Eat Rojak, Get Food Poisoning, and Die

Nohnemwan

wat ever the case, if the food smell or taste funny...just don eat and return to the stall...

ever kana before jalat jalat.

Sometimes it's a good thing to be racist as far as foods are concerned.

For me, normally I have problem with Indian food, and even some Muslim / Indonesian food. Maybe it's too spicy and my tummy can't take it.

I like rojak, but it's the chinese type. For most Indian food, just one look at the state of the cook I already lost appetite.

Ha ha . . . . not the 'r' thingy lah bro but loosing appetite at the sight of the stallholders/cooks.

Yesterday at Amoy Food Centre, there was this chinese woman who was picking her teeth with a toothpick while preparing food at the same time.

Yuuuccckksss! If I were from NEA, more than half of the foodstalls there will close shop.

I was at another food centre the other day and rejected one plate of nasi padang that I ordered when the malay woman sneezed into it. OMG and she asked me why??

Seriously the hygiene at food centres have to be scrutinised more closely, be it Chinese, Malay or Indian stalls.

its not a race issue. it's a Asian issue.

if u travelled to all asian countries, you will see how dirty Asians can be...... i haven't seen any standard of cleaniness in any asian country yet.

the closest to a decent standard are Japan and South Korea. The rest of Asian countries, CIM.....

the strangest thing is, today's straits times reported that the stall close themselves even before the relevant authorities contacted them to inform of the poisoning cases.

does the owner know something?

the strangest thing is, today's straits times reported that the stall close themselves even before the relevant authorities contacted them to inform of the poisoning cases.

does the owner know something?

You are not correct.

Earlier media reports state that about 0800hrs on Saturday 4 April, NEA officials were at the stall. The stallholder was not aware up to that moment that something had gone wrong.

It is clear that NEA took prompt action.

The bit about NEA coming to close the stall at 0800hrs 4 April is here:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../420381/1/.html

Quote:

A chicken rice seller who only wanted to be known as Mr Man said the stall owner was probably unaware of the mass food poisoning as he turned up on Saturday morning to set up the stall.

Inspectors from the National Environment Agency (NEA) came to close it down at about 8am, said Mr Man.

Is this stall making tons of money?

Is this stall owner a millionaire living angmoh house and driving big cars?

I think the victims can sue untill the owner last's panties.

Quite unlucky if really kena saboed by competitors!!

i suspect it's rats' droppings or urine........

News interview mentioned that those who ate, tasted the gravy as saltish and funny taste.... [gossip]

I standby your hunch, maybe correct.... but have to await the outcome of the investigation from NEA...

Is advisable to avoid that market altogether until likely cause of contamination is determined. [sweatdrop]

News interview mentioned that those who ate, tasted the gravy as saltish and funny taste.... [gossip]

I standby your hunch, maybe correct.... but have to await the outcome of the investigation from NEA...

Is advisable to avoid that market altogether until likely cause of contamination is determined. [sweatdrop]

The stall owners are alright and no sign of food poisoning I supposed. [sly]

Edited by Esprit

may be accidently put something else instead of salt..

this stall holder make tons of money. Yet he taking risk by serving possibly unhygenic food. One of the causes could be leftover gravy from previous days. If its because of this, he lose his livelyhood.

i suspect it's rats' droppings or urine........

eh.. looking at the number of serving they have daily, i think it will be a very big pot.. so i don't think it's likely to be rats' dropping or urine unless it's one big army of them.. or is rat's byproduct so lethal?

Yup, full of bacteria from what I heard. [sweatdrop]