Mikeyeo Clutched April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 Last week, I had planned to buy a sports car and have a few brands in mind. So last Saturday afternoon, I went to Tan Chong Motors and asked the salesperson if there is any Nissan Fairlady 370Z or GTR for test drive. The salesperson told me that there is no test drive for these 2 cars. It's really a piss off when one has the money to buy and yet no test drive available. I then went over to Stuttgart Auto to view the Porsche Cayman Hardtop. A friendly saleslady approached and explained to me the in and out of the car. Thereafter, she suggested that why not I look at the Porsche Boxster cabriolet and again explained the details. After a detailed explanation on the differences between the two, she suggested why don't I test drive both cars. We first took the Cayman for a spin with me on the wheel while she sits next to me and she took me for a very long drive to fully push the car. From the beginning, she was surprised that I have no problem handling the car and I told her that I used to drive a Porsche 911 (the latter was provided to me as a senior personnel privilege for official and personal use while working with one of the companies). When we returned to the showroom, I took the Boxster with the soft-top down with the saleslady sitting next to me and drove a very long distance. What I find surprising is that if Porsche cars salesperson suggested that I test drive their cars, why not Nissan cars. Since I have the money to buy a sprts car, I will put Japanese sports cars a miss since Tan Chong Motors think that their sports cars are more exclusive than other sports cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 1) they value their life 2) they rather spend more time selling latios Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 Maybe it is not snobbishness, just pure economics at work. Some possibilities 1. The margin of a Fairlady, though Nissan second top range, may not be as high as any one of the Porsche. 2. The volume of selling a FL or GTR is much less than Porsche model, hence no justification for a test car 3. They don't deem FL or GTR to be in direct competition with Porsche, hence no need to provide test cars like Porsche. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 any cat or dog will dare to enter tan chong motors to test drive the high end cars but few will dare to enter porsche AD to test drive its porsches. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 (edited) There's too many joyriders out there who ask to test drive a sportscar without intending to buy. If they survive the experience without crashing and killing somebody they'll come onto the interweb bragging about how they "know" how the car handles, blah blah blah. I would think it would help if you're seen rocking up to a dealership in a decent car to "show" you have the purchasing power. Unfortunately, people are going to judge you based on your image, whether rightly or wrongly. Edited April 7, 2009 by Macrosszero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 how is that snobbish? just two companies with very different approaches to selling cars. snobbish is when you go to a showroom and they don't entertain you because you wore shorts and t-shirt there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kentan Neutral Newbie April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 dun judge lar, how they noe u got money or not ask for your account balance meh. since got money no need to test drive just buy lor wrong sell and buy another one lor or better still buy both so did u buy the Porsche in the end and Porsche can only buy 911 series signature for Porsche else buy Porsche for wat. think i affected by snobbishness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky61 1st Gear April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 Maybe it is not snobbishness, just pure economics at work. Some possibilities 1. The margin of a Fairlady, though Nissan second top range, may not be as high as any one of the Porsche. 2. The volume of selling a FL or GTR is much less than Porsche model, hence no justification for a test car 3. They don't deem FL or GTR to be in direct competition with Porsche, hence no need to provide test cars like Porsche. 4. Nissan has test cars for their bread and butter series(latio,cefiro,etc). well at Porsche...their bread and butter series are?? cayman,boxster?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched April 7, 2009 Author Share April 7, 2009 dun judge lar, how they noe u got money or not ask for your account balance meh. since got money no need to test drive just buy lor wrong sell and buy another one lor or better still buy both so did u buy the Porsche in the end and Porsche can only buy 911 series signature for Porsche else buy Porsche for wat. think i affected by snobbishness After test driven both the Porsche Cayman and Boxster, I ordered the Cayman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched April 7, 2009 Author Share April 7, 2009 There's too many joyriders out there who ask to test drive a sportscar without intending to buy. If they survive the experience without crashing and killing somebody they'll come onto the interweb bragging about how they "know" how the car handles, blah blah blah. I would think it would help if you're seen rocking up to a dealership in a decent car to "show" you have the purchasing power. Unfortunately, people are going to judge you based on your image, whether rightly or wrongly. I drove there in my Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI (A). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 I drove there in my Volkswagen Passat 1.8 TSI (A). try driving there in a rolls royce. my sister's mutual friend owns a rolls royce. he brought his son to test drive the evo, parking the rolls royce just outside. his son look like a chao ah beng, wear cap. slippers etc. no issue. test drive super long. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mage Clutched April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 not all though.. my test-drive experience with Mazda was pretty good with the RX8, but that was a while ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 7, 2009 Share April 7, 2009 Most conti car dealers are more willingly to let their customers try the car's performance, handling, etc....than most Jap ADs. I guess it's mainly cos many of the former sell in much smaller volume and customer satisfaction and a more personalised service is important. I remember when I was shopping for my previous car, only the conti ADs are willing to let me take the car to the e'way, tight winding roads and later on, allowing my dogs to try out the boot, etc...Needless to say, I bought a conti, cos those were the only one that i have truly tested. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beepor Neutral Newbie April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 if any of you will even step back and think alittle, you will realise its not the generalisation of local dealers or if its japanese or european brand. your story is just talking about 2 different sales person. period. my suggestion? talk to another nissan sales rep. and another and another, until one who is willing to entertain you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 You have to compare apple to apple mah.. GTR/370Z are the flagship models in Nissan's stable. It's not surprising that they don't allow test drives. For fair comparison, the flagship models in Porsche's stable locally would be the 911GT2/911GT3? Or even Carrera GT if there is a RHD version? Do Stuttgart allow test drive for these 2 models? Boxster/Cayman to Stuttgart is just as what Latio/Cefiro is to Tan Chong, the bread and butter models. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dc5r Neutral Newbie April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 No...Nissan don't have Fairlady for test drive... Maybe is the FL is their most ex car among their range...and sales volume not justifiable. Try asking Stuggart to let you test drive the 911 turbo or GT3.... won't be surprise they also don't have test drive... Testing driving a Boxster and Cayman in stuggart is just like test driving the Latio and march in Nissan... 2 of their cheapest model.... of course get to test drive la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cymagnus Clutched April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 It could be the salesperson serving you do not have experience (and confidence) in doing test drive for the 2 mentioned car models. Hence his/her answer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 9, 2009 Share April 9, 2009 I remember reading somewhere that Motor Image also don't allow test drive for STI? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...