Harrods Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 These days taxis are so expensive.. last time from my place to my gf place cost ard 5 a trip.. now.. easily 8.. Im really not surprise a hardworking (plus quite lucky) driver can make a good income.. Like they say: The more you do, the luckier you get. dispite the increase in price, the service seems to be going down. but totally agrees on the last part! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 These days taxis are so expensive.. last time from my place to my gf place cost ard 5 a trip.. now.. easily 8.. Im really not surprise a hardworking (plus quite lucky) driver can make a good income.. Like they say: The more you do, the luckier you get. Change gf of course more expensive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 (edited) hardworking cabby still got time to post in forum ah ? i find his claims grossly exaggerated. two of my friends' father who drove taxi for more than ten years tells me they can hardly earn more than 2.5k even though they are very experienced and only take half a day off each week. he make it sound sooo easy. one trip make 40 to 50 dollars ? and if you drive empty cab back to city from jurong you will take half an hour, and left half an hour also not necessary sure to have passenger, even if have also how to easily make 30 an hour as claimed ? and earn the whole days' rental in an hour during peak period when traffic jam everywhere ? nonsense. Edited April 15, 2009 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friedpiggy 2nd Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 no doubt 6-8k is skeptical but i think 2.5k should not be that hard to come by. a close friend of mine earns that amount easily with 6 hours each day. hardworking or not, being smart is the key. But then he's a lazy fella, he hit 2.5k earnings he stop work liao. Plus with good networking, a taxi driver need not constantly drive around looking for customers. alot of business may come from bookings which i myself always use his services as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 hardworking cabby still got time to post in forum ah ? ya. he really is "hardworking". lolx. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear April 15, 2009 Share April 15, 2009 i sat in once too, was a malay mid age driver (around late 40s), did 160kmh on aye. He told me, the skoda was the last batch as taxi since lta no longer aprove to use skoda as taxi after TP complain, ony then they realise how powderful this skoda is........ Haha wonder is the same Malay uncle I encounter. Got once my car servicing at Yew Tee Industrial then need to exchange a part I bought from Defu Lane scrap yard. So I took his Skoda tell him can send me there and back he says ok cos he is buying illegal cigarette in that area but got custom officer around so he trying his luck again when send me back. I chit chat with him along the way while driving along woodlands road towards Mandai got a Honda accord JDM Euro R kui v-tec cut into his lane then he tulan kui his Skoda turbo and overtake the Euro R in a breeze. I told I like the pick up then he says this car can do more then that. Once on the highway he switch to manual tiptronic mode and zoom in and out of traffic at 160-180kph like a demon unleash. Less then 20mins I reach my destination. Really powerful ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 is up to u... if u say i bs... i earn 3-4k, as my driving time for week day is about 7-9hour... and even i drive full shift... earn more then 4.5k i also tell my wife 2k only... lol there's 1 driver i got to know his from here and he follow me last time... for about 6 hour... and i have show him i have earn more that what i claim :) but cannot remember his name... hope that he will reply when see this :) i know i am not a good driver, but i want to have holiday oversea, wanna buy big big lcd... so what to do :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 6hour a day & drive at correct timing 2.5k is nothing... i think your friend is very lazy! or maybe never drive at perkhour... no doubt 6-8k is skeptical but i think 2.5k should not be that hard to come by. a close friend of mine earns that amount easily with 6 hours each day. hardworking or not, being smart is the key. But then he's a lazy fella, he hit 2.5k earnings he stop work liao. Plus with good networking, a taxi driver need not constantly drive around looking for customers. alot of business may come from bookings which i myself always use his services as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 is tuas... try too fast...lol if i am in tuas from that time... i sure got call... anyway if after u drive taxi, if free to meet up... i can teach u more way to make $$$, not here :) anyway wat u trying to say is, if there's no continous pickups...u will head back to town area la...right? "trus (not 5-8pm as a lot of call here) " wat u mean? who is saying taxi low class....ppl who made such remarks are the actual ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 bro...i don't doubt what u said becos many taxi uncle also managed to send 2 to 3 children to university education despite having no CPF contribution for education payment scheme... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 true, taxi drivers need to work smart, just like salesman selling cars, need to sell smart, dun work blindly.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 hardworking cabby still got time to post in forum ah ? i find his claims grossly exaggerated. two of my friends' father who drove taxi for more than ten years tells me they can hardly earn more than 2.5k even though they are very experienced and only take half a day off each week. he make it sound sooo easy. one trip make 40 to 50 dollars ? and if you drive empty cab back to city from jurong you will take half an hour, and left half an hour also not necessary sure to have passenger, even if have also how to easily make 30 an hour as claimed ? and earn the whole days' rental in an hour during peak period when traffic jam everywhere ? nonsense. I totally agreed with you 100% that he is exaggerating cause my father in law and two of my uncle drives taxi. My father in law had been driving for 25 years now. His average is only 2.5k -3k putting in 12 hrs. Some time economy bad only 1.8-2k. I just borrow him 5k cause he had not pay hdb for quite sometime now. He drives everyday even on sun day even on the second day of chinese new year. He had never ever took holiday. the last one was about 20 years ago when my wife is 10 years old, to genting only. Pls dunt paint a rosy picture to mislead others, 30% -40 % of 365 daysit is raining sometimes many times extreme weather where plp dont want to step out of their house. Where got so many customers, dunt forget Singapore now many FTs i think about 1 mil of them. Brother trust me they is take bus and mrt one. So i would say if one is to say he make 5k/ mth being a taxi driver, i would call him bluff. I tell you if the money is so good many lower income earners will be taxi driver already ( why be hawker, bus driver, why driver mrt) if the $$$ is so damn good being a taxi driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Songsong 1st Gear April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 I would also like to add that there is thousands of cabs sitting at those taxi companies compounds waiting for plp to take up. If the $$$$ is so good why the hell they are sitting there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 (edited) Aiya, just take what he said with a pinch of salt lah. Edited April 16, 2009 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 piangz dispute over taxi driver income oso can be so hot. wat they claim, only they know is true. juz like when papers reported the gas delivery guy was taking home 5k/mth, who would have thought of that kind of income? i believe different drivers have different habits and different methods. juz like how car sales people, even in same distributor can have varying income. all boils down to individuals. iirc, the head of taxi association sent his 8 kids through poly/uni on a single income as a taxi driver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 yalor yalor... different car sale man earn different income depend on their sale... some have car, some take mrt and buses as main transport... Thus different taxi drivers earn also differently depend on their effort. Majority earn maybe $2k ++++ , maybe exceptional cases can be $4k to $5k...why not? if they work double hard... Well, not all taxi drivers are low income worker hor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 no one will tell you their real income lah, due to many reasons..... so for this TS, just take it with a pinch of salt, unless he can show proof of income. he could be earning peanuts and report to us a higher income or he could be earning alot higher and report to us a lower income coz he didn't declare everything to IRAS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched April 16, 2009 Share April 16, 2009 is tuas... try too fast...lol if i am in tuas from that time... i sure got call... anyway if after u drive taxi, if free to meet up... i can teach u more way to make $$$, not here :) No need to fight back ur claims lah... Times r bad, If everyone thinks every cabby earns tat much. Soon cabbies will kn ROB. So if u think u can earn tat much. Juz stay humble, no point debating or prove to others. U also will not get anything in return rite? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...