEE FUNKY DRIVER? THEY DRIVE ANYTHING. Mercedes la, Taxi, Van, Lorry. Please....

Think before you say such bold statement.

[sleeping] Thank goodness you are a mere letter writer/whiner...chances of your wish coming true is slim at most....at least you aren't the one making decisions in gahmen...

Oh yeah, if you really are running for parliament, can update us here? sure most guys would like to vote for "the other guy"...

I think these people post in car forum and reading their own post will SITM already...

Very simple, no funky cars no funky drivers.

You sound like you are some funky car dealer or agent..

Anyway, what about Italian super cars? Didn't hear you raise this point? I'd like to hear more...

Perhaps, tell me how beneficial are such powerful speed machines on our short little expressways?

Or perhaps how we can all speed in some legal fashion in such cars?

Singapore is unique, people don't learn without taking away what they cannot learn to use properly.

Sad but true... unfortunately. And yes, we are too small for self-correction to take place SLOWLY.

People have been tolerating LONG ENOUGH of such drivers in souped muscle cars.

It is eversince the introduction of cars like WRX that such races and road hazards escalated. Before that it was merely souped up cars, now cars are coming prepped to break sound barriers! What the hell for?

Are you a speed addict yourself? Fearing the worse out of my letter?

Personally I WILL see to it that this appeal and concern, gets heard and looked into.

So you people with over inflated egos can say goodbye to your pride machines.

We are a democratic modern country that enjoys the fruit of capitalism and consumerism. By LIMITING our choices, doesn't that soun communist? Do you think ALL decisions made by authorities around the world are for the benefit of the people? Why is smoking tobacco allowed even though its so harmful? T-A-X. Why not marijuana? Because you can't tax it! How about cars? Singapore needs money to keep itself alive. People may say that ministers are being overpaid, seriously, screw that, at least we're not at war. Some arms expert please tell me how much it costs to keep a GPMG firing for 10minutes?

Do you think anyone can BAN all cars that are too powerful or fast? If I earn $200,000 a mth, do you think I would be happy in a Lada? (please google i you're unsure) Would I pump RON 85 petrol? Would I drink from the same cup as everyone else? Eat from the same loaf as everyone else? If you think that is the PROPER way to run a country, I hereby invite you to Soviet Russia in 1975. Welcome to your great motherland!

So I wonder good Sir, what are you doing in a car forum if you so deeply hate automobiles. Already I find that MCF has a pretty strong vendetta against people who like to utilize the performance in their performance cars. I find your distaste for status cars extremely discomforting. So I wish you luck in banning super cars on Singapore's roads. And I do wish that you can show me a car that is even half as close to breaking the sound barrier.

Am I a speed addict? Yes. Motoring is in me. Some say that my blood is made out of synthetic engine oil, and that i'm 100% machine-washable.

Don't get the above statement? Time to open your eyes to the motoring world. Or maybe this website is more appropriate for you.

SBS Transit

Edited by Amortifiedpenguin

Yes, lets just wait for the authorties' replies.

I am also collecting all your responses to highlight public sentiments towards my suggestions and recommendations with regards, these dangerous machines' accessibility to the common motorists... particularly young and new license holders who are more apt to hold Racing Aspirations.

A BAN would be extreme I agree, BUT, I am more in hope that they will make Ownership of such cars, much more expensive and STRINGENT.

I will not argue with theose of you who are obviously addicted to and attracted to excessive Road Power. Let the authorities decide.

As you all know, the whole world knows Singaporeans have no 'Self-respect' as stated by Jacky Chan, over the Ban of Chewing Gum in Singapore. Same can become of the misuse of such cars - which can cost LIVES.

Similar effects with DRUGS.

Edited by Cjgoh

Yes, lets just wait for the authorties' replies.

I am also collecting all your responses to highlight public sentiments towards my suggestions and recommendations with regards, these dangerous machines' accessibility to the common motorists... particularly young and new license holders who are more apt to hold Racing Aspirations.

A BAN would be extreme I agree, BUT, I am more in hope that they will make Ownership of such cars, much more expensive and STRINGENT.

I will not argue with theose of you who are obviously addicted to and attracted to excessive Road Power. Let the authorities decide.

As you all know, the whole world knows Singaporeans have no 'Self-respect' as stated by Jacky Chan, over the Ban of Chewing Gum in Singapore. Same can become of the misuse of such cars - which can cost LIVES.

Similar effects with DRUGS.

Please do us all a favour and submit our replies to LTA as well so that we don't have to write in personally to show that Singapore is not made of close-minded short-sighted individuals such as yourself. Speak for yourself when you say that Singaporeans have no 'self-respect' btw. Let me add "no cow-sense" to that statement too.

Hello bro Cjgoh...who is Jacky Chan?? Is that the wanker that wants to donate wooden hut and than later wants to change his pig mind..yes donate..oh not don't donate..yes ok donate..??? [confused]

" It is eversince the introduction of cars like WRX that such races and road hazards escalated."

I put it to you..are you so sure that WRX so fast and furious?? Common lah don't be a pig headed!!!

If so.. better recommends Sillypore Motor Sport Assication to get WRX cars for our young upcoming and promising F1 drivers to drive WRXs for training!!!! [hur]

" Perhaps, tell me how beneficial are such powerful speed machines on our short little expressways?"

If Sillyporean could afford high performance cars...i don't see no reasons of stopping them.. [laugh]

Short little expressway so what?? There is always of driving up North, Sepang F1 and PG circuits..!! [thumbsup]

Damned it.. maybe you ..is you...couldn't afford a nice simple small TC car..is it?? [furious]

By the way..don't blame the cars...only the drivers are to be ban!!

Hello ban YOURSELF from driving and takes our "World Class Public transport" lah.... [bigcry]

post-29832-1240622905_thumb.jpg

GREEN EYE SOUR GRAPE

no money to drive such powerful machines, sit at home behind your computer and type c--k letters

money is everything, the day you get the wrx banned, i simply scrap mine and get an evo. there is no end of funky cars for those who want, is just a matter of having $$ or not

you obviously dont have any $$, so... SUCKS TO BE YOU

GREEN EYE SOUR GRAPE

well, probably cjgoh knows he cannot afford any sports car in his life that's why he can blatantly come up with such an argument.

i wonder what car he drives, how old is he..i thought Driftking is entertaining enough, didn't know got a communist like cjgoh talking so loud in forum. Who knows he is also a young punk driving an evo...getting his kicks out of identity creation as a constipated uncle facing mid-life crisis.

Is there a need to stereotype all young drivers as road menace? Do u think your 20 years of driving experience makes u a safer driver than anyone else?

quite true...

i have had pple in their 50s and above...behaving like road bullies..

forcefully cutting into pple's lane...

no choice but to give them the birdie..

so u are def right to say...wad u said [sweatdrop]

6-SECOND RACE CAR

More MPVs, family sedans get illegally souped up to be 'undercover' race cars, like this Proton that goes from zero to 100kmh in 6 seconds

By Zaihan Mohamed Yusof

TNP

April 27, 2009

ORCHARD Road recently made headlines as an illegal race circuit as racers recklessly drove their souped-up cars dangerously close to other unsuspecting motorists.

But not all the cars involved are those known for their speed, such as the Subaru WRX, the Mitsubishi Evo and the Honda Civic Type R.

Witnesses have reported seeing unlikely 'race' cars like MPVs and family sedans roaring along 'Orchard Gudang', in reference to Johor's Pasir Gudang race track.

Three mechanics we spoke to said that the trend of modifying 'non-traditional' sports cars has been gaining popularity.

Said one mechanic, who wanted to be known as Ah Kiong: 'When you drive a small capacity car or a family sedan, you can't go fast. But with aftermarket parts and a deep pocket, anything is possible.'

Ah Kiong said such car owners usually look for more power and better handling.

Such modifications don't come cheap.

This year alone, he has upgraded 10 small cars, improving the engines, brakes and suspensions.

And a $30,000 price tag for modifications is 'normal' compared to the $150,000 which one owner spent on his Honda sports car recently, he said.

MORE HORSEPOWER: A mechanic reveals the 2-litre Mitsubishi Evo 3 engine under the hood of the Proton Wira sedan.

At another workshop in Ang Mo Kio, a racer-turned-mechanic, who wanted to be known as Die, said he has seen more owners of Honda Jazz, Toyota Vios and even MPVs asking about souping up their cars in the last three years.

Said Die: 'Some customers think that by changing their ECU (electronic control unit) they can gain 25 bhp (brake horsepower). I tell them the most you can gain is 8 bhp.'

To gain more power, owners will need to pay much more, like one of Die's customers.

An oil rigger in his 30s bought a 1.3-litre Proton Wira as a weekend car three years ago for family use.

The owner's brother, Mr Rashad, told The New Paper on Sunday about the extreme modifications made to the car.

Said Mr Rashad, whom we met at a car forum: 'My brother is never satisfied. After a few months of driving, he will always ask the mechanic, 'What's next?'.'

After going through six hop-up stages - all considered illegal modifications - the Wira now makes 250 bhp with a 2-litre Mitsubishi Evo 3 engine.

Its brakes, suspension, ECU and exhaust system have also been improved.

It was previously a 1.6-litre engine equipped with a nitrous oxide kit, re-bored cylinders and a turbo-charger.

The cost so far ? A cool $30,000.

Said Mr Rashad: 'It's now a 6-second car (capable of accelerating from 0 to 100kmh in six seconds). It can easily beat some bigger sports cars. My younger brother's only requirement (to the mechanic) is to build a fast car without giving a hint to its capabilities.'

A yellow sticker on the boot, which says, 'Fast, but not Furious', belies what's under the hood.

Mr Rashad said most drivers who had tried to 'challenge' his brother, had been shocked by the Wira's acceleration.

But wouldn't it be cheaper just to buy a Japanese sports car from the start?

Die explained that the thrill was to 'see your car grow' even if it means risking a stiff penalty from the authorities for illegal modifications.

The mechanic added that he had been asked by Mr Rashad's brother to search for an MPV capable of being 'modded' like the Proton.

Perhaps Mr Stephen Lee's MPV could fit the bill.

This $80,000, 1.8-litre Toyota Wish family-mover carries a hefty punch.

Said Mr Lee, a tourism industry lecturer, 35: 'I caught the itch when I got to know 10 other Wish owners via the car forums. We influenced each other when it came to improving the MPV's looks and performance.'

Mr Lee wanted to build a good-looking MPV with better power and torque capable of outrunning other MPVs.

He said: 'Of course, I'm selective when it comes to who I race against on the street. I don't bother trying to challenge faster, smaller Japanese cars.'

Mr Lee then got flashy rims, better suspension, a carbon fibre bonnet and a powerful sound system complete with soundproofing.

He was $20,000 poorer but still wasn't satisfied.

Said Mr Lee: 'I realised that my Wish was now 100kg heavier. I know it will not fly unless I modify it. I wanted better performance to compensate for the additional weight.'

He began his engine 'mod' with new throttle bodies, a bigger air filter, a tuneable ignition module and a $4,000 exhaust system from Toyota Racing Development.

He had the windows tinted, added curtains and replaced the standard emblems with $3,000 diamond-like bling-blings.

Added Mr Lee: 'I want people to appreciate my MPV's seamless bodywork. At the same time, if they want to 'play play', I'm ready.'

But before you tweak you car, consider the consequences.

Last year, there were 1,746 cases of illegal modification offences, comprising modified exhausts, tinted windows and various lighting infringements, said a Land Transport Authority (LTA) spokesman.

First-time offenders can be fined up to $1,000 or jailed up to 3 months. The penalties could be double for repeat offenders.

Motorists should seek LTA's advice before proceeding with modifications.

Those caught speeding can be fined $2,000 or jailed six months. They may also lose their driving licence.

Edited by Cjgoh

cmon you guys aren't being fair to them, they don't even have a legal place to race,other than going to Pasir Gudang and Sepang, incurring costs to cross the causeway etc. how to race? Should accelerate the phase of the Changi track so that those pseudo racers can get F&F without doing harm to anyone(maybe the fellow competitors when they crash). At least they have the sense to race in the night when not many cars around.If only people shared their woes, condemnation as a whole might be on the Govt for taking thier time dilly daily on the Changi track. [thumbsdown]

Gee, I've always wanted to build my own bomb as my hobby but there is no proper place to test it out. Why is gahmen restricting me to pursue what I like to do?

I see.....but how about the traffic lights? Don't care is it??

The reason why Orchard is because there is no RED light camera....

Don't believe... go find 1 along OG route... you can never find one... but now maybe have liao..

I can't believe there are still ppl playing in OG... hahahahahaha... so funny... but hope those f@rkers all kanna caught.... they are the black sheep on the road.... Useless.

I did hear from a friend that this DK is for real. He actually saw a what seemed to be a TC'ed A168 zoomed past my friend (driving a Turbo Colt) along Orchard at about 4am....

But so far Driftking has disappeared from the forum scene...

Hahahahahahahahahaha you sounds like you are DK!!! [smash]

I seriously don't think any workshop in SG or MY know how to TC a A168 lor hahahahahhaa...

You think TC so easy one ah.... just put a turbo ah hahahahaha.... also don't think a person driving a A168 can afford a customise piping and intercooler lor hahahahahahaha.....

You are DK right???!!! [rifle]

[rolleyes] Its a kid posting..he thinks racing on public roads is fun...wonder if he'll feel the same way when those racers kill his family members?