Crazy Dangerous Driver along Commonwealth Ave West

Dennisk

you are jz so suay lor to bump into such a driver...

Anyway, last time when a car swerved into my lane, and i swerved to another to avoid collision, i kena flamed up down left right... how come you can huh.. haha...

Time: Around 8.00pm

Encounter: Honda Oddessy with 2 aunty passenger

Was sending my wife back from dinner driving along Commonwealth Ave West coming down from Clementi, just after i entered into the Dover sector after the cross junction, this driver driving Honda Oddessy (SFK60*7*) came out cutting into my lane just after filtering out from clementi Rd (from Sunset way). He didn't care/see whether my car is coming from behind, at the filter lane, he should have stop to see approaching cars, instead he drove down the filter lane straight away cutting into the 2nd/center lane where my car was already approaching. I started to horn thinking that most probably he will be cutting into my lane...it happened to fast, not enough time to jam brakes, i swerve to the 1st lane almost hitting/brushing his back, luckily there isn't any car in the first lane.

Seconds after driving pass his car along that stretch of road, he horned back at me and non-stop high beaming...i ignored him and maintained my cruising speed. i was about 8 car length away from him, remembered that he was quite far behind looking at the rear mirror... was still high beaming me... BueTaHan[shakehead].

I ignored then continued to drive, until he caught up with me along Dover Rd traffic light. It was red light ahead, i slowed down still in center lane, he drove pass me in the 1st lane while i'm slowing down. As the traffic light turns green, i started accelerating, the CRAZY waited for me driving at a slower speed in the first lane, when i was about to pass him, he swerve his whole car with 2 passengers inside to the left, i was shocked and stunned. Luckily i reacted fast enough to turn my car away from him. SIAO! [furious]

I was damn pissed off. [furious] ]

I drove behind his car don't want to get into any accident. Ahead was another traffic light along the Bouna Vista Mrt, i switched to the 3rd lane as i needed to make a left turn in front after the traffic lights, as i was driving to towards the traffic light, he slowed down again... i'm worried that he will do the same stunt again. Guess what, he swerve his car to my lane and JAM Brakes this time round. I forsee that he will do it again, i was prepared, JAM my brakes and screeching of my tyres was heard. f**king Hell ! [furious]

After that i released my seat belt, put on hazard lights, open my door wanting to go down and [furious] the guy upside down. After that saw the green man was going to turn red in a few seconds. Changed my decision closed my door and continued driving, Highbeam him all the way till i make my left turn. Damn Pissed off! [furious]

What are you trying to do? This is not bumper car!

Seems like he don't mind getting involved in accident. Damn Dangerous!

Bro, should have asked ur wife to take video and then send to police lah.

I also met a similar oddessy driver at dover rd in the daytime. hope is not the same driver.

Wat color is the car har....

u all talking about friendstar? [grin]

That's why I have been recommending to my close friends to get a car video camera to protect themselves against road rage, and false blame in accidents. I got mine at www.DriveSurveillance.com. I was involved in a recent road accident with another driver who was weaving in and out of traffic. I was falsely blamed in the end. Regretted not installing the vid camera earlier. If I had video evidence, it would have saved me alot of unjustified cost and time!

Different drivers behaves differently on the road...

That why....

Brother..... relax lah....take it as nothing happened lah...

Take it that these people no brian lah...and important: they are siao...

Everytime on the road whenever I saw these type of driver trying to provoke us......

I always show there mine expressionless faces, basically no reaction....bo chiao face...

Sure they can't do anything liao....and more angry...

Life is like that ...are they worth for you to angry???

There are more things for you to worry leh...

Hahahhahahahahhahahaha [drivingcar]

Nowaday driving on singapore road very chanellging leh.....

You must not only cannot ram others people car...

You must not let other have the chances to ram yours too...

If not....jia lart jia lart liao......SI BEI TUA KE !!!!

That's why I have been recommending to my close friends to get a car video camera to protect themselves against road rage, and false blame in accidents. I got mine at www.DriveSurveillance.com. I was involved in a recent road accident with another driver who was weaving in and out of traffic. I was falsely blamed in the end. Regretted not installing the vid camera earlier. If I had video evidence, it would have saved me alot of unjustified cost and time!

Hey. I'm interested in this device. Any feedback on it? How is the built quality?

Is it the PRO version?

TIA

I absolutely agree with you on the above.

Btw, I am also a poor man. [thumbsup]

We shouldn't call ourselves poor. Poor means permanently broke. Im sure all of us are just broke and not poor. Got to have a positive mindset man.

The behaviour of this driver you encountered, is totally UNACCEPTABLE and we shouldn't condone with such motorists.

However, your relating this incident here in this forum is of LITTLE use. Acquire and install a set of in-vehicle video recorder cameras for front and rear. This way, you have SOLID video evidence that is also VALID in Court should anything happen to you (touch wood luckily nothing did happened..) apart from being a good FORMAT of Public Feedback to the Traffic Police, the Police (as this appears to be Intimidation with a Dangerous Weapon) or, LTA.

To all of you who use your vehicle in a dangerous manner by swerving into another party's lane, jamming brake, etc.; please NOTE that YOU can be CHARGED for Criminal Intimidation or Intimidation with a Dangerous Weapon. Penalty is servere. Use your BRAINS (if any), not your EGO (unless this is all you possess), before you act or react.

On the matter of using one's horn or high-beaming;

I must say that there is a Mental Problem here in Singapore amongst motorists, and this has A LOT to do with the way and or the system that people grew up with and under which resulted in a people with a gross lack of Grace, Respect, and Consideration for others.

If and when you have to honk at the other party, please keep a distance after that, or, strategically place yourself in traffic wherein the other party will find difficult to retaliate in a dangerous manner. Avoid confrontation if the other party stops and gets down to confront you in an unreasonable way. Instead keep your in-car video recorder running in case the aggressor kicks and damages your vehicle, so that you may lodge a Magistrate's Complaint in order to recoup damages and costs. Getting into a physical fight with the other party, will land both of you in Court.

'Fighting' and self-defence in Singapore as a motorist, is all about EVIDENCE and PROOF OF ALLEGATION.

The only way to weed out such Road Thugs and Road Rage, is to increase the number of in-vehicle video recorder users. Once these Road Hooligans knows that their actions are being recorded, and many have been convicted in Court by use of video proof, these people will be better able to keep their act together when driving.

Edited by Cjgoh

http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...rousdriving.htm

Information on Dangerous , Inconsiderate and Careless Driving Dangerous Driving

The Law - Section 64(1) of the Road Traffic Act Chapter 276 states:

"If any person drives a motor vehicle on a road recklessly, or at a speed or in a manner which is dangerous to the public, having regard to all the circumstances of the case , including the nature, condition and use of the road, and the amount of traffic which is actually at the time, or which might reasonably be expected to be, on the road, he shall be guilty of an offence under this Act and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $3,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both, and in the case of a second or subsequent conviction to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years or to both."

Section 64(2) of the Road Traffic Act states:

"On the second or subsequent conviction under this section, the convicting court shall exercise the power conferred by section 42 of ordering that the offender shall be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving licence unless the court, having regard to the lapse of time since the date of the previous or last previous conviction or for any other special reason, thinks fit to order otherwise, but this provision shall not be construed as affecting the right of the court to exercise the power aforesaid on a first conviction."

Section 64(4) of the Road Traffic Act states:

"Any police officer may arrest without warrant any person committing an offence under this section."

Examples of Dangerous Driving

Failure to conform to the Pedestrian Crossing Rules resulting in pedestrians taking evasive action by stopping abruptly in their tracks or 'jumping back' to avoid being collided into;

Sped (exceeding speed limit by 20 kph) through a junction against the traffic red light signal resulting in other vehicles having to take evasive action to avoid a collision or a near collision;

(1) Cutting across double white lines, or

(2) Overtaking in the face of on-coming traffic,

and forcing on-coming vehicles to take evasive action to avoid a collision or a near collision;

Switching lanes repeatedly at speed well exceeding speed limit by 40 kph without signal or driving in a zigzagged manner at speed exceeding limit by 40 kph, and by so doing encroached into the path of vehicles resulting near collision with these vehicles.

Inconsiderate & Careless Driving The Law - Driving without due care and attention or reasonable consideration is prescribed for in Section 65 of the Road Traffic Act Chapter 276 which states:

"If any person drives a motor vehicle on a road without due care and attention or without reasonable consideration for other persons using the road, he shall be guilty of an offence under this Act and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months or to both, and in the case of a second or subsequent conviction to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both."

There are two distinct offences under this section: careless driving (ie driving without due care and attention) and inconsiderate driving ( ie driving without reasonable consideration).

Careless driving is furthermore prescribed under Rule 29, Road Traffic Rules, which states :

"No vehicle shall be driven or ridden upon a road otherwise than in an orderly and careful manner with due regard for the safety of others ."

Careless driving is punishable under Section 131(1A) Road Traffic Act Cap 276 which states:

"A person who is guilty of an offence under this Act shall be liable on conviction, where no special penalty is provided in the case of the first offence, to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 3 months and in the case of the second or subsequently offence to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months."

Examples of careless driving

A driver who whilst reversing failed to look behind him for possible traffic and almost caused a collision;

A driver who crossed the centre white line when overtaking and failed to look towards the direction of oncoming vehicles as his attention was diverted;

A driver has switched his turn left signal and makes a right turn. This caused confusion and panic to those motorists driving behind his vehicle.

Examples of Inconsiderate Driving

A driver when reversing looked back and saw an on-coming car but chose to ignore it. This is a selfish, inconsiderate thought and the offence becomes one of inconsiderate driving. In fact, it could as well be dangerous driving depending upon the circumstances;

A driver overtook a car and crossed the centre white line knowing there was an oncoming vehicle on the other side and chose to ignore it. This again could also be inconsiderate or dangerous driving;

A driver switched his indicator to change lanes and did it so soon resulting in forcing the vehicle behind him to apply its brakes to avoid a collision. This is an example of inconsiderate driving.

More Common Examples of Inconsiderate Driving

Swerving into the path of another vehicle without thought or regard for other road users thereby forcing them to take evasive action by applying brakes or swerving;

Cutting across the path of another vehicle when executing a turn-right, left or 'U' turn;

Failure of a driver in a vehicle emerging from a minor road to give way to vehicles on a major road especially at road junctions and causing vehicles to apply brakes or to slow down;

Failure of a driver to give way to another vehicle on his right at an uncontrolled junction;

Changing lanes or coming to an abrupt halt without prior warning thereby causing other vehicles to slow down or apply brakes;

Failing to obey traffic light signals and causing a near collision;

Failing to form up correctly and thereby causing a near collision or other drivers to take evasive action;

Failing to conform to directional arrows and thereby causing traffic congestion or near collision.

NOTE: These examples are merely illustrative. Every situation is assessed factually on a case-by-case basis and the evidence available.