Peqasus 1st Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 hey guys, got the unfortunate "letter" from company. jus to check with the bros here, any insights on income as a taxi driver? i hv a NUS deg but hvg sent resumes over the past 4 mths, i see the mkt's pretty bad now so hv to face reality and swallow the bitter pill than let my family feed on my pride. now jus hv to survive thru while sending resume. hope bros who hv exp on this can share some insights. will be signing up for the TDVL first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 (edited) sorry to heard that bro... Just to share... My neighbour also suffers the same fate during the last SARS crisis. Initially, he was very skeptical being a taxi driver even when out of job for about 6 months. Through my encouragement, he took up relief driving and he earns quite a decent income. His average income is between 3k to 4.5k and he drives from 6pm onwards. Nowadays when we met, I will jokingly ask him if he is still looking a job, his answer is; "what for? Now I'm a boss myself and I have more time for my family." Take it up bro... Filling up stomach is more important especially when you have a family to feed. Wish you the best! Edited April 11, 2009 by Civic6656 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 taxi driver good job see got $ zhng ice, zhng spoiler and bodykit somemore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Wait for our taxi driver to come in. JEffAng. I did toy with the idea too and I hear that taxi drivers do make good $$ these days. Just have to cover the initial rental cost plus diesel etc, and the rest is your own earnings. The course is pretty easy to compete too. All the best pal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 wah..... 3 to 4.5k. From 6pm onwards He must be really hardworking. Coz cab driver that I know of....average take home about 2 - 2.8k. But 1 bad thing is because of CPF. At least my fren everymonth do $200 self contribution and also the house paid up 70% before kenna retrench. But its true being carefree as you are your own boss and timing is set by yourself. Depending on how much u wanna earn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 OTOT very shiok u see hotel81 and fragrance how many taxi park there piak china girls literally live/eat/s--t/sleep/piak in their taxis Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 i work 7-8hour on weekday (from 5pm-11+ 12pm) then 12 hour on weekend (from 5pm to 5am) earn about 4.5k a mth, since i got the letter last year.... drive until today... look for my post on how i start :) wanna earn more drive merc or london cab... i am still on the waiting list for london cab... anyway if u want to earn more just drive more lor... but as a taxi driver... no leave... no MC... holiday cannot rest, if rest lose income (need to pay rentel) no CPF... but u can like me... start as part time, then test test a bit... and take a off on weekday, then go out with wife :) and remember!!! when new don't be too happy collect $$$ until forget to go toilet!!!! and sonata is good to drive!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 but be a taxi driver must be 35years old and above right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 (edited) and 1 more thing!!! don't sian too much woman!!! and don't get sian by china woman!!! work for money!!! not woman!!! u will get to know a lot of woman...and one-night-stand... just ignore them... think about your family... and that woman's family... just don't get into trouble later... Edited April 11, 2009 by Jeffang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffang Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Application For Taxi Vocational Licence Application Criteria By LTA To apply for the TVL, you must meet the following criteria: be a Singapore citizen be at least 30 years old possess a qualified class 3 driving licence be able to speak English and Mother Tongue How To Apply Step 1: Obtain the application form from www.onemotoring.com.sg. Added by Gad URL for Application forms: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg./publish/one...ml#MainPar_0103 Direct download of Vocational License application form: http://www.onemotoring.com.sg./publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/forms_download0.MainPar.0036.File.tmp/VL.pdf ://http://www.onemotoring.com.sg./publ...ile.tmp/VL.pdf ://http://www.onemotoring.com.sg./publ...ile.tmp/VL.pdf ://http://www.onemotoring.com.sg./publ...ile.tmp/VL.pdf Step 2: Submit your application form, $40 application fee (non-refundable) and a copy of your education certificate (if any) and NRIC (front and back) to LTA By post Send your TVL application form and a crossed cheque, made payable to 'Land Transport Authority' to: 10 Sin Ming Drive Singapore 575701 By hand Submit your TVL application form and payment (by cheque or cash) to LTA's Office located at the above address. If your application is successful, you will be issued a notification letter from LTA to either undergo an interview session by STA or be granted with a letter of approval to register for the Taxi Vocational Licence Training Course at our Sin Ming or Loyang General Service Counters. Click here for location details of our General Service Counters. Note: Applicants requested to attend the interview by STA need to pass the interview session in order to proceed to register for this course. Online TVL Course You can undergo the TVL course at your own pace and from the comfort of your home. For successful applicants, please click here for online TVL course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 income very good leh...at least you are hardworking.. Many people still dreaming the $$$ will drop from sky... At least this is another option given to us.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 brother, we chinese believe that walk out bravely, there will be path. As long we are flexible , we will not suffer...anyway there is no such thing call poor people in singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 my dad was once a taxi driver for 1 yr plus, until he went back to his own industry. income really not bad, i have check the accounts, its really sustainable, trick is to work hard not to sit coffee shop and not queue at airport also to discipline on the work hrs, 4-6k/mth is a realistic possibility. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 Bro, Very good information, thanks. My company maybe axing people soon. This is a good alternative for the bad time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 i work 7-8hour on weekday (from 5pm-11+ 12pm) then 12 hour on weekend (from 5pm to 5am) earn about 4.5k a mth, since i got the letter last year.... drive until today... look for my post on how i start :) wanna earn more drive merc or london cab... i am still on the waiting list for london cab... anyway if u want to earn more just drive more lor... but as a taxi driver... no leave... no MC... holiday cannot rest, if rest lose income (need to pay rentel) no CPF... but u can like me... start as part time, then test test a bit... and take a off on weekday, then go out with wife :) and remember!!! when new don't be too happy collect $$$ until forget to go toilet!!!! and sonata is good to drive!!!! actually i thought merc and london cab not so good? rental higher.. and passenger perceive them as more expensive.. so usually they take normal cab.. unless u are talking about bookings.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 That why saving very important har... Prepare for raining day just in case... You see, so many people get retrench in this economic bad time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 i also did toy with this idea of doing part time taxi driver. but didnt take the bold step yet. i think it should be a decent income. but now, i think competition is too much liao coz alot of ppl become taxi drivers. so u may not get as many passengers. but of course, u need to use yr brain abit and go where the customers are at certain timings. those cabs waiting at airports are so stupid.... queue for so long, just to earn that surchange?? not worth the time at all........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched April 11, 2009 Share April 11, 2009 hi there, it is good that someone started a thread on this topics. met 2... am thinking of getting a taxi license as soon as my 1 year probation period is over.. times are really bad outside - u just do not know what will happen the next moment? but i have one question - i can satisfy all basic criteria excpt one - 1 year clean driving record. How does LTA consider clean driving record? I got 1 parking ticket for parkingillegality - but no demerit pt late last year, will LTA take this into consideration when they compute the 1 year clean driving record? I do not want to waste $40 application knowing that LTA will take this parking fine as not clean driving record. Or can appeal or not if LTA does not grant due to this parking fine? Anyone has any experience on this and would like to share with others? I ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...