Sgnick 1st Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 With all things being equal between 2 job candidates (age, experience, expected salary, etc), and the only thing left to compare between them is their MBAs, then yes, the one with better MBA gets the job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 Possible. That someone was given a high position, to handle M&A related side of the business though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 Yeah. NUS is good with knowledge transfer. Lots of assignments! Not sure if that's shiok, maybe to keen students :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 bro, mind sharing how is the workload like? how much for the mba? I think he mean this, not a MBA actually http://www.sim.edu.sg/sge/pub/gen/sge_pub_...1&mnuid=143 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 No need to study so hard lah. Just become toyboy for rich tai tais. One nights work can earn similar to what some ppl are earning in a month. Easy Money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 looks like u dun really noe civil service recognised quite a number of others too inclusive of the 3 u listed down... i agree ntu/nus is recognised worldwide, some others are same as them too... try to noe wat u r studying for before getting into MBA, if not u are only wasting ur time and money... for nus/ntu, u need GMAT and 5yrs of supervisory/management position in a company... need to go thru interview too... if u sort of cant even noe there are other institute recognised by civil service and worldwide, dan the interview will be difficult for u... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ellf Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 Honestly, It depends what you want to achieve from an MBA irregardless Local or Foreign. Now have to do my assignments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear May 13, 2009 Author Share May 13, 2009 hi zniper bro, do u know any other PT MBA offered locally besides those 3 i mentioned that civil service recognizes? even 1 or 2 is a good lead. On criteria for PT MBA, i think essentially as much as ROI is critical, i think it being recognized is a essential criteria. i hv one fren serving in army with mba from aus uni that they dun recognize. after finishing his term he left for pte sector instead tat recognizes his paper. another was a teacher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 Yeah. NUS is good with knowledge transfer. Lots of assignments! Not sure if that's shiok, maybe to keen students :P yes the course work is shiong i lost 5kg over the 2yr 4month i still remember the nights of studying till 4am, go to wk at 7. i still remember sleeping in the school canteen overnite to work on a project. (if you are 21 yrs old.. fair enough. But i was already 37.... i think i am scrw loose...) i still remember travelling on SQ with my classmate for a business trip... both of us studying on the plane. Even the CX flight girl thought we were tying to act cute but it was worth it esp the moment i step on the stage to receive my scroll i didnt get a pay raise bcos of the degree i am self employed but the friends i made there ... gave me more business. i guess you can say ... i did get a pay raise after all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 hi guys, jus wanna check feedback on mba. guess the only ones recognized by civil service is ntu/nus/smu? looking at one tat's recognized both in private and public service. actually there are quite a lot. It really depends on your budget. Top tier ones like Chicago and Insead need at least 100k. Chicago one is 164k. Mid tier ones are like Warwick (long distance), Manchester, Lancaster and Strathcylde. Any of these are good. Value for money is like Birmingham and Bradford. And of course you still have your locals MBAs which is not cheap compared to those mid tier ones. Australias MBAs are way down the Global MBAs ranking, unless it is from Australia Biz School. Unfortunately they dun have a program in Singapore. Finally you can consider an on-line one from Unversitas 21 Global. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear May 14, 2009 Author Share May 14, 2009 hey thx starry bro. guess my focus is affordability and it being recognized. NUS PT MBA: 50K NTU PT MBA: 40K so i guess i'll be comparing MBA along those price brackets. was quite impressed NTU made it to top 25 in FT2009 rankings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 14, 2009 Share May 14, 2009 How much is the $$$? Do you have to go to UK? no need... Do at SIM... Prof from UK fly in every month for classes.. no local lecturers best thing is that I got a EDB grant... so FOC... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim 1st Gear August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 (edited) Hi all, sorry for digging out 10 years old thread. I'm surveying to take up part time MBA. Most likely going to take up the University of Birmingham one by SIM Global Education. Because it has triple accreditation, and my company can sponsor portion of the cost. Anyone else took this? Mind to share the recognition, curriculum and experience? Thanks To add on, I'm in a medical device MNC and this is mainly for self improvement and stay competitive in career. Not planning to jump to finance sector or consultancy Edited August 11, 2018 by Gim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LPPL 6th Gear August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 (edited) Hi all, sorry for digging out 10 years old thread. I'm surveying to take up part time MBA. Most likely going to take up the University of Birmingham one by SIM Global Education. Because it has triple accreditation, and my company can sponsor portion of the cost. Anyone else took this? Mind to share the recognition, curriculum and experience? Thanks To add on, I'm in a medical device MNC and this is mainly for self improvement and stay competitive in career. Not planning to jump to finance sector or consultancy Go find out what universities these Indian n bangla PRs that get our jobs come in high positions from and you can study at their unis at a tiny fraction of what you would pay at Birmingham etc. Don't waste your time with SIM, you won't beat a grad that comes from university of Mumbai or those chapalang uni from India. Sorry, I didn't vote for this, maybe you did? Edited August 11, 2018 by LPPL 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 Go find out what universities these Indian n bangla PRs that get our jobs come in high positions from and you can study at their unis at a tiny fraction of what you would pay at Birmingham etc. Don't waste your time with SIM, you won't beat a grad that comes from university of Mumbai or those chapalang uni from India. Sorry, I didn't vote for this, maybe you did?some time I feel sad to see mcf have such helpful member. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 (edited) Hi all, sorry for digging out 10 years old thread. I'm surveying to take up part time MBA. Most likely going to take up the University of Birmingham one by SIM Global Education. Because it has triple accreditation, and my company can sponsor portion of the cost. Anyone else took this? Mind to share the recognition, curriculum and experience? Thanks To add on, I'm in a medical device MNC and this is mainly for self improvement and stay competitive in career. Not planning to jump to finance sector or consultancy if you just want a mba for self-actualisation then just go ahead but if you want it to be a tool or an edge in future for advancement then go for the ntu programme did mine 4 years back but it more for my own improvements most hr here only recognise ntu or nus there are more experts here such as radx me.....i am only sexpert and usually the main motivation is to woo the lecturers Edited August 11, 2018 by Staff69 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 if you just want a mba for self-actualisation then just go ahead but if you want it to be a tool or an edge in future for advancement then go for the ntu programme 20180811_181355.jpg did mine 4 years back but it more for my own improvements most hr here only recognise ntu or nus there are more experts here such as radx me.....i am only sexpert and usually the main motivation is to woo the lecturers ð¤£ð¤£ð¤£ð¤£ wah radx mba from where? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 11, 2018 Share August 11, 2018 wah radx mba from where? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...