Kena langah - Some questions about insurance & reporting

Icekitten

Was hit from behind by a lady WRX driver yesterday on Lane 1 on Keppel Flyover around 7pm.

There was a jam due to an earlier accident there and traffic was slow-moving, start-stop type. My car was almost coming to a stop when my front passenger and I both heard and felt an impact from behind. Put on hazard lights and alighted to check. The black WRX behind me was positioned like it was filtering out to Lane 2. I didn't even brake suddenly, so couldn't be she didn't manage to stop in time. Seemed like she wanted to filter to Lane 2 for some reason, not sure misjudged or what and swiped my rear.

At first the lady WRX driver denied that she hit my car. Ok, my car was super dirty and dusty so there was a lot of chalky dust on my black bumper. No dent. I tried wiping off some of the dust on my bumper, at first saw only some small scratches at the left corner of my rear bumper. There were long white marks on the right corner of the WRX's front bumper. The lady driver was pretty attitude, insisted it's just dirt. My friend and I told her we clearly felt and heard an impact. I wiped the dirt (which was from my car anyway) away and pointed out a long thick and deep scratch. Then she LL, said oh is it, ok sorry.

Cars behind were horning coz the black WRX was already slightly in Lane 2 and traffic was building up. We exchanged name, IC & hp numbers, snapped some pics of the damage and moved off. I didn't write any statement for her to sign and admit her fault but I quickly snapped a pic of the position of her car. It was all quite chop chop, maybe 10 min or less.

I didn't stay to inspect damage more thoroughly partly due to the traffic held up behind, and I thought the damage to my car was minor and I hadn't decided if I wanted to claim anything. And I was also on crutches la, not as easy to squat and check properly.

At night, inspected the damage at the MSCP with my hubby. Cleaned off more dust & dirt and found a long, deep scratch at the side of my rear bumper, just after the left corner of the rear bumper. Looked similar to the scratch mark on the right corner of the WRX's front bumper. I don't think it was noticeable from the exterior but I just tried shaking bumper and it felt shaky. Hubby bent down to check and said one of the clips underneath holding the bumper in place was either bent or broken. Had to let workshop check and rectify.

He asked me to call the gal later to request for a settlement.

Okay, some questions:

Regarding the new law about making accident report within 24 hours, can we report first but decide to claim or not later?

Or does it mean that once I report means I have to claim insurance?

I hope we can settle privately but just in case she does any delaying tactics for any reason, I don't want to end up not being eligible to claim if I don't make a report within 24 hours.

Say she refuses to settle. If I go ahead to make a report, but she doesn't, can I still claim against her insurance? Or does it mean I claim my own insurance and lose my NCD in the process?

Hope to get some advice ASAP. Thanks!

Initial scratches I found :

090417191715.jpg

Swipe mark on WRX bumper:

090417191743.jpg

WRX position:

090417191851.jpg

Scratch I found later on:

090418013944.jpg

Edited by Icekitten

That's why I posted pics. You see urself lor. The first pic is before I wiped off the dust. It's an original stock bumper so under the paint is black ABS material. If it's a fibre aftermarket bumper maybe cracked liao.

I'm suspecting when she hit my car the bumper might have gone in and popped out again coz I recognised the 'KROCK' sound during the impact.

Was ever in a friend's Lancer, stopped at a red light when a Civic rear-ended us. The Civic's nose was buried into the Lancer's rear bumper but when the Civic reversed to inspect damage, the Lancer rear bumper popped out again and there were only fine scratch marks similar to those in my 1st pic.

make a report and file a claim within 24hrs, see wat insurance u with

today most open till 5pm

print the pictures and pass to them as well

just provide all 3rd party details

actually hor, for such a minor case, i would prefer she pay me on the spot, $100-$150 should be enough to fix the bumper and case close..... if go insurance, it will become like 2-3K kind of claim...and who suffer in the end???... :wacko:

So it means that once I make a report, it's tantamount to making a claim too?

So which means if we are to settle privately, she must settle with me by this afternoon?

I was thinking can I report first, so that at least I meet the 24-hr reporting window, then only if she is unable or not willing to pay the settlement amount, then I file a claim?

So then claim is as a 3rd party or my own insurance?

What happens if I file a report and claim but she does not even file a report?

Actually scratches can just settle among yourselves. Since it's her fault, she will pay for your damages. Straight forward issue and no need to write story about what happen to insurance coy. She will not loose her NCB/D and her insurance coy won't have the chance to raise her already high premiums. Your insurance won't be affected if it's not your fault.

If I were you, I would just settle it without involving the insurance. Anyway it's your call, you decide whether you wanna claim her insurance or not.

I believe you still have to report to your insurance company but you are still accessing the damage and have not decided whether to claim the other party. This can protect yourself from becoming the victim instead if the other party plays punk.

actually hor, for such a minor case, i would prefer she pay me on the spot, $100-$150 should be enough to fix the bumper and case close..... if go insurance, it will become like 2-3K kind of claim...and who suffer in the end???... :wacko:

Yup, my hubby told me should be around that amount too.

But just in case la. Coz thinking back, she was so attitude and kept denying she hit me at first. Who knows if she may chut pattern? I also don't want to end up like she agree to pay but can't give me the money immediately. Then I would fall out of the 24-hr reporting window by then.

Just hoping for those who have experience to advise me.

You just call her now and tell her not to waste time and ask her how she wanna settle it. Give her a dateline and if she dun call you by a certain time to confirm, you just report it to your insurance company.

If she give you attitude again, hang up and go straight to your insurance coy and submit report.

So it means that once I make a report, it's tantamount to making a claim too?

So which means if we are to settle privately, she must settle with me by this afternoon?

I was thinking can I report first, so that at least I meet the 24-hr reporting window, then only if she is unable or not willing to pay the settlement amount, then I file a claim?

So then claim is as a 3rd party or my own insurance?

What happens if I file a report and claim but she does not even file a report?

Maybe this would be useful to you.........click on the section on FAQs

http://www.gia.org.sg/industry_motor_mcf.php

They've forgotten the word "KARMA"....what goes round comes round again...... [rolleyes]

i would say she stupid for not offer to settle privately since she bang people and not the other way round... she doesn't know the back guy is normally 100% at fault and it's obvious this round????... perhaps she so used to being "bang" from backside by bf and no experience on the other way round..... [laugh]

File report (always) and advise the insurance company you are negotiating a private settlement.

Go to a workshop and ask for an estimate of the repair cost. Ask insurance company/workshop for your odds of claiming 100% on her insurance policy (so that it will not affect your NCD in the future).

Assuming you have a strong case, call the other party and advise him/her accordingly. If possible, find out her NCD and excess. If it is 50% and excess is above your estimated cost of repair, drive a hard bargain by asking for immediate cash settlement by a certain deadline, failing which you will file a third party claim. If you know the other party's cost and benefit analysis, you will be in a better position to plot your next move. (ie. if low excess and no NCD, good luck). If agreeable by the other driver, ask insurance company for private settlement form, get it sign within the next few days, fax it to your insurance company and close the file.

I suggest private settlement as the damages are relatively minor on both vehicles, no point claiming on each other, fighting it out and donating more monies to lawyers, car workshops and insurance companies (ie. renewal premiums of both parties).

It is insurance and it is always about maths.

Edited by Voodooman