Kelpie 2nd Gear April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I find most Singaporean drivers very reluctant to show the friendly hand, when others gave way to them. Most of the time, they like to show the middle finger instead. It is like if I can squeeze in infront of you, I'm better and you're lousy. So much so that, drivers don't like to give way to protray that they are the weaker one on the road. Another observaton, I drive larger and more expensive car and you "must" give way to me when changing lane, if you don't, then I have all the "right" to horn you and show finger. I think most of us would agree that most Singaporean drivers are egoists on the road. I think the driving centre apart from teaching learners to drive, they should implement dermit point system such that if the learner don't show friendly hand when given way on the road, deduct points from their test. This may be a small move, at least to show support for road courtesy. After all, Singaporean response better to "punishment" . I wonder whether there is a survey to find out how courteous are the drivers in the developed countries/economy. Share your thought. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 well this has been cultivated in us over the years. no choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 well in a sense it's akin to wondering why are there 'evil' (inconsiderate) ppl in the world - i've always been disappointed when ppl are rude / unkind, even on the streets. well, i would like to believe that some ppl are just brought up as such/conditioned to be so and they see no wrong in their doings; we simply have no idea of what's their logic+thought process. some of them may find pleasure (i still cannot comprehend how) in being mean, may think that their presence (being alive) is a right rather than a privilege and some may even think they have 'more rights' than others for whatever reasons (achievements, success, etc) they can justify themselves with. well for instance i've even got this weird acquaintance that believes strongly that if he doesn't jia4(eat) ppl, ppl will jia him. but more importantly, without those 'less nice' ppl, we may not be appreciate of the nicer ppl around us. just be thankful for them and cherish all the things we have in life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 while i've met my share of inconsiderate drivers, i've also met quite a number of considerate ones.. for a start, buses for once, will never fail to give me a wave of thanks if i let them filter out from bus bay or change lane.. then there some cars/taxis who also will wave thanks if i let them change lane.. But, my stand is, you signal and if safe enough, i will let you filter.. as for me, i always wave thanks to whoever gave way to me..or wave sorry if i accidentally pissed someone off.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 (edited) Am grateful to some of the drivers in the main road who give way to vehicles turning out from minor roads in a jam (esp when there isn't any yellow box). Always make sure to show a friendly hand gesture In the opposite, damn pissed off with some of those who happily wait inside the yellow box with a bochap look, blocking all cars turning out from the minor road. Edited April 8, 2009 by Pcslim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 Now that you mention...I realized they are fewer of such courteous drivers now as compared to as recently as 5-6years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuwari Neutral Newbie April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I always wave thanks to the fellows who assist me on the road (filtering lanes, car parking). I'm actually quite biased against taxi drivers because of bad experiences... =X Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 for me, unwinding window to show a "thank you" sign is a daily routine. my colleague actually told me that it'll spoil the window faster. heck la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 Now that you mention...I realized they are fewer of such courteous drivers now as compared to as recently as 5-6years ago. I actually seem to find it the opposite. I find more courteous drivers now, although less people wave thanks. I had a very good experience yesterday. I was on the left lane of the CTE at 2:30am, passing the slip road from Bt Timah, There were two taxi's (both comfort) on the slip road. one was behind my position, the other, next to me but slightly ahead. All three of us were at expressway speeds. All three of us slowed a little (with the one behind more so that there was more space between us after we filtered. When the front cab realised I slowed to give him more space to filter in (instead of forcing him to squeeze from or stop on the slip road), he waved thanks and sped up to put more space between me and him as well. IMHO, it was a perfect merging situation. No ego's involved and with due care and courtesy given by both cab drivers. If only all my driving experiences were like this! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MonsterTruckLoad Neutral Newbie April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I find that during the time when petrol prices nearly touched 2 bucks/L, drivers seems to drive slower and are more willing to let others overtake/change lane. My observation is that now it seems like "back to normal". Just my observation... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 I find that during the time when petrol prices nearly touched 2 bucks/L, drivers seems to drive slower and are more willing to let others overtake/change lane. My observation is that now it seems like "back to normal". Just my observation... I didn't really take notice, however considering human nature, that happening makes a lot of sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 8, 2009 Share April 8, 2009 Am grateful to some of the drivers in the main road who give way to vehicles turning out from minor roads in a jam (esp when there isn't any yellow box). Always make sure to show a friendly hand gesture This is what I noticed for most of the drivers at Bangkok................. considering that they dun have yellow boxes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 they don't wave one leh. theirs is like a short sharp beep. signal 2 second then pull handbrake turn in kind. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 they don't wave one leh. theirs is like a short sharp beep. signal 2 second then pull handbrake turn in kind. haha I'm referring to the giving way lah..... AS long as u manage to inch out from the minor roads, those on the major roads will most likely let u out. It's like their driving culture. Try this over here and u will get horns, angry stares, !@#$%^&*() under their breaths or aloud..... at the same time insisting that they have rite of way etc. They are not wrong, but alittle patience goes a long way..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ng_kok_seng Neutral Newbie April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 Remember lah... If people dun give way, no need angry lah... wait patiently , I am sure got people eventually give way .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 same here also seldom do i encounter unfirendly ones maybe i heng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 same here also seldom do i encounter unfirendly ones maybe i heng Its diff for you. Think about what you're driving Eh what say we armour plate yours so that you can take on the daytona trucks on pioneer road??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 Well...Thats the norm these days on the road as far as I feel...Friendly hand = no need (because I faster mah !!! and got better skill mah !!)...Honk = F you !!!(no longer a warning of danger) Yesterday on Farrer Rd...A car cut into my lane without signal(Very close, just on my left corner only)...It was dangerous so I give it a honk...Well he return me with a hand sign implying ""what the F!!!!""... This kind of senario is getting very common and normal to me these days... However my concern is not so much what is happening now as I suppose those people can't be changes anymore...I am more worried about how the kids of these people will be in future when brought up by them with such mentality in mind(selfish, individualistic etc etc)... I have seen some in the making already !!! I find most Singaporean drivers very reluctant to show the friendly hand, when others gave way to them. Most of the time, they like to show the middle finger instead. It is like if I can squeeze in infront of you, I'm better and you're lousy. So much so that, drivers don't like to give way to protray that they are the weaker one on the road. Another observaton, I drive larger and more expensive car and you "must" give way to me when changing lane, if you don't, then I have all the "right" to horn you and show finger. I think most of us would agree that most Singaporean drivers are egoists on the road. I think the driving centre apart from teaching learners to drive, they should implement dermit point system such that if the learner don't show friendly hand when given way on the road, deduct points from their test. This may be a small move, at least to show support for road courtesy. After all, Singaporean response better to "punishment" . I wonder whether there is a survey to find out how courteous are the drivers in the developed countries/economy. Share your thought. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...