Migraine - HELP

Dj_spike

I have been having a bad migraine these past 10 days... been to the doc twice.. second time was asked to see the neurologist at CGH...

but was told by fren that consulting the specialist will be troublesome as they wun get u to the MRI scan..

Any advise from bros who have been thru the same thing?

Hmmm...Unilateral or generalised, ie, whole head? Seeing stars? Dizziness? Any change in lifestyle?

Migraine can be hard to diagnose as it can be strell related or it can be impending signs of an internal bleed.....Go get ti checked

haiz, i am having the same problem as you too. been having migraine for almost everyday recently. seen doc once and buy medicine thrice liao. for me i noe what causes it, so i am making some lifestyle changes. perhaps you can reflect on your lifestyle too.

might be due to e weather, or recently under too much stress? lack of quality rest can also result in migraines. tried taking painkillers? if it doesn't ease e pain, check up is needed. MRI not needed if just common migraine. too costly. unless you feel nausea or see split images, worse cases that you faint from e pain then they might refer you for e scan.

migraine is always one side of the brain and one eye, always the same side one. because we tend to use one side of the brain and eye all the time, more than the other. this is call the primary eye. so during migraine this side eye and brain will feel the pounding pain, like kanna whacked, not like the normal headache which is like a sharp pain.

I was advised by a fren to walk in at SGH as they are rather efficient. I think I will do juz that next week as this week is rather busy.

I feel dizzy but trying to cope it... very fast lose focus during work....

Problem is that i nv have any history of migraine... suddenly kena.... the pain used to be at the eyebrow... now spread liow...

SGH cannot walk in the specialist clinic one, my wife works there i noe. also, trust me, the migraine always starts small, and is certain to become worse and worse, i experienced it myself. the next few times you will find it worse then before. you should take the catacult (typo) at the very first symptom of migraine coming. painkillers dont help, and i noe how pain it can get. i use my one hand to cover my eye and groan in pain for over an hour before the catacult take effect.

i was told by the doc that it is because you must be doing something which requires that eye for prolong period, or, you are suddenly under very very big stress.

Edited by Vextan

Hi go get yourself NeuroFen, they comes in 2 colours, red and yellow. Pop the yellow one first and if doesnt get well pop the red one. You can get it easily from phar. Stay away from caffine stuff for the time being. Hope this helps. Only see the doc if your vision is blurred. The blurred vision could means something is pressing against your neuro nerves.

maybe u shd try the Chinese sinseh instead.i was having headache & slight dizziness,making me nausea too for half a week.went to Eu Yan Seng see doctor,gave me some chinese powder & i'm alright.

Edited by Snowbell

I have been having a bad migraine these past 10 days... been to the doc twice.. second time was asked to see the neurologist at CGH...

but was told by fren that consulting the specialist will be troublesome as they wun get u to the MRI scan..

Better go and scan, more than 10 days don't play play [sweatdrop]

Just to make sure yours is really a migraine, issit just one side of your head - not both? If it's both it's a headache and the treatment would thus be different.

I have terrible week-long bouts of migraine certain times of the year. Fortunately they've been less frequent.

I went to a neurologist years ago and it was confirm to be migraines cos I only get them on one side or a particularly part of my brain at one time.

I got a prescription of Sibelium 5mg. It's NOT a cure. It's a preventive solution. I eat it when I know i'm getting a migraine. The medication prevents it from happening. But if you already have a migraine, then the only way to feel better is to take painkillers - like panadol. That's what the neurologist said at least. I read up also, and it's true. Migraines cannot be stopped but only soothed with painkillers. Sometimes it's severe enough for painkillers not to work. So I take Sibelium after I get migraine for a day. I take two before I head to bed and the next couple of days will be migraine-free.

Problem is that Sibelium requires a doc's prescription. I'm pretty sure about that. It's not cheap, but not expensive kinda medication anyway.

Just make sure your migraine "moves" around. Meaning that it's not always the same particular area of your head EVERY time. If it is, then you better get an MRI. Could be something in there. If it moves around, it's almost 100% migraine. If it's the whole head hurting, then it's a headache and Sibelium will help too i think.

My left eye vision went blur yest after wifey swtched off the lights...I'm certain its only my left eye... Coz its not entirely dark with the lights outside thru the windows... One of the bros here is right... the pain is more to the left side of the head...

I also have migraine but its different from yours. When the attack comes, the whole head is painful + have seasick kind of symptom. I am unable to walk properly and would vomit. Need to see the GP for very strong painkillers or injection. I could not even last more than a day w/o painkillers, cant imagine you can tahan for 10days!!! [shocked]

So far my GP has been keeping track of it and my last attack was two months ago.

Mine is most likely stress from work.

Use to have a prescription from Doc. call CAFERGOT ...but i doubt they sell anymore....very effective

my cause of Migraine(2yrs) was due to work....change job then OK liao.