Babyt 4th Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 if u r educated and work as a taxi...u will surprise many ppl with ur ability to speak good english and being well-read. i dont find anything wrong with being a taxi. in fact, u can earn good money as a driver if u r hardworking and ur current position dont allow u to earn much. so what if u are a degree holder but at a point of life, u r still earning less than a taxi driver? than u are better off working as a driver then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mlimhs 1st Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 if u r educated and work as a taxi...u will surprise many ppl with ur ability to speak good english and being well-read. i dont find anything wrong with being a taxi. in fact, u can earn good money as a driver if u r hardworking and ur current position dont allow u to earn much. so what if u are a degree holder but at a point of life, u r still earning less than a taxi driver? than u are better off working as a driver then. That is true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 If u r eucated and work as a taxi...u will surprise many ppl with ur ability to speak good english and being well-read. I have sat in a taxi which the driver listens to BBC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knht Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 sonata!!! hahahah pickup super!!! not much car can out run you!!! tot the Skoda is more powderful?? some says even more than the merc. a lot of times i go lim kopi in geylang alway saw those taxi uncles si beh eng, also lim kopi and sian tiong kok char boh there, must have met the income target for the day liao. Errr, don't ask me what i was doing there also. I liked to strike conversation with the taxi driver when i am boarding one. Actually, quite some of the taxi uncles are those retirees who just drove taxi to pass time nia. So long they make enough to cover the rental and costs plus some pocket monies, they call it a day liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 there was once i sat on the skoda cab and the cab uncle in his early 30's was doing a 150 on midnight and told me his cab can do 200 anytime and wrx cannot see his taillight. scary encounter. quite stable as a passenger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 recently my neighbour, an office uncle...now becomes a taxi driver...dunno y..maybe retrenched? i foresee more educated uncles coming to become drivers in future since the educated one like us will overtake them in the ageing population. there was once this fair looking taxi uncle listening to gold 95 and speak english very smoothly.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dualie Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 Just curious... Are there any taxi drivers' taboo? Like things U will not do, route U will not take..etc Any supernatual encountered when plying the midnight shift? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangepineapple Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 out of point.. but was jus finding it amusing that this topic is under the Motorsports section haha [laugh] driving taxi is like motosports ah?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 you are a talk rubbish bs king, where got taxi driver earn 4.5k, unless you put in 16 hrs 7 days a week. for a period of time i was taking taxi 4-5 times a day for a few months, never did the taxi driverbull like you. simple math rental = $52 diesel=$30 collection= average $20 per hr x 10 hrs = $200 total = $200 - $52 - $30 = $$118 per day $118 x 30 days = $$3540 and that is provided that you can maintain that $20 per hr average, not to mention the no of taxis on the road now. provided that you can work like a machine 30 days a month after prorating the fact that you work 2 extra days a week and 12 hr days and lost of cpf forgone 3540 / 4 = 885 per week 885 per week divided by 84 hrs (12 hrs x 7 days) = $10.50 (factoring opportunity cost inclusive of employer 17% cpf liao) actual rate = $10.50 / 1.17 = $8.97 based on 44 hrs week it is equivalent to $394.68 a week or $1578 a month not forgetting that you pay for rental if you are sick, no mc leave, no annual leave no medical and staff benefits. Please don t gloat and deceive some poor soul to drive taxi just because you need to massage your own ego. with due respect to taxi driver, i know you guys work hard to earn your keep but please stop blowing the trumpet about how good it is when it is not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 you never drive taxi b4 that why u don't know!!! 1 hour is $30 for normal for peak is $35-$40 must see if you are in city or not... u do the math, or if u are free... just follow me (a day not even a week) and i show u i can earn more then 5-6k a mth... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 and i am driving a normal cab... if merc i can hit 8k a mth!!! but no life, as i try b4... the owner got soooo many ote booking until i cannot take it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 i been driveing night all the day... never think so much about taboo... just make $$$ or coffee with other drivers... but i never like to go those place that got a lot of drunken! i like movies and those girlfriend & boyfriend, sent her back then go another place!!! 1 trip is $40-$50 and not even 1 hour! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 $20 per hour is those new driver, dunno where to go at times... and you can say that i am a bad driver... as i sometime (sometime only & must see what time) choose customer. $30 anytime per hour for normal hard working taxi driver... and i am a bit smart :) so if this hour collect $25 only... then the next hour i will make back $35!!! anyway i report cpf too, so no scare as the centre can see my call taken rate... so i report at least $3k a mth.. so if u say i talk big, i can prove to you if u want to drive you car follow me... and see how many and how much i collect, anyday... not just weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 weekend is best!!! i collect $400- $500 a day on weekend (fri or sat)!! anyway must see u driving full shift or half, day or night and which area u stay too.. as day shift weekday will be better, night shift weekend king! i stay in jurong if day shift i go out at 5am... as there will be a lot of calls from jurong to airport.. 30-40min can earn $40+ anyway as long as hardworking for a taxi driver, can earn $3k at least close one eye... but if u wanna earn more like me... do join us for coffee, after u drive taxi... we will teach u how :P I may have plan to go into full time driving taxi. however i am planning to drive monday to friday (6am to 5pm +/-) excluding weekends. any idea how much income on average per month? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear April 14, 2009 Author Share April 14, 2009 hey jeff. which part of jurong u staying at? I'm a new juronger lolz. jus shifted here like 8 mths back. gonna apply my TDVL. hope my 12 demerit DIP pts dun sabo me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 weekend is best!!! i collect $400- $500 a day on weekend (fri or sat)!! anyway must see u driving full shift or half, day or night and which area u stay too.. as day shift weekday will be better, night shift weekend king! i stay in jurong if day shift i go out at 5am... as there will be a lot of calls from jurong to airport.. 30-40min can earn $40+ anyway as long as hardworking for a taxi driver, can earn $3k at least close one eye... but if u wanna earn more like me... do join us for coffee, after u drive taxi... we will teach u how :P You are taxi-lau ah? got go Spa or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 (edited) i stay in yuan ching road... 12point ok lah.. unless u drunk driving or kill someone then they will not accept u... jurong is a good place for taxi driver... teach u a few: day shift go out of house around 5am, then go jurong west spc pertol smoke smoke at the carwash there... and wind down your windows wait for call... or u can drive to boonlay mrt there q-up and wait for calls too.. night shift, 5pm must go to birdpark, don let those van/mini-bus uncle earn (as they always there from 3+ to drive those angmo to town per trip $40!!!!) put a change shift on top, ask!!! must pick those go town, not mrt! then first trip will cover 80-90% of rental liao... hhehehehe from 5-8pm try to stay at town, u can collect $120-$150 see lucky or not... then after 8pm go for a toilet break... dun keep thinking of money (u can never earn all!) by this time u must cover rental & diesel with some earning... then relax liao... still cont to pickup from town $3 more... after drop customer... don't turn here and there.... just go bak to town... sure got customer in city area on weekday... then 11:30pm go toilet break & eat a bit... 12am mid-night go cinema /night-club pick up customer but for me i sianzz liao... if got customer come jurong around 11pm+ or 12am i go home liao... i work: weekday 5pm - 11pm or 12am or 1am (see if got customer come jurong) weekend 5pm to 6am and my earning is way way more then what VERVE think :) Edited April 14, 2009 by Jeffang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 i stay in yuan ching road... 12point ok lah.. unless u drunk driving or kill someone then they will not accept u... jurong is a good place for taxi driver... teach u a few: day shift go out of house around 5am, then go jurong west spc pertol smoke smoke at the carwash there... and wind down your windows wait for call... or u can drive to boonlay mrt there q-up and wait for calls too.. night shift, 5pm must go to birdpark, don let those van/mini-bus uncle earn (as they always there from 3+ to drive those angmo to town per trip $40!!!!) put a change shift on top, ask!!! must pick those go town, not mrt! then first trip will cover 80-90% of rental liao... hhehehehe You got go Spa or Health Centre or not ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...