Eat Rojak, Get Food Poisoning, and Die

Nohnemwan

Condolences to the family of the unfortunate victim....

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...ory_360046.html

April 6, 2009

Geylang Serai rojak food poisoning woman in coma dies

By Nicholas Yong

A CANTEEN assistant who had been on life support after eating Rojak in a Geylang Serai market stall, died on Monday morning.

Madam Hamidah Samijo, 57, came down with severe food poisoning after a meal at the Rojak Geylang Serai stall last Friday.

She went into a coma, making her the worst hit among the more than 100 people who sought treatment at six major hospitals after eating at the stall. She died at 6.50 am at the Changi General Hospital on Monday.

Her body has been moved to the Singapore General Hospital for autopsy.

Her husband Omar Ali, who is in his 50s, was also admitted to CGH but he is recovering. wo other family members, Madam Siti Hamidah, a housewife in her 40s and her brother also fell ill after eating there.

In Madam Aminah's case, acute renal failure set in when the food poisoning infection entered her kidneys, sending her into a coma. She also had low blood pressure.

Of those who sought treatment in hospitals, 29 were admitted. Only three are known to have been discharged so far.

Rojak Geylang Serai, Stall No. 302, has been around for more than 20 years, and often has long queues snaking from it.

The Ministry of Health and the National Environment Agency jointly inspected the stall on Saturday and collected samples. MOH, which has received feedback from the hospitals and from stall patrons, said preliminary investigations showed the Rojak to be the suspected cause of the outbreak.

The stallholder and his assistant have been asked to go for screening at the Communicable Diseases Centre. The stallholder told authorities that his stall would be closed for the next two days.

Oh dear! Rojak has always been my favourite food.... whenever I feel down, a packet of rojak always lift me up as it reminds me of my childhood. Incidentally my parents were once illegal rojak hawkers in the 70's.

Really feel sorry, especially for the women who passed on because of food poisoning from that rojak stall.

I had just read about this rojak thing this morning. I think it is Indian rojak, not the Chinese version. These people really sway to get food poisoning. Condolences to the family whose family member passed away too.

I understand bacteria can cause an infection in your kidney which will set off acute renal failure. This is for cats. I didn't know humans are susceptible too.

If you survive acute renal failure, then you will still move on to the chronic renal failure stage (for cats at least) which probably will mean dialysis is in the not too distant future (for humans). Those in the mdeical field, please correct me if I am wrong.

i'm going to avoid all rojaks for a while.

Don't like that lah.

Car accidents kill people, therefore do you stay away from all cars?

If you die-die (haha) must eat rojak, bring your own cucumber lor.

I won't be surprised if this case is about a worker who went to toilet, didn't wash his hands properly and transferred some sh1t from his fingers to the cucumbers and then stirred it into the rojak.

the makcik who passed away is a fren of my mother-in-law. we were jus talking dis morning abt her...not knowing dat she has passed away.

dis rojak stall is supposed to b so famous...wif long q n all...yet can happen dis kind of severe poisoning.so scary.

Geylang Serai rojak food poisoning

Woman in coma dies

By Nicholas Yong

Preliminary investigations showed the Rojak to be the suspected cause of the outbreak. -- PHOTO: BERITA HARIAN

A CANTEEN assistant who had been on life support after eating Rojak in a Geylang Serai market stall, died on Monday morning.

Madam Hamidah Samijo, 57, came down with severe food poisoning after a meal at the Rojak Geylang Serai stall last Friday.

She went into a coma, making her the worst hit among the more than 100 people who sought treatment at six major hospitals after eating at the stall. She died at 6.50 am at the Changi General Hospital on Monday.

Her body has been moved to the Singapore General Hospital for autopsy.

Her husband Omar Ali, who is in his 50s, was also admitted to CGH but he is recovering. Two other family members, Madam Siti Hamidah, a housewife in her 40s and her brother also fell ill after eating there.

In Madam Aminah's case, acute renal failure set in when the food poisoning infection entered her kidneys, sending her into a coma. She also had low blood pressure.

Of those who sought treatment in hospitals, 29 were admitted. Only three are known to have been discharged so far.

Rojak Geylang Serai, Stall No. 302, has been around for more than 20 years, and often has long queues snaking from it.

The Ministry of Health and the National Environment Agency jointly inspected the stall on Saturday and collected samples. MOH, which has received feedback from the hospitals and from stall patrons, said preliminary investigations showed the Rojak to be the suspected cause of the outbreak.

The stallholder and his assistant have been asked to go for screening at the Communicable Diseases Centre. The stallholder told authorities that his stall would be closed for the next two days

It is also just as likely the foodstuff were not properly covered, and flies land on it and transfer whatever germs they carried with them. Maybe their previous destination was a piece of dung somewhere, or a dead rat....

I'm just speculating as this may not be the case here, but my point is, if you see stores with pre-prepared food that's un-covered, do take care to avoid it.

It's just extremely sad that somebody had to succumb to the food poisoning and died, such things shouldn't had happened before the authorities step up enforcement actions. I hope it's a wake up call for our NEA to step up enforcement of food hygiene.

i'm going to avoid all rojaks for a while.

eh.. people die on the road, fatal accident due to car.. and you still drive and on the road everyday?

come on lar.. give reply after thinking thru leh..

After reading thru the report, somehow it seems likely that one of the sources of their ingredients has been tainted. Sabotage is also likely.

Hope this incident serves as a wakeup call to many of the unhygienic hawkers out there... wonder how on earth many of them managed to get A, B or C grading despite the hygiene standard (or perceived lack of it) at their stalls.

even if dirty bacteria or even s--t.. i dont think it is enough to kill a person.

somemore the report say the stall been around 20 years and long queues everytime

seems more likely a case of sabotage by jealous rivals??

Rojak - Latest

One women dead, one women in coma, one women miscarriage.....

seems like this case is going to get a long of airing.. better not have foul play, otherwise backlash will be fast and furious