Darkblue 1st Gear May 3, 2009 Share May 3, 2009 You sell Amsoil Ea air filter ?? hard to find ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 You sell Amsoil Ea air filter ?? hard to find Nope, too many types and model to keep stocks but maybe can consider bring in the universal 3" pod type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear May 4, 2009 Share May 4, 2009 Great news. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infernose Neutral Newbie May 8, 2009 Share May 8, 2009 its not the filter that cause CEL, but the MAF/MAP adaptor. use one that's best matching against the stock intake. if you use one that's too big, more than half the time u'll get CEL. hurricane filters let in more dirt, need to change engine oil more regularly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leetgod Neutral Newbie May 8, 2009 Share May 8, 2009 OT abit.. Hurricane and Simota stainless steel air filter, which is better? Any advise? Thanks What about K&N filter? Any good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear May 10, 2009 Share May 10, 2009 (edited) K&N are much better than stainless steel mesh filters at filtering out dirt and dust particles. IMHO, it's too big a price to pay for small improvement in improvement by using steel mesh filters. i would prefer K&N but the downside is that cleaning (though infrequent) is quite a hassle Edited May 10, 2009 by Jamesgetz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bettertomorrow Neutral Newbie May 10, 2009 Share May 10, 2009 To be frank. Want good filtration and want performance and faster air flow. Where to find? I use Hurricane drop in for 3 years. No problem. Previous ride on K&N. My MAF sensor also go kaput as that check light came up... lucky some cleaning was made by a mechanic to save the day. After this lesson.. no more oil filter for me. I use back my paper filter... but too bad.. don't have that push I want. What I do? I take out that paper filter to cut a few holes.. haha.. I read somewhere got someone claimed that even paper filter also got those paper hair or fiber that that may also go into the engine. I really observe the paper filter and indeed.. there are. So, is it so sure that technically those stuff or dirt will goes into the engine and causes abrasion to the engine moving parts? Or does those stuff actually only ends up into the combustion chamber? Coz I heard many ppl said that don't use Hurricane, it will damage engine. But why not say it will damage the combustion chamber? Air filter is to filter air.. and it links to the throttle body with vacuum that goes into the combustion chamber to provide air and fuel mixture. So, how does the engine comes in? Sorry, don't lut me.. I am also trying to learn. heehee.. I saw many ppl install those little breather (filter). Arrhh.. that stuff actually got some engine oil stain over the time. Is it this is the stuff that cause damage to the engine leh? Even if I am on paper filter. I always have the habit to have to throttlebody clean every 25 or 30k km. IMO... All after market performance filter will surely don't have the filtration effect that paper has. Unless that after market filter is also made of paper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 12, 2009 Share May 12, 2009 As mentioned, its the MAP/MAF sensor that would be most affected by an air filter change (not O2 sensor). But for drop in type, the piping size is not changed, so the flow rate is not messed up to warrant it a cause for CEL. Unless the car's intake sensor is so sensitive and cannot handle the faster flow. For non-oiling type filters, one can try those fibre (not foam) ones from Blitz, AEM, etc.... provides good air flow without the need for oiling. I'm personally using the AEM pod which does not require oiling and is the washable type. Get 2 of these so that when one is being used, the other can be washed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 To be frank. Want good filtration and want performance and faster air flow. Where to find? I use Hurricane drop in for 3 years. No problem. Previous ride on K&N. My MAF sensor also go kaput as that check light came up... lucky some cleaning was made by a mechanic to save the day. After this lesson.. no more oil filter for me. I use back my paper filter... but too bad.. don't have that push I want. What I do? I take out that paper filter to cut a few holes.. haha.. I read somewhere got someone claimed that even paper filter also got those paper hair or fiber that that may also go into the engine. I really observe the paper filter and indeed.. there are. So, is it so sure that technically those stuff or dirt will goes into the engine and causes abrasion to the engine moving parts? Or does those stuff actually only ends up into the combustion chamber? Coz I heard many ppl said that don't use Hurricane, it will damage engine. But why not say it will damage the combustion chamber? Air filter is to filter air.. and it links to the throttle body with vacuum that goes into the combustion chamber to provide air and fuel mixture. So, how does the engine comes in? Sorry, don't lut me.. I am also trying to learn. heehee.. I saw many ppl install those little breather (filter). Arrhh.. that stuff actually got some engine oil stain over the time. Is it this is the stuff that cause damage to the engine leh? Even if I am on paper filter. I always have the habit to have to throttlebody clean every 25 or 30k km. IMO... All after market performance filter will surely don't have the filtration effect that paper has. Unless that after market filter is also made of paper. How it happens is that when the fine dust get suck into the combustion chamber, mixed with fuel and exploded. The residue dust(SI) get stuck onto the combustion chamber wall which is coated by a thin layer of engine oil, when the piston move towards the TDC again, the SI will get drag/mix with the fresh coat of engine oil, these mixture of abrasive SI will increase piston ring wear and if high enough concentration, will loaded up the engine oil up with these abrasive mixture. (That's why ppl who used SS filter will find their engine get black much faster) If that happens, all moving parts that is lubricated by the engine oil will have an elevated wear rate, so instead of protecting the engine with lubrication, it's like sand blasting the internal, this will much lower the design life of the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 How it happens is that when the fine dust get suck into the combustion chamber, mixed with fuel and exploded. The residue dust(SI) get stuck onto the combustion chamber wall which is coated by a thin layer of engine oil, when the piston move towards the TDC again, the SI will get drag/mix with the fresh coat of engine oil, these mixture of abrasive SI will increase piston ring wear and if high enough concentration, will loaded up the engine oil up with these abrasive mixture. (That's why ppl who used SS filter will find their engine get black much faster) If that happens, all moving parts that is lubricated by the engine oil will have an elevated wear rate, so instead of protecting the engine with lubrication, it's like sand blasting the internal, this will much lower the design life of the engine. I suppose this would take a long time or pass a certain high mileage. Unless you are driving in the desert or dusty conditions all the time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 I suppose this would take a long time or pass a certain high mileage. Unless you are driving in the desert or dusty conditions all the time. Depends how you define "long time", some ppl feel 3yr is long while some ppl feel 3yr is very short. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 (edited) How it happens is that when the fine dust get suck into the combustion chamber, mixed with fuel and exploded. The residue dust(SI) get stuck onto the combustion chamber wall which is coated by a thin layer of engine oil, when the piston move towards the TDC again, the SI will get drag/mix with the fresh coat of engine oil, these mixture of abrasive SI will increase piston ring wear and if high enough concentration, will loaded up the engine oil up with these abrasive mixture. (That's why ppl who used SS filter will find their engine get black much faster) If that happens, all moving parts that is lubricated by the engine oil will have an elevated wear rate, so instead of protecting the engine with lubrication, it's like sand blasting the internal, this will much lower the design life of the engine. I dun think hurriance filter will cause much of a problem. used it on my car for 2 years liao, current car age is 2/1/2 years old so far so good. as long as you do regular servicing dun be late should be ok. just a thought the engine so weak meh?? fine dust particle will cause so much wear and tear?? Singapore PSI below 50 as long as you use service log recommand oil eg. 5w-40 stick to 5w-40 not thiner oil like 5w-30 should be ok. I compare my own body to my car leh, I do jogging 10km regularly also need alot of air my lung suck air like nobody business, lung also ok :p dun need N95 mask at least our air not like HK or Beijing Edited May 31, 2009 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerhouse Clutched May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 I still prefer to use K&N filter , used it for more than a year, still good and running fine. The mechanic check out my MAF sensor and its not so dirty compare with using H Brand steel filters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lau22 Neutral Newbie May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 i use scope to measure the hurricane filter hole, the hole size is around 0.15mm. Later i measure a piece of my hair, my hair diameter is only 0.10mm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lau22 Neutral Newbie May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 try to stop your car when going uphill, then accelerate again from still. it will give you the answer of a less compression piston ring due to weak filtration. this is what i encounter after using H filter for 3 years, fyi i change my engine oil every 7kkm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amortifiedpenguin Clutched May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 I dun think hurriance filter will cause much of a problem. used it on my car for 2 years liao, current car age is 2/1/2 years old so far so good. as long as you do regular servicing dun be late should be ok. just a thought the engine so weak meh?? fine dust particle will cause so much wear and tear?? Singapore PSI below 50 as long as you use service log recommand oil eg. 5w-40 stick to 5w-40 not thiner oil like 5w-30 should be ok. I compare my own body to my car leh, I do jogging 10km regularly also need alot of air my lung suck air like nobody business, lung also ok :p dun need N95 mask at least our air not like HK or Beijing sorry to dispute you but i have to say this- the engine is more sensitive than your lungs. our body is organic, it can discharge particles naturally. we have multiple layers of filters and sensors too- nose hair, mucus, saliva; olfactory sensors, nerve endings etc. the car only has 1 filter, paper or aftermarket and MAF. I clear my stock paper filter once a month and everytime im in for a surprise (partially because i'm using direct CAI to bumper) 1st time, found 1 moth, 3 flowery seeds from tree 1 small leaf. 2nd time found a beetle. 3rd time my own hair. 4th time some sand in the airbox (jeep chee area outside got some construction sand all over). All times there are specks of black dirt and dust. Seriously, i do NOT want any of this to enter my engine. so N95 mask for my engine? yes please, thanks, i'll have 2. is it ripe? can i squeeze it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 sorry to dispute you but i have to say this- the engine is more sensitive than your lungs. our body is organic, it can discharge particles naturally. we have multiple layers of filters and sensors too- nose hair, mucus, saliva; olfactory sensors, nerve endings etc. the car only has 1 filter, paper or aftermarket and MAF. I clear my stock paper filter once a month and everytime im in for a surprise (partially because i'm using direct CAI to bumper) 1st time, found 1 moth, 3 flowery seeds from tree 1 small leaf. 2nd time found a beetle. 3rd time my own hair. 4th time some sand in the airbox (jeep chee area outside got some construction sand all over). All times there are specks of black dirt and dust. Seriously, i do NOT want any of this to enter my engine. so N95 mask for my engine? yes please, thanks, i'll have 2. is it ripe? can i squeeze it? Bro, your findings are interesting and not so bad. I have found dead baby cockroaches and tiny insects when I cleaned my stock paper filter on one of the occasions. Maybe my car will develop wings after these stuff were digested into the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 31, 2009 Share May 31, 2009 Depends how you define "long time", some ppl feel 3yr is long while some ppl feel 3yr is very short. Reasonable definition of "long time" may be from 7 years onwards. Economy is bad. We might want to leave the option of renewing the COE of the current car open. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...