LauSaiKia Neutral Newbie October 18, 2009 Share October 18, 2009 Well for voltage shld be at least 12.5v and the CCA at least above 300 depending on the vehicle itself..For a NS60 battery u will have problem starting if its below 300. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 Well for voltage shld be at least 12.5v and the CCA at least above 300 depending on the vehicle itself..For a NS60 battery u will have problem starting if its below 300. Wonder if there is one that monitors voltage and CCA at realtime ? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eightynineten Neutral Newbie October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 actually i think battery very hard to tell how is the life left. i've had those water type of battery last me 3 years but some of the dry cells only last around 2 years. i always take care never crank with aircon or radio on and no heavy ICE system in my car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 actually i think battery very hard to tell how is the life left. i've had those water type of battery last me 3 years but some of the dry cells only last around 2 years. i always take care never crank with aircon or radio on and no heavy ICE system in my car. My stock dry cell battery lasted 40K. It is difficult to tell hence the need for a digital monitor to at least give some tell-tale sign of battery depleting. I frequent MY so I don't want a case of battery failed and I can't restart my car in ulu places . I also have a TPMS to tell me the tyre pressure and temperature at real-time. I feel safer with them when traveling on NSH too. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 The most reliable and time test method of testing lead acid flood battery is to check the battery diluted sulphric acid with a hydrometer. Many professional batterymen sometime still have to re-comfirm the battery health status with this simple hydrometer even after testing with a high class professional CCA or high discharge tester. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 The most simple and most reliable method is to bring a long a fully charged spare battery in yr car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 The most simple and most reliable method is to bring a long a fully charged spare battery in yr car. Plus. 4 spare tyre or may be just tow a spare car along [swe atdrop] Ok, me bad Back to the question, any expert out there care to share the basic construction of the battery? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 Basic wet cell battery are made of lead plates stacked together and sulphuric acid as electrolyte. Do read here: http://www.batteryfaq.org/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LauSaiKia Neutral Newbie October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 wow...you are a battery specialist...you dun sell battery do you?.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear October 19, 2009 Share October 19, 2009 My dry cell battery's indicator shown healthy state but still failed. So visual check may not always be reliable too. Regards, my new amaron MF battery doesn't comes with that indicator window anymore . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 20, 2009 Share October 20, 2009 The most simple and most reliable method is to bring a long a fully charged spare battery in yr car. A friend of mine used to bring along a spare battery in his SUV. I'm not sure whether he is still doing it till today. He also keeps a box of barang barang (tools), another box of detailing kits and a small pile in his car. Very well prepared . Not my cup of tea though. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 20, 2009 Share October 20, 2009 my new amaron MF battery doesn't comes with that indicator window anymore . Probably cut down on manufacturing cost plus they knew it will not be accurate anyway . How much did you pay for your battery, what is the voltage? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dxynpc Neutral Newbie November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 you might want to check this out http://www.dxyn-auto.com/sg/features.htm crank checks based on combined CCA and voltage (Power) constant alternator checks based on voltage (real-time color voltmeter) on-site installation promo now on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 Given that the title of this thread is highly relevant to my question, pardon me if you can and hopefully you can give me an answer. Given two identical powerplants of which one has been engineered to put out greater torque at crank, does it means that the battery has to do more work to produce the necessary cranking power to start the engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 The most simple and most reliable method is to bring a long a fully charged spare battery in yr car. wah bway sai lah. car battery heavy leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 9, 2009 Share November 9, 2009 A 18amp hr seal gel battery will do the work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SporeHongkong Neutral Newbie November 11, 2009 Share November 11, 2009 me driving an old 90+ civic..nowadays start car got some slowness n some times cannot start car immed if i stop after driving for quite a while..need wait awhile before can restart..signs of battery dying soon? think its dry type of batt..any idea how much will it costs to replace it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Applez Neutral Newbie December 1, 2009 Share December 1, 2009 me driving an old 90+ civic..nowadays start car got some slowness n some times cannot start car immed if i stop after driving for quite a while..need wait awhile before can restart..signs of battery dying soon? think its dry type of batt..any idea how much will it costs to replace it? I can get for you amaron or volta 45AH battery for $90/- C&C with 1 yr warranty.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...