Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 Is it Legal to mount a Child Seat in the front of the passenger side? This is of cos after I've disabled the passenger Air-Bags. Any repercussions I should be aware about? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 never heard that it is illegal to mount a child seat at the front. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 Can check with LTA or taffic police to avoid any fine lah.... To play safe rather than sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 all passenger has to be safely restrain. tats the rule of thumb. can disable front pasenger seat. 3 yrs ago, i nearly bought a Fiat becos of this features, mind sharing wat model is hving this feature now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 all passenger has to be safely restrain. tats the rule of thumb. can disable front pasenger seat. 3 yrs ago, i nearly bought a Fiat becos of this features, mind sharing wat model is hving this feature now? hyundai I30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 You can put a child seat in front if the airbag has been disabled, but safety experts still say the rear seat is the safest place in a car for a child. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 better to put child seat in the rear seat ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear April 10, 2009 Share April 10, 2009 Rear facing child seats should never be put in the front passenger seat if the airbag cannot be disabled. Front facing child seats can be put in the front passenger seat even if the airbag is active, but the seat should be pushed as far back as possible to prevent the deploying airbag from injuring the child. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronkovic 5th Gear April 13, 2009 Share April 13, 2009 You can put a child seat in front if the airbag has been disabled, but safety experts still say the rear seat is the safest place in a car for a child. For a saloon car, rear seat is definitely a safer place. But not the 3rd row of an MPV. For the latter, the middle row is the safer one. However, this applies in terms of frontal / rear collision and not sidewards collisions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Header Clutched April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 How do disable air bag for those w/o the switch? Can outside mechanics do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear April 14, 2009 Share April 14, 2009 I placed my child seat in the front passenger as the chances of a rear collision is higher than a frontal for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dblessed1 Neutral Newbie April 17, 2009 Share April 17, 2009 Rear facing child seats should never be put in the front passenger seat if the airbag cannot be disabled. Front facing child seats can be put in the front passenger seat even if the airbag is active, but the seat should be pushed as far back as possible to prevent the deploying airbag from injuring the child. Really? i had been asking around this for awhile. so far both car and child seat manufacturers have advised against placing it in front seat with air bag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie April 17, 2009 Share April 17, 2009 I placed my child seat in the front passenger as the chances of a rear collision is higher than a frontal for me. Good luck to you or rather your child in a frontal collision! Your logic is not correct. If there's a rear collision, child in the 2nd row is fine as long they are buckled up and protected as there's rear crumble zone. Please lah, dont put your child in danger unless your child is older to sit on boaster seat, rear facing child seat in front row is NO-NO!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie April 17, 2009 Share April 17, 2009 Is it Legal to mount a Child Seat in the front of the passenger side? This is of cos after I've disabled the passenger Air-Bags. Any repercussions I should be aware about? Why the hassle? You disable the air-bag, then you then to activate it when an adult sit in front? What if you didnt activate it or forget to it and there's an collision? Passengers must learnt to sit where they are supposed to, ie children must sit behind and everyone must be buckled up!! When accidents happen, it's too late!!! Dont mean to be harsh but witness the aftermath of an accident that is dear to me, the pain is very terrible, sigh!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 20, 2009 Share April 20, 2009 Aiya, it's all fated la. It's easier to control the situation in front of you than behind you. If dun have frontal collision, have side collision then how? That's worse coz driver instinct covers usually the front area first. Rear is more likely to kena than front for side collision. I used to put my rear-facing infant carrier in the front passenger seat too. Have no airbag in front. Rear-facing gives less stress on the neck for young infants, esp when braking. Why no-no? Only when kids were bigger, I shifted them both to the back with booster seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 For me the best safety measure is to have my kids to keep quiet when I drive. Put them in child restrain, and I have no peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 Aiya, it's all fated la. It's easier to control the situation in front of you than behind you. If dun have frontal collision, have side collision then how? That's worse coz driver instinct covers usually the front area first. Rear is more likely to kena than front for side collision. I used to put my rear-facing infant carrier in the front passenger seat too. Have no airbag in front. Rear-facing gives less stress on the neck for young infants, esp when braking. Why no-no? Only when kids were bigger, I shifted them both to the back with booster seats. Yes, everything is fated. It's God's will whether we live longer or not. However, the TS wants to put rear facing seat in front and to make sure this safe for the child. He has to disable the airbag. What will happen if he forget to activate it when an adult sit in front. Lots of hassle just to accomodate a child. Or worse what if he thought it's disabled, yet the front airbag is still in active mode?? This is my view, which many parents here may not agree. When I drive, everyone need to buckle up (especially children) else I would not move. WHy must children be spolit just because they want to sit in front? Hey, considered the blessing that we have a car to sit in, else take public transport! Yes, collision can come from many angles, sides or even crazy drivers who want to banged onto you when you horned them but at least if there's a front collision, all passengers are restrained. I know someone's family devastated when the rear passengers are not buckled up, only child and grandma died instantly after flying out of the car. The front passengers survived with minor injuries as they are buckled up. Imagine the impact was so great that the engine flew out of the car and landed some 5 meters from the car!! Now, you tell me is this serious for you to take things lightly?? In life, never ever take things for granted, you'll never know what happen to you next. I'm sure the driver didnt even bother to be careful and the tragedy happens. So, pp go think about it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie April 23, 2009 Share April 23, 2009 For me the best safety measure is to have my kids to keep quiet when I drive. Put them in child restrain, and I have no peace. Yes, bro. Right on. If they make noise on seat belt, keep them at home. CHildren need to learn the importance of safety!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...