Taxi driving lifestyle and income

Peqasus

I just hope he also tells our fellow MCF members than the picture is not alway perfect. Some time win some time lose, where got everyday hit jackpot. like"Wah once i drive out my taxi, hundreds of plp waiting for my cab waving $$$$ in the air just to hope i fetch them to their distinations" he never tell plp the days where he drives aimlessly hoping to grab customers from his fellow taxi driving collegues.

there are unconventional ways to earn more $$ as a taxi driver, besides roaming ard on the streets looking for passengers.....

it's just whether the driver can think of these unconventional ways or not. i also learnt from a taxi uncle when i took his cab that he taught me some of the unconventional ways that he's earning $$ using his taxi.

those who are doing the unconventional ways are earning more $$ than those taxi drivers just roaming the streets.......

Bro Pegasus, me starting as relief driver this week end. Have u got yr TVL? It takes about 3 to 4 months to get one like I did.

There is nothing wrong being a taxi driver.

All the best.

recently my neighbour, an office uncle...now becomes a taxi driver...dunno y..maybe retrenched?

i foresee more educated uncles coming to become drivers in future since the educated one like us will overtake them in the ageing population.

there was once this fair looking taxi uncle listening to gold 95 and speak english very smoothly....

educated one probably drive smart and spent idle time with mistress or wife. only those beng beng one rot in kopi tiam talk c--k...

personally i have also encounter few who speak better england than me - sibey power one lor...abit slang once u talk more profound with them as they know u want to engage them intelligently

so dun play play with mr taxi driver.

I totally agreed with you 100% that he is exaggerating cause my father in law and two of my uncle drives taxi. My father in law had been driving for 25 years now. His average is only 2.5k -3k putting in 12 hrs. Some time economy bad only 1.8-2k. I just borrow him 5k cause he had not pay hdb for quite sometime now. He drives everyday even on sun day even on the second day of chinese new year. He had never ever took holiday. the last one was about 20 years ago when my wife is 10 years old, to genting only. Pls dunt paint a rosy picture to mislead others, 30% -40 % of 365 daysit is raining sometimes many times extreme weather where plp dont want to step out of their house. Where got so many customers, dunt forget Singapore now many FTs i think about 1 mil of them. Brother trust me they is take bus and mrt one. So i would say if one is to say he make 5k/ mth being a taxi driver, i would call him bluff. I tell you if the money is so good many lower income earners will be taxi driver already ( why be hawker, bus driver, why driver mrt) if the $$$ is so damn good being a taxi driver?

probably the elite can earn that i.e 4-5k because they know how to secure regular customer, but for normal taxi unlce they just drive and pick up whoever flag them.

jus submitted my TDVL form today. So til tat clears. Hope to get the license soon to get things started. 3-4 mths? hmm...which part of the process is the bottleneck??

i was working in one of the taxi company (back end support) back in yrs 2000. back then, average taxi drivers can fetch ard 3K - 3.5k per month provided that they work everyday, 12 hrs shift.

now, with the more and more taxi company, plus the existing taxi company increase their fleet. The road are flooded with too many taxi... plus time is bad. Many plp choose to take other mode of public transport. ... The income of the average taxi drivers drop dramatically to 2K- 2.5K. 3K - 3.5K is still possible if the drivers is very lucky and he must be very hardworking.... earning anything more than 4,5K is very unlikely, unless the driver is involved in other side line.

bro...i don't doubt what u said becos many taxi uncle also managed to send 2 to 3 children to university education despite having no CPF contribution for education payment scheme...

send to unis could be take loan...all students are eligible for int free study loans...repaym n interests start only aft graduate...i went this route...my dad is a cab driver for more than 15yrs....

I drove a cab for sometime , seriously is possible to make $70 to $100 a day average if you clock 11 hours aday. If you drive everyday you can of course hit 3 K per month. IF you work out the sum you only make less than $10 a hours and that is with out CPF and benefits , is that good money , I dunno , jeffang had said queue at zoo or maybe birdpark , or wait at tuas for call , i have done all these , and many more pple has done so, maybe I was unlucky when I was at zoo or safari there are often more cab than pple. certain things only works in theory or maybe jeff is very lucky

And its true I do know pple making 5 K or even 8K a month , these are lucky pple who can sweet talk who have rich regular customer like tai tai and business man. These pple have no qualm to pay $100 per trip !! and these elite drivers are far and few.. and they have lamented to me times are not as good as before !!

jus submitted my TDVL form today. So til tat clears. Hope to get the license soon to get things started. 3-4 mths? hmm...which part of the process is the bottleneck??

After submitting yr TDVL, LTA wl send u letter to go SATA for X-ray & check up.

For me, last Dec, I registered with Comfort for on-line course, the earliest class av`ble back then was in Feb. Only during that class they wl give u password to access on-line course. After u complete on-line course, must book orientation which is always on Sunday morning. During orientation, they wl let u know yr exam date.

I discovered that comfort does not give text book, must buy fm them at $8, while SMRT gives the book free. I must say it is useful for revision b4 exam.

Perhaps while waiting for yr LTA letter and all, perhaps u cud try registering for the on-line course first. C if they allow.

Good luck.

I dun think they allow the online course without LTA approved letter and X ray and medical report.

My taxi uncle told me... [bounce1][bounce1]

Oh boy, then bo pian. But during my orientation, I saw 1 person give the LTA officer the medical report though.

OTOT very shiok

u see hotel81 and fragrance how many taxi park there piak china girls

literally live/eat/s--t/sleep/piak in their taxis

probably they station there. continue drive customers after that.